We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Princes Lodge Motel
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just the basics”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a beautiful residence late 1800 early 1900 as is most of the places around this part of north Adelaide. The motel is basic but comfortable, we stayed two nights and loved it. We got basic brekkie both mornings. There is a free bus that goes to all the tourist spots in Adelaide e.g zoo, museum Rundle Mall and the stop is only metres away from the hotel. o'Connell st shops are a block away with so many yummy places to eat. To be honest we had Fasta Pasta and it was yummy. If you are only wanting a comfy quiet place to rest your head and be close to everything then this is the place. Be aware it is an old building and there are stairs, but the staff are lovely. Would have loved to know more about the history of the building, I am sure there are some wonderful stories.

Room Tip: Very basic rooms suited to couples or singles that just want a place to lay their head at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
61
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our family of five stayed in two rooms for several nights over the Christmas break and were impressed with the friendly way in which Andrew and David ran this quirky lodge in one of Adelaide's prime locations. We had two light and airy and spotlessly-clean rooms - one with three beds and the other a queen - each with their own bathrooms and fridges and tea/coffee facilities. There's parking aplenty, free breakfast and a lovely location across from Adelaide parklands, complete with trees, horses, playground, nearby restaurants and a free shuttle bus into the city centre (although it is only a 20-minute walk away).
The lodge was a welcome relief from the usual boxy, small and airless rooms that are the hallmark of most modern accommodation. Although there was air-conditioning, we could also open windows and let in the fresh air and birdsong.
And just when we thought it couldn't get better, our hosts cooked us and our fellow guests a hot Christmas breakfast of eggs and ham/smoked salmon, with champagne for adults and chocolates for kids. On the house!
We will definitely return and will encourage friends to stay there too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScipioRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a good find. Situated in a relatively quiet street in North Adelaide with parkland opposite and (when we were there) flowering jacaranda trees everywhere. The free shuttle bus into the city stops a few metres down the road and it is a two block walk through delightful streets to one of Adelaide's "eat streets". So, location, location!
The two guys running the lodge were very friendly and helpful and the big old house still has some fine public rooms and a super staircase. Our room was a little quirky since it was obviously half of a divided large original room. It was a bit long and narrow and had a high ceiling but was perfectly adequate for our 3 night stay and was clean and reasonably well equipped. Breakfast was a bit basic but there was plenty of it and certainly enough to set you up for the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt Augusta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed with them twice in 2012.
Both times we had large rooms, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The location is great, close to the CBD but very quiet with lovely views of the parklands and a playground across the road.
Breakfast was a continental buffet, refilled as needed, with plenty of choice.
Plenty of parking on the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent location, plenty of parking. The lodge itself is a little old but that made it special, clean room with very high ceilings. Everything functioned as it should. En suite was down the hall that also function very well. Have no complaints Andrew is a very helpful host and made our stay most enjoyable. Continental breakfast was more than adequate. We both highly recommend staying here as its not to far to walk into the city of Adelaide and even closer the many coffee/restaurants strip of North Adelaide

Room Tip: Ask for a private ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marla, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed there 3 times in last month. Is very convenient to Adelaide city or North Adelaide especially. We were there for AW& Children's Hospital and Festival Theatre, both within walking distance. O'Connell Street, North Adelaide, is very easily reached on foot for a variety of foods. Rooms at Princes Lodge were fine, clean, had Air-conditioning/heating,TV, fridge, tea-making facility, nice bathrooms and breakfast was adequate with some choices. At the rear is a lovely lawned area, shaded, where is possible to relax. If you have young kids, there is a great playground across the road!

Room Tip: Room 26 in the Coach-house, was great - big, partitioned off, lots of beds, 2 TV's, cool Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viviendeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The whole place is very run down. The fridge was barely mounted to the wall and sounded like it was going to blow up. The bedside light didn't go at all and the bathroom light went sometimes. The breakfast was also a disappointment.

On the plus side it is a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nzer753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations. As you stayed for more than one night it would have been nice to have heard about your issues when you were here so that we may have addressed them. Lights that dont work are easily fixed. A quick chat with us at reception or our cleaners would have resolved those problems immediately. We have checked all our rooms that have the fridge mounted on the wall and cannot find one that is about to explode or fall off the wall so we feel you may have used exageration to make the point that you could hear the fridge running.
Our breakfast is described as continental buffet style. That is generally accepted in Australia to mean cereal, toast and spreads, juice, tea/coffee and in our case tinned fruit. As a result of your comment we are adding a photo of the breaky to our web site and others that we use so that people can see axactly what is included.
Regards
Andrew and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#33 of 57 in Adelaide
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Lodge Motel

Property: Princes Lodge Motel
Address: 73 Lefevre Tce | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Princes Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a grand private residence converted to motel style accommodation The Princes Lodge Motel is a unique place to stay. We offer clean and comfortable rooms for single travellers, couples and families. All room rates include a modest buffet style continental breakfast in the dining room and we have space to park vehicles free of charge. We are only 2 kilometres from the CBD with many transport options to get you there including the free commuter bus that leaves from a stop only 300 meters from the front door. If you choose to walk you will pass historic homes and can take in the vista of the city and Lake Torrens that the elevation of North Adelaide offers.The main house is two stories accessed by an impressive staircase rising from reception. A balcony on the first floor has views across parklands to the Adelaide Hills. Our guest lounge offers a place to relax with a good book or one of our many magazines. During summer our rose garden is in bloom and our rear garden offers a shady spot to relax.Your Hosts David and Andrew look forward to welcoming you when you are next in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing