We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princes Lodge Motel
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent location, plenty of parking. The lodge itself is a little old but that made it special, clean room with very high ceilings. Everything functioned as it should. En suite was down the hall that also function very well. Have no complaints Andrew is a very helpful host and made our stay most enjoyable. Continental breakfast was more than adequate. We both highly recommend staying here as its not to far to walk into the city of Adelaide and even closer the many coffee/restaurants strip of North Adelaide

Room Tip: Ask for a private ensuite
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Princes Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 149 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed there 3 times in last month. Is very convenient to Adelaide city or North Adelaide especially. We were there for AW& Children's Hospital and Festival Theatre, both within walking distance. O'Connell Street, North Adelaide, is very easily reached on foot for a variety of foods. Rooms at Princes Lodge were fine, clean, had Air-conditioning/heating,TV, fridge, tea-making facility, nice bathrooms and breakfast was adequate with some choices. At the rear is a lovely lawned area, shaded, where is possible to relax. If you have young kids, there is a great playground across the road!

Room Tip: Room 26 in the Coach-house, was great - big, partitioned off, lots of beds, 2 TV's, cool Room 2...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viviendeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The whole place is very run down. The fridge was barely mounted to the wall and sounded like it was going to blow up. The bedside light didn't go at all and the bathroom light went sometimes. The breakfast was also a disappointment.

On the plus side it is a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nzer753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations. As you stayed for more than one night it would have been nice to have heard about your issues when you were here so that we may have addressed them. Lights that dont work are easily fixed. A quick chat with us at reception or our cleaners would have resolved those problems immediately. We have checked all our rooms that have the fridge mounted on the wall and cannot find one that is about to explode or fall off the wall so we feel you may have used exageration to make the point that you could hear the fridge running.
Our breakfast is described as continental buffet style. That is generally accepted in Australia to mean cereal, toast and spreads, juice, tea/coffee and in our case tinned fruit. As a result of your comment we are adding a photo of the breaky to our web site and others that we use so that people can see axactly what is included.
Regards
Andrew and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

There are 17 rooms in the main house & we occupied 2 rooms upstairs with private ensuites. It is an old mansion & the furnishings, decor reflect the age. However, rooms & ensuites were clean. Continental breakfasts were available each morning & car parking is available in the front & back of house. The big PLUS to this motel is the host, Andrew who made our stay so pleasant. He was always pleasant & available at most times to assist with our queries.

The location is fantastic - amongst gorgeous heritage homes in North Adelaide, within short walking distance to the free Connector bus, restaurants in O'connell St.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house instead of the coach house
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oztravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This property is in the elegant setting of North Adelaide. Maintenace of the driveway and garden would bring it up to the standard of the surrounding properties.Never the less a very delightful venue and would definitely stay again. It has walking distance access to O'Connell Street, with it's restaurants and pub scene. Great vale we had a large room with queen size and two single beds for 4 adults. Most important very clean.An excellent breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fae E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A lovely property located opposite the northern parklands and walking distance to O'Connell Street. Only saw staff a handful of times but they were very courteous and reasonably efficient. The building itself is a converted heritage-style house but sadly is missing out on a lot of potential. The furniture and decor is more reminiscent of the 1960s than of the art deco style of the building itself and the carpark needs levelling quite badly. Also, our room was located right next to the side door and every time someone used it, it sounded like someone was trying to open the door to our room, which was rather unsettling. New furniture (it needn't be expensive, just a more appropriate style) would definitely make this place much more inviting and fixing the dangerously potholed surface of the driveway and carpark wouldn't go astray either. But like I said, still makes for a nice enough place to stay; just close enough to Adelaide to be in reach of the CBD without the noise and traffic.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ladia2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Thanks again to the Princes Lodge Motel. Had the same room with the shutters open this time and it was lovely to look out onto the park opposite. It's comfortable, clean and friendly, and the right price...and with a Healthy Australian Breakfast included..much more than a continental breakfast which usually consists of.cold croissants and warm coffee!! And off street parking is always a bonus. Highly recommended for Adelaide stays. Close to everything, with buses into the city close by,..if you don't feel like a brisk walk, that is.. and the best eateries just around the corner in North Adelaide.

Room Tip: I've stayed in a couple and they've both been great. Out the back in the 'Cottage' t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callybnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_and_David, Owner at Princes Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thanks for letting us know that we are listening and doing all we can to make stays with us comfortable and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#29 of 56 in Adelaide
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.3 mi away
O'Connell Inn
O'Connell Inn
#31 of 56 in Adelaide
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Lodge Motel

Address: 73 Lefevre Tce | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $71 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Princes Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a grand private residence converted to motel style accommodation The Princes Lodge Motel is a unique place to stay. We offer clean and comfortable rooms for single travellers, couples and families. All room rates include a modest buffet style continental breakfast in the dining room and we have space to park vehicles free of charge. We are only 2 kilometres from the CBD with many transport options to get you there including the free commuter bus that leaves from a stop only 300 meters from the front door. If you choose to walk you will pass historic homes and can take in the vista of the city and Lake Torrens that the elevation of North Adelaide offers.The main house is two stories accessed by an impressive staircase rising from reception. A balcony on the first floor has views across parklands to the Adelaide Hills. Our guest lounge offers a place to relax with a good book or one of our many magazines. During summer our rose garden is in bloom and our rear garden offers a shady spot to relax.Your Hosts David and Andrew look forward to welcoming you when you are next in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Princes Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing