We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Old Lion Apartments are reasonably new. Because we had an emergency trip to Adelaide during the Clipsal 500 car race, it meant we could only get continuous accommodation by changing rooms halfway through our stay. We had a studio & then a 2 bedroom apartment. Both had newish carpets & furnishings and both were clean and had a full kitchen. The plus with the studio apartment was a dedicated shower whereas the 2 bedroom apartment had the shower over the bath. Hanging space in studio apartment was limited. A plus was the high security underground car park. If guests don't have a car they can have ground level accommodation with no stairs. However, if guests have a car they must walk up steps to get to the ground level - or higher level apartments. No lifts. Our studio apartment at the back of the Apartments was totally quiet. Accommodation in North Adelaide means it's under the Adelaide Airport flight path (curfew until 6.30am). The plus of the Apartments is that there are lots of restaurants a few steps away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 769 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

friends and i stayed in a three bedroom apartment on friday night and we booked a late checkout for sat as we where getting ready for a wedding, the location of these apartments where great but everything else was pretty poor:

1. when the bride arrived she had called at 11.30am and asked when the room would be ready and was told it would be ready at 1pm, so in she goes at 1.15 only to be told by the manager that the room wont be ready until 2pm and to wait, she then asked if she could store her wedding dress somewhere instead of leaving it in the car and was rudly told that " no you cant leave it here, did you not listen on the phone" little did the management know there where two brides staying and they had spoken to the other one, so our bride was quiet upset with her treatment, the day before she gets married!!!!

2. the rooms where very old and dated and small, for a place that can sleep 6 people at a time the space was not very big, bed's where lumpy and upon getting a towel from the cupboard under the bathroom sink we found flying bugs all over the towels, about 20 bugs on each towel!!!!

3. we moved the couch out of the way while we where getting ready on sat morning to find all dirt and dust and rubbish on the floor!!!!

overall it was a pretty poor stay and for the $350 we paid for the night we could have gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Friends and I stayed in a three bedroom first floor apartment for a four day work trip. Our apartment was towards the back of the complex so we avoided the noise problems that other reviewers have mentioned. The apartment was clean apart from rubbish and a half eaten chocolate bar underneath the sofa bed cushions (we weren't hungry!). It was well furnished although some furnishings are looking a little on the shabby side. Kitchen was adequate although the grotty oven glove needs to be discarded. Bathroom was clean and generously supplied with extra towels, toilet paper and shampoo and conditioner. Bedrooms were large and comfortable and linen was in good condition.

It was a pleasant and comfortable stay overall. The main problem was with the shower - lack of water pressure meant that long showers were necessary in order to wash our hair. The temperature was difficult to alter - we had a choice of very hot or cold! There was a pleasant sign asking us to use the ceiling fan which did not work. Servicing was random - bed made one day and sheets barely pulled up the next (and noone found the rubbish and choccie bar in the whole four days we were there!).

The location for us was ideal. There was a great variety of restaurants within 50 metres of our apartment. The most we paid for a taxi to or from the city was $8.00 and that was with the driver taking us the long way home (we were too tired to complain but it was a bit dodgy!). We could have easily walked to the city (restricted by our choice of footwear!).

The living space was small for a three bedroom apartment. We pushed the table over to the side of the room and put some of the dining chairs away in a bedroom to clear some space. There were only three of us staying so it was OK but with any more we would have struggled (one two seat couch and an armchair).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happycamper047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We needed a two bedroom apartment for our week’s stay in Adelaide. We soon realised that due to the Adelaide Festival which is staged every even year that availability of our initial choices would not be possible.
The Old Lion Apartments which is owned by Majestic Hotels, seemed to offer all that we needed and we duly booked.
The location is North Adelaide, close to the junction where Jerningham St intersects with Melbourne St. There are a variety of shops, small supermarkets, pharmacy, various restaurants, Old Lion Hotel / Pub. There are several buses which will take you to the town centre, and indeed there is a daytime free bus ‘Adelaide Connector’ which is available once an hour at a bus stop on Melbourne St, just along from the Old Lion Hotel, at approx ten past the hour.
Staff on Reception were friendly and helpful, throughout our stay, and the apartment was clean and serviced with the exception of Sunday.
Our apartment consisted of a large lounge / kitchen, a large bedroom with double bed, a second smaller bedroom with two twin beds, Bathroom with Shower over bath, washing machine and tumble dryer. There was one air conditioning unit positioned in the lounge, so you really needed to leave the bedroom doors open if you wished cool air to circulate into the bedrooms. Although it was the first week in March the heat in Adelaide was intense, temperatures of 40C and more on some days, so effective air con was a very much a necessity. Even so our daughter found the small bedroom was always very hot.
After settling in and finding our bearings we hired a car from Thrifty Car Hire, Hindley St. in the centre of Adelaide. The car was in good condition with a powerful air con unit (much needed), and I was pleased with the rate and the service I received.
The car is uplifted and returned to the multi-storey car park located across the road from the office on Hindley St.
Positive aspects of the Old Lion Apartments:
Location – approx 10mins or less to city centre
Eating out options on your doorstep
Secure covered car parking underneath building
Air Con
Safe deposit box in flat
Friendly and helpful staff

Negative factors:
Old Lion Hotel / Pub is a busy establishment from Thursday to Sunday, and there is noise. In addition the refuse lorry comes around every night about 3-4 a.m. and empties huge containers of bottles and other refuse. The noise will waken all in the neighbourhood and can last 10-15 mins.
It is a good 25/30 minutes to drive to places like Henley Beach or Glenelg.
Overall the apartment served us well and we had a pleasant stay, but I could not perceive it to be a 4 star establishment as the management claim.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macjellicoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

I was misled into staying here by the website, and the name of the company that owns this property........ 'Majestic Hotels' There was nothing at all majestic about this place, it reminded me of a bedsit I lived in as a student 20 years ago.

I arrived late after a delayed flight and was exhausted. I made my way to my room to find the most disgusting hovel of a room waiting for me. The first thing to strike me was the smell of the place. Stale smoke/nicotine mixed with cooking odours, I nearly gagged. This was despite the apartment's windows all being left wide open. The interior was tired and dirty, the carpet was so grimey that it was sticky and hard to the touch, indeed my feet ended up black after walking on it, and leaving black footprints on the wet bathroom floor.

It was late and I couldn't be sure of getting anywhere else to stay that night, so I decided to grin and bare it. Big mistake. I spent a restless night, my lungs going into spasm with the smell from the carpets and the nicotine stained walls, I then got eaten alive in bed by fleas/mites.

I escaped the following morning and when I put my concerns to the receptionist, I got the standard 'thank you for your comments, we will pass them on to management'.

I feel it is my duty to stop any one else experiencing what I did last night. AVOID this place at all costs, even if you are being given this place for free, AVOID it. I was going to say this place is like a council estate, but that would be unfair on council estates.
How they ever managed to achieve a 4* rating I will never know, it kind of makes a mockery of that system which I as a member of the public puts my trust in.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Irish_Jet_Set
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Great location near pub (a bit noisy at night from Niteclub) cafes, Supermarket & boutiques. Short walk to CBD or free bus just around the corner.
Good room in lovely courtyard setting for a cheap price. Definitely recommend if you don't mind a bit of loud music.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dezer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank chloé p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino D, Front Office Supervisor at Majestic Old Lion Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
1.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
1.4 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 55 in Adelaide
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 55 in Adelaide
595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
1.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Old Lion Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Old Lion Apartments

Address: 9 Jerningham St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: $123 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Old Lion Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully landscaped Majestic Old Lion Apartments are located in cosmopolitan North Adelaide amongst a vast array of cafes, restaurants and shopping. Refurbished in 2005 and again in 2011 this four (4) star accommodation offers a choice of studio, one, two and 3 bedroom apartments making it the ideal choice for group and family accommodation. Location is a key feature of these North Adelaide apartments situated just 2km from Adelaide’s city centre and walking distance to the Adelaide Zoo, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide University and other attractions. Each of the 66 self-contained apartments are modern, spacious and functional and include free and secure on-site parking, private kitchen and laundry facilities, reverse cycle A/C, opening windows, Foxtel, in-room broadband, 37" LCD TVs, electronic safe, direct dial phones, electric blankets and more. Select apartments also cater for the movement impaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Old Lion Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing