We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an average hotel that tries hard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“an average hotel that tries hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

The hotel is quite old and out-dated but its clean and tidy. Its located in North Terrace, perfect for a short stroll to every where. There is a tram stop literally at the front door. We had a room overlooking the park side/river on the 18th floor. The room and bathroom are small but is well-appointed. The only tacky thing in the room was the "pin up notice board".

The staff are friendly and polite.

The internet service in the room is disgusting and pathetic; suggest using the wireless in the lobby.

We only had breakfast in the TGs restaurant. Usual offering of breakfast food. The Cascade Cocktail Bar was practically empty on a Friday night but the service was fine.

Overall its just your average hotel. Don't expect too much and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amadeusgalileosabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    682
    331
    121
    73
See reviews for
207
779
128
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

I went to Swish on Terrace with my friends for high tea. We received exceptional service from the waiting staff, and the food was delicious. My favourite were the scones but I also loved the sandwiches and curry puffs. It was excellent value compared with other hotels offering high tea.

We couldn't finish it, but not wanting to waste the food and waste our well-spent money, I asked for takeaway boxes so we could share this food with our families. The waitress informed me that they did not do take aways, but she kindly provided us with boxes for us to do it ourselves. I assured her that I understood the situation and would take full responsibility for my own actions.

However the manager (of Indian/Saudi Arabian appearance) found out, and would not allow me to take the food from the premises. I offered to sign a waiver but he was unrelenting and unhospitable about the situation. He stood there watching us like a hawk until we left which was very uncomfortable, ensuring we didn't 'sneak' any food out. Thus, our high tea experience ended on a sour note.

While I am understanding about the need for the hotel to cover themselves, I think there ought to be a better way of doing this - in order to please the customer as well. Also I feel overwhelmingly bad and guilty about the waitress, who had a better understanding of quality customer service than the manager, but was possibly was punished for her well-meaning actions. If it weren't for that manager, we would have left Swish restaurant happy and satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

Having booked the hotel prior to reading any reviews, we were very worried about staying there, due to the bad reviews published. Got to say we were very happily surprises. The service was very friendly and prompt from the moment of our arrival to our departure 6 days later.

We were promptly shown to our room Asked for extra coat hangers from the porter. He delivered 15 extra 10 minutes later.Ordered room sevice at 11.30 at night food was delivered hot and quickly.Was well presented and reasonably tasty. The room and floor was reasonably quiet, no street, club or pub noises.

Cost comparable to other hotels stayed in. Room was clean spacious and fresh. Decor was a bit hotch potch lots of shades of greys and browns, Bed was very firm but the feather pillows were great.the room safe was a good size.

The bathroom was clean and roomy, well lit. maybe a bit worn. Towles fluffy and white. Used towels ,shampoos and hand creams replaced promptly.
Newspaper was at the door each morning almost looked like it had been ironed!

Notice board on the wall wasn't exactly 4 star, nor the plastic 'tiffany' kettle. Did request more Tea, decaf coffee and herbal teas, 2 of each was a bit lean per day.

Domestic staff picked up on our routine very quickly, didn't have to put up the 'do not disturb' or 'make up our room' sign at all.

Location was fantastic and staff could give you direction to any where! Taxi stand outside the door.Trams and buses all within 1-5 min walk , shopping mall 5 minutes walk.

Cinema and restaurants 15 min walk or 6 min by taxi. Lovely walk down North Terrace to the Botanical gardens, Art Gallery, museum and Ayers House..

Had a complimentary breakfast at the hotel, plenty of variety. Some of the hot dishes lacked a bit of flavour. Otherwise OK.

Over all the service was very good, prompt and friendly. Our city view room was of a multi storey car park, but have to expect that in the city. Didn't spend that much time looking out of the window, too busy out and about.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthylnHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Tuesday 3.00 p.m and the Girls from Gastronomy 2008 were all decked out and ready to indulge in High Tea at Swish at the Stamford Plaza on 150 North Terrace bang on King William Street.

$20 per head got us a three tiered sweet and savoury selection of tea time snacks. While it was all pretty tasty and included a glass of bubbly as well as coffee and teas, the wait staff seemed to forgot that there was anyone in the restaurant! (We were the only table and the service was pathetic!!!!)

There were scones of course that were good, but nothing to write home about, as well as tiny sandwiched waffles with cream and strawberries as well as miniature apple crumble, almond tart, pistachio mousse diamonds, a trifle like orange cake and cream souffle.

Get the rest of the review and pictures at: http://meagan-megalomaniac.blogspot.com/2008/08/high-tea-minus-special-service.html

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meagangabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

I found the Reception staff very welcoming and friendly, and my room was very comfortable, all facilities were clean. The Hotel is in the centre of the city so handy for visitors who don,t know their way around.
The only comment I could make in the negative is that the paint on the walls is flaking off which does detract from the overall appearance and I would agree that it is no longer 5* due to this.
As a personal preference I really don,t understand why hotels have a shower over a bath, I find it dangerous and am not elderly, it would be very easy to slip over and the last thing I would want is to summon help in my Birthday Suit! A shower recess is much more user friendly.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

A simple 2 night business trip. Pleasant enough appearance on checking in late on Monday night. Was offered a choice of Newspaper the next morning. Asked about ordering breakfast in room and told 'the restaurant opened at 6AM'. Had to ask again and the staff member had to check if in room breakfast was possible. On entering the room there was no breakfast order form and had to call for one to be delivered.

The room was 'tired'. Old TV and fixtures and fittings generally in need of an update. The iron was 'waterless' and there was a spray bottle (!) to assist in ironing. The fridge could not be opened easily as it jammed against the cupboard door.

Breakfast arrived at 7.20AM having specified 7.00AM to 7.30AM. The bacon and eggs were cold, the coffee was bad, and if the orange juice was 'freshly squeezed' as promised on the menu then I am Elvis Presley. The 'toast' was not toasted and it was only the next morning after deciding to go out for breakfast that I found a toaster hidden in a cupboard. The requested Newapaper did not arrive and a call to request it was received as an 'inconvenience'. (No Newspaper was forthcoming on the second morning either.) I completed the Feedback Form provided complaining and did not even receive a phone call acknowledging the complaint.

The in-room Interent at $24 per day (!) did not work properly. I could not access emails or most internet pages usually needed for work.

Generally the Staff seemed disinterested and not very polite or courteous. Very few smiles or 'Thank Yous' during the stay. On checking out the Staff Member did not even ask 'how was your stay' however probably fortunate for them that they did not ask. Hence this review instead. Plenty of other Hotels to choose from next time. Lift your game Stamford Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountain-Biker-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

Look - it's resonable but not at all what I expected when I booked 5 star accommodation. I stayed at its cousin (Stamford Grand in Glenelg Adelaide) earlier this month and while this place too is a little jaded, it was much more impressive than this place.

Air conditioning is very noisy - asked for a move from first room allocated.

Staff pleasant enough.

The nearby Art Gallery of South Australia is very impressive. Great collection of Rodin sculptures.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clearair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing