We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything about our stay here was seamless. Check in was smooth and quick and made even better by us veing told we were on the 19th floor with a view over the Torrens and Adelaide Oval (room 1909).
The room was lovely and clean and felt like it had recently been updated. The bed was very comfortable and the room had an opening window which is rare. The only downside of the room was the bathroom. Although functional it was very small and the shower only came out in a trickle.
We ordered room service which arrived quite quickly. It is to be expected that room service is pricey but our club sandwich and chicken burger were delicious. They tasted fresh and had very tender chicken.
The next morning we enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast.
Overall a great stay, we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retrojo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi RetroJo,

Thanks for all your lovely comments about our hotel, I am so pleased you enjoyed the room and the food options. Your room had been recently refurbished, as has the majority of our rooms, but I will certainly get our maintenance team to check on the showerhead to increase the water pressure.

I will be sure to share your comments with the In Room Dining and Breakfast teams who will be pleased to read your feedback. Next time youn will have to try one of thetwo restaurants that have opened in the hotel recently; La Boca Argentinean Bar and Grill and Ginza Miyako Japanese Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

Olivia Harvey, Executive Assistant Manager
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    716
    347
    121
    73
See reviews for
214
815
136
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

From using this hotel chain in other cities, was more than disappointed in this hotel even following large renovation. Dark, dingy and dated. Appeared to be cost cutting. Staff great and friendly. Hotel needs to move into the 21century.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking parkland and oval.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Richard,

Our refurbishment is about 60% complete now, with the majority of the rooms now looking fresh and modern. The lobby has been done, as well as two restaurants La Boca and Ginza now operational and our two outlets on the ground floor are to follow.

I understand if the refurbishments are not to your taste and I will take on board your comments about the dark areas and ask the night team to keep the lights brighter in the evenings. I am pleased that you were happy with the service provided by our staff and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Harvey, Executive Assistant Manager
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was the perfect spot. Only a couple of minutes walk to Rundle Mall which was handy for cafes / shopping. Hotel room was lovely and spacious and staff were friendly. The free tram stops very close by to save you any long walks.

Room Tip: Booked through wotif mystery hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashNjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi tashNjosh,

Im so pleased to hear you took full advantage of what nearby Adelaide has to offer for cafes, shopping and attractions, and that you have enjoyed a spacious room and friendly staff.

Next time you're over from Sydney, try the Arts precinct on North Tce, or wander down for a Swans game at the Adelaide Oval!

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Stamford Plaza.

Olivia Harvey, Executive Assistant Manager
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

When I visit Adelaide on business I stay at the Stamford Plaza hotel on North Terrace. The staff are always friendly and obliging, the facilitates excellent and the location perfect for the business traveller. In particular I enjoy the view over the new football ground and the sparkling lights of Adelaide to the hills. What I especially enjoy about this hotel is that I can open a window and let fresh air into the hotel room - this is like gold to a person who spends many days and nights in stuffy hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Poss2013,

I certainly agree that opening windows is certainly a great feature in a hotel room and Im pleased you enjoyed the fresh air and the view at the Stamford Plaza. Speaking of the view, a lot of football fans are staying at the hotel now because the Oval is about 8 minutes walk from our front door, but Im sure you could almost see the action from your window!

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Olivia Harvey Executive Assistant Manager
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was a nice hotel, our first room facing toward the parks and lights was outstanding and renovated. The second room looked at the city, boring. The seafood buffet on Friday was well worth it, the restaurant was mediocre but convenient. The bar was excellent and the people at the hotel were most accomodating.

Room Tip: Face forward, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeYourBreathAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi TakeYourBreathAway,

Im very happy to hear you were pleased with the service standards of our team, we certainly do strive to make every stay with the Stamford Plaza Adelaide an enjoyable one. Yes, the views over the parklands are beautiful and we are lucky with our location to be so close to the local attractions.

We now have three restaurants in house - La Boca Argentinean Bar and Grill, Ginza Miyako Japanese Restaurant and TG's wehere you have enjoyed our seafood buffet. I hope on your next stay you can sample our other offerings.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

Kind Regards,
Olivia Harvey Executive Assistant Manager
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I booked a package for my mum and I to celebrate her birthday. The package was such great value that we couldn't resist. When we checked in Adam advised us that we would be upgraded. That was a great start to the celebration. Even though our room was not ready, Adam made sure we were taken care of with complimentary drink vouchers. From start to finish the staff were fantastic. I have stayed here before but this has been the best stay. The room was clean, the bed was amazing, the pillows were super soft and the fact we got an executive room made my work easier.
We ordered room service which was prompt and had the buffet breakfast the following morning. There was plenty of variety for hot and continental food. The valet was also prompt and careful with our vehicle. Concierge was obliging with information regarding the public transport.
We would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Chris G,

Im so pleased that you and your mum enjoyed the birthday stay with us and that we were able to upgrade you for the occasion!

It is lovely to hear that our staff made the visit special and I will pass on your commendations about Adam and our concierge and in room dining services. The buffet breakfast is certainly popular with our guests - did you have the chef on duty make you some fresh eggs and omelettes to order? They are a real treat!

See you again next time,

Olivia Harvey Executive Assistant Manager
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms are modern and spacious and are filled with luxury. We had a great 5 night stay. The position of the hotel is very convenient for business or pleasure and has everything you need to enjoy a stay in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Don't stay above the nightclub you can feel the base in certain rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Nicola5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia H, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for the review 5Nicola5,

I am so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and accomodating and that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms. Yes, the hotel is great for being so central to everything in the CBD, we are close to shops and the arts hub, as well as corporate offices.

Did you have a view over Parliament and the river or did you have the city scape side?

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay,

Olivia Harvey Executive Assistant Manager
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing