We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Stamford on previous occasions and always enjoy our stay here. Location is great and the staff are fantastic. We checked in at 2.00pm which was very busy, however it was a real breeze and we were in our room in no time. The self parking is up on Hindley street which is only a short walk away. We had a refurbished room which was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was your standard buffet fair. We will definitely be back the the Stamford Plaza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Waddo1972

What a great five review......thank you for recognising our great staff who work extremely to ensure you have a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    764
    372
    123
    77
See reviews for
232
862
140
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I found all the staff to be helpful and friendly simply amazing which was most welcome after a hard day travelling. The location is perfect. We really couldn't fault anything during our four night stay. We highly recommend the Stamford and once again the staff were amazing which to us is hugely important.

Room Tip: We had a front room which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kats60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Kats60

Thank you for the great 5 star review. We all know how stressful travel can be sometimes and to hear the Stamford team were truly amazing over your four night stay is fabulous.

Once again thank you for your great feeedback.

Regards

Carl GForrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a superbly situated hotel in Adelaide with excellent rooms and facilities but, boy oh boy, the restaurant and breakfast organisation is diabolical. Inadequate waiting staff meant stone cold food delivered to the table. Surly staff attitudes. Extortionate prices for wine. Breakfast buffet kept running out of basic items such as scrambled eggs and bacon. Staff were like a lot of headless chickens.
Have since had apology from General Manager offering an upgrade next visit! Pity there wasn't a flight to go with it

Room Tip: A high floor gives good views looking towards the Adelaide Oval
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear James B

Thank you for your review and talking about our great location on North terrace. I know you have already received a note from our General Manager but just wanted to acknowledge your review on Tripadvisor and thank you for raising your concerns regarding the breakfast. We have out in a anumber of changes to rectify this and the results have been very pleasing....in particular the Sundays which are our peak periods as everyone likes to enjoy a late breakfast.
Regarding the wine prices these are in line with all international hotels and are in comparisom are in line Adelaide hotels and restaurants.

We do have a new restaurant coming whcih will be enhancing our Food and Beverga offering and that is La Boca which will be an Argentinean grill. Nicolas our Argentinean chef is currently wotrking on the finer aspects fo this restaurant for opening in late February 2014.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were fortunate to have a refurbished room with a view over the festival theatre, Adelaide oval and the hills. The room was very comfortable. However I believe that some rooms have not yet been completed. The pool was unavailable because of refurbishment so I felt that I did not use the facilities that I normally enjoy in a similar hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and always offered to help with luggage. We used the car park which was a bit challenging getting in and out of, however an excellent valet service is provided for an additional $20 a day. The breakfast was too much food for me so I ordered a coffee on the first day which was very weak. On the following day we found a lovely cafe with excellent food and coffee for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Rooms refurbished are recommended as is facing north for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien53606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Vivien53606

I am glad you enjoyed our recently refubished rooms and the staff who were "helpful and friendly".

We look forward to welcoming you back to our great location on North terrace.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here.
Easy self parking included in room rate.
Buffet breakfast good, also include in my package rate.
Room service food was great - nice to see some asian options!
Room clean, well maintained, no noise from surrounding rooms.
Staff very helpful and chatty.
Liked it so much , I'm back again this week!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therockjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear msjedsy

Great review from a Top Contributor. Immensely pleased that the Satmnford team engaged with you adn ensured you had a wonderful stay.
Brekafast is very enjoyable and Tim one of our Egg Chefs makes the best omlettes!!!

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I had a room next to the lift which wasn't ideal. Asked to be moved after the first night & staff were very accommodating. Facilities good but looking a bit tired and dated. Excellent location for access to the Torrens River, the arts precinct & the mall area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MsPaulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Manleygang

Thank you for the great review and the pointing out how accommodating the team is. We always ensure our guests have a great stay so you enjoy the sites from the hotels great location.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Asisstant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just a quick overnight stay for business, I arrived at 11am and was pleased that I was able to check-in and be given a room immediately. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The standard room was of a decent size, spotlessly clean and boasted a comfortable queen size bed. The one thing I would note as needing a bit of attention is the grouting/sealing around the bath which has seen better days. The hotel is excellently located - just a short stroll from the main shopping area of Adelaide and right across the road from the Casino if that is your thing. Breakfast in the morning is nothing to write home about but has all the fairly standard hotel breakfast offerings. If I stayed again I would probably forgo the breakfast and go venturing out to a local cafe instead. The Stamford Plaza would definitely be my first choice of hotel in Adelaide for either business or a more relaxed visit next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieDarcyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear LizzieDarcyMelb

Thank you very much for the great Five star review. It is the best compliment we can ever receive that you have made the Stamford Plaza your first choice hotel in Adelaide.
Myself and the team reall appreciate it.......thank you!

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing