We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2008, for business. I booked a standard room on a last minute web site and paid $140 a night for the room and a full buffet breakfast. This same rate applied for 2 people.

This is a self rated 5 star hotel. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and in my opinion it is a good 4 star, not 5 star.

The rooms are clean, if a little tired, especially the bathrooms. The rooms are a good size.

My TV volume was not working and this was fixed quickly when pointed out.

If they want to be 5 star they need to upgrade their rooms (better bathrooms, plasmas etc.) and do the little extras such as improving the complimentry amenities.

The staff were all lovely and helpful. If you book online make sure you take your receipt as they had me down for room only, but quickly changed it when I showed them my receipt that stated breakfast was included too.

The location is excellent for getting around Adelaide.

Would stay here again for the same rate.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipfeet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    687
    334
    121
    73
See reviews for
207
784
131
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Meningie, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

I stayed there or 1 night as a romantic getaway with the girlfriend.
We stayed in the spa suite (room 815). It was very nice, big spa bath, foxtel, kingsize bed, dining table, dvd player and sofa lounge. The downside was the only view from room was straight into the building next door!!
The hotel itself has a heated pool on rooftop, sauna and a workable gym- all on roof top.
We had the Friday night seafood smorgasboard at BG's which cost $49.90 each, quite nice but I wish it included crayfish!!
Breakfast was included in my package, as was a morning paper and valet parking. I think all cost $280 minus the dinner.
Very nice staff!!

  • Liked — Spa in room
  • Disliked — Price a bit steep, view from my room was of another building!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WazzaTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

Knowing the wonderful quality at the Sir Stamford in Sydney I was really looking forward to staying here in Adelaide, but I was disappointed.

Obviously we would all prefer not to have a view of the nearby car park, but I did have a cheap room through a conference booking. My real problem was that the room was so dark with very poorly laid out lighting. I also don't expect to see mould in a hotel bath - pretty easy to spray away if you can be bothered.

I was also disappointed that I had to ask 3 times for materials that had been couriered to me to be brought up to my room.

What I did like - the breakfast was wonderful, and I love the charts on the table with a colour coded health rating. I must admit I completely ignored it and loved the omelette station. Also - learn to wave madly to get the attention of staff walking around with coffee.

The big problem - I was there for four days and the aroma as you entered the lobby was foul. Apparently a burst pipe somewhere, but no information given about its repair.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kangagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

My husband and i stayed at the Stamford Plaza for three nights last week, enjoyed the stay. Room was not too flash but was comfortable enough, with a bathrobe and slippers, nice soft towels and the bed comfortable. We were on the 19th floor overlooking the side which the views at night were great with the all the lights sparkling, we could even see Glenelg. By day there was a carpark and lots of highrises. The best part was the buffet breakfast, lots to choose from, fresh and great service. Also the location was superb, train station, bus stop and tram stop just down the road and a short walk to Rundle Mall. We had a nice meal also at the Strathmore Hotel just down the road. Would stay there again if we got the same deal on wotif. Holiday special for $165.00 night with breakfast included.

  • Liked — The buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — The side views of the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Noels43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing