We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staying at the Stamford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Port Pirie, Australia
1 review
“staying at the Stamford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

we booked a premier queen room and ended up getting upgraded to the Presidential Suite! It was absolutely gorgeous the staff were wonderful and very helpful booking in and out was a breeze the valet parking is great and the concierge was very friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear patricia f

All the way from Port Pirie and you got the best upgrade in Adelaide. Well done and thank you for giving us a 5 star review!!

Greatly appreciated.


Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    690
    336
    121
    73
See reviews for
207
788
131
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location in the CBD and though a large corporate hotel small enough to have that personal touch. Great open air pool area with a good gym. I have used the first floor restaurant for larger business dinners and it does give some degree of privacy. The room service menu is what you are looking for dinners, I have not used the breakfast service, and always arrives on time.
All in all a good business hotel when visiting Adelaide.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Casino and Adelaide Cricket Oval, great park views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Malcolm C

Welcome to tripadvisor and thank you for the great review. We really understand what is important for the corporate traveller and it is the little things that count.
Rickshaws our restraurant on the first floor is great and I think it has the best "Butter Chicken and Naan bread" in town.

I concur on the park view rooms.....stunning looking across to North Adelaide on a good day.

Thank you Malcolm C and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

i just spend 10 days here for a business trip. (sept 2013). hotel is common. nothing special, but service/room within the price.
few comment concerning business travellers:
- wifi is with additional charge of 25AUD/day. scandalous from my point of view. this is what hotel in europe / USA use to do 4 years ago. but time change. seems that this hotel is a little late compare to the rest of the world. i found after that most of ADL hotel bill in wifi, but there is some who act smartly (for same room price +/- 10aud/day).
- when you ask for folding shirt in laundry service, they came back on hangers!!
- waiting queue of few minutes for breakfast or at main desk, but there is employees for holding the door of the lifts!! strange vision of service.

positive points:
good location for access by car to outside and to the city by foot or cab.
calm & clean rooms.

Room Tip: calm rooms are oriented toward downtown, not to the north terrass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Franck F

Thank you for taking the time rate our hotel and I am glad you enjoyed the great location and access to the city.

I take on board your comments regarding Wifi and the comparisons that are made to international destinations. The reality is that Australia has one of the most expensive internet providers in the world which is beyond our control.

Franck F once again we love receiving clear and consise which is really appreciated.

Thank you

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in a Raffles Suite for one night. The suite had been recently refurbished and was immaculate. Having stayed in a non-refurbished suite a week previously we could appreciate just how good this one was. Everything about it was first class; the lounge furnishings, the bedroom and the bathroom.
Everything except the air-conditioning.
It happened to be a cold evening and the air-conditioner would not operate on "heat". We complained and an engineer was sent to fix the problem. He was coming and going for almost three hours but was unable to rectify the problem. Finally he gave up and arranged for a fan heater to be sent up to our room. We had to keep moving the fan heater around to gain any benefit.
At no stage were we offered a different room.
I reported our disappointment with the suite when we checked out. It was very early and the receptionist promised to notify the manager when he came on duty and that the manager would contact me.
I responded to an email from the hotel group and reported it to them.
I have not received any response from the hotel manager or the group management or from anybody at all.
I am very disappointed and surprised that they don't seem to care.

Room Tip: Make sure you check that the air conditioning works before you unpack your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyp994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Owner at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Anthonyp994

I am so sorry about the airconditioning issues you experienced in your room. The fact that this has not been dealt with and the lack of followup is not the way we treat our guests.

Can you please contact me on carlforrest@spa.stamford.com.au

regards

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at the Stamford for a week long conference I was running. My room on the 19th floor was newly renovated and very comfortable. The shower head was pretty good compared to other hotels I've stayed at (and I'm fussy about my showers). I love the fact that the room had a window you could open for fresh air so you weren't stuck in Aircon hell!

The staff were lovely and very helpful. Jessica and Ash in Banquets and Pierre in audio were always ready to help and ensure our experience was a good one. Alex and other staff in reception had great customer service skills also.

The food quality prevents me from giving this rating an "excellent" review. It was ok, but nothing special. If you ordered a coffee in the restaurant or omelette it took a long time to be prepared. and when you're at a conference you don't have time to waste.

Overall the conference was a positive experience but I'd love to see them pick up their game with their quality of food and attention to detail.

Room Tip: My room was on the 19th floor overlooking the Adelaide Oval. The room was great but it was close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mischiefdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Mischiefdebs

A sincere thank you for choosing the Stamford for your event and the team are appreciative of your comments regarding the service provided. Alex, Ash, Jess and Pierre have been recognised internally for their efforts.
Your comments regarding the food standard to be lifted is appreciated.....we act on all feedback as we like to put the guest at the heart of everything we do as we strive to be excellent and get that that other star in your rating!

Once again thank you for the great review.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Eliza
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night on business and was rapt with the service, room, location and breakfast. Arriving late meant dinner wasn't possible, but the quality and freshness of the breakfast buffet and omelette was great. The room was spacious and very comfortable and had a great outlook onto the parkland an northern aspect. It was also a good stepping off point for a morning walk along the river. I'll definitely make this the place I stay in Adelaide

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awayfrmhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Awayfrmhome

Senior contributor reviews are highly appreciated and thank you giving the hotel a 5 star review!!! A good room, view, a place to get some fresh air and a great breakfast and it looks like we ticked all you boxes for a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the stamford Plaza Adelaide soon.....especially as it is getting warmer as the river is fabulous.

Regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had an overnight stay away from husbands and children. We had high expectations of The Stamford and were not disappointed, from making the reservation to check out, all staff we came in contact with were friendly and efficient. We had a twin room overlooking the Parliament, the Casino (which is in a gorgeous old train station), the Festival centre, the river and out to "the hills". The room was a good size,clean and well furbished. Great location for shopping and socialising in the city. Would definitely recommend this hotel especially if coming from interstate or internationally as the location is central for so much that Adelaide has to offer.
Hope to use more of the facilities next time, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking North Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveMc487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear EveMc487

A weekend escape from the family is a rarity and when it does occur you really want to make the most of it. I am really glad we delivered on your high expectations and you both had a wonderful stay and re-charged!!!

Thank you for choosing the Stamford and giving us a 5 star review!!!!

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing