We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adelaide stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“adelaide stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I travel to Adelaide for business and leisure, and find the Stamford Plaza an excellent location, close to most things I need, generally within walking or tram distance.
The staff are very helpful and the standard and cleanliness of the rooms is very high. My first option for Adelaide accommodation.

Room Tip: try for a room at front of the hotel, nice nighttime view of the house of parliament and the Cathedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jim M

Your tip for a view over looking pPrliament house is right on the money. The view is not only stunning at night but certainly on the higher floors you can appreciate this wonderful city.

You must try one of our recently refurbished premium rooms on your next visit.

Jim M thank you for choosing us as your first choice accomodation for Adelaide...it is the ultimate compliment.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Asisstant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    721
    348
    121
    73
See reviews for
215
824
137
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My colleagues and I booked into the Stamford Plaza Hotel for a recent 3 day business trip.
We had only just checked in when the concrete drilling started from above. It was so loud in all the rooms that you couldn't even have a telephone conversation. I went down to the front desk to request a quite room and found my colleagues had all done the same.
We were moved into other rooms that were not much better.... one that looked onto a brick wall.
The point here is that they knew the rooms we were checking into were below the drilling, so why on earth did they place us in these 4 rooms in the first place?
Other issues with this hotel all relate to the add ons ..... internet is around $25 per day extra.
Breakfast is around $28 and not even worth half that. There is a coffee cart at the front door for guests, and even that is highly overpriced at $4.50 for a take-away.... This service should be complimentary like so many good hotels.
We had to complain on numerous occasions about the cigarette smoke coming from one of the adjoining rooms .... the hotel is NON SMOKING, however they did little to enforce this as it continued for our 3 day stay.
We have since informed our company travel representative to strike this hotel off our corporate list .... we will never stay here again.

Room Tip: My tip is not to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gbsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear gbsflyer

Please accept my sincere apologies for what you experienced during your stay. We made a mistake with allocating your rooms upon checkin. We had some essential works that need to be completed early in the afternoon but you are quite right in your review we should have been more savvy with our room allocations.
The cigarette smoke is simply unacceptable and the guest on that floor was charged a hefty cleaning fee as we are a non smoking hotel.

Regaring the coffee cart the $4.50 is for a medium sized coffee which is well priced compared to our neighbours. The breakfast I am improving our offering with the introduction of some iconic items such as Crocque Madame muffins and freshly made bacon and egg rolls. These are made by our egg chef in the restaurant.

Gbs flyer can you please contact me personally on carlforrest@spa.stamford.com.au so I can have the opportunity to make amends.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Asisstant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Stamford on our recent visit to Adelaide and found it perfect for our needs.

Our room, whilst on the small size, was clean, bright and well maintained and contained everything we needed - comfortable bed, plenty of draw and hanging space, flat screen TV with good channel selection, room safe, mini bar, iron and ironing board etc etc. The bathroom was again a little small but spotlessly clean and well lit and was equipped with a few complimentary essentials - shampoo, bath gel, body lotion etc. Overall our only complaint, if you could call it that, was that it was difficult to set the room temperature to our liking.

Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. Just a note, we did need to ask for help at reception on a few occasions and whilst the staff were always delightful to deal with, ever visit meant standing in line.

The Stamford is in a great location and close to the Adelaide railway station and casino, Festival Centre, Adelaide Oval, Hindley Street for dining and entertainment and Rundle Mall for shopping. It is also a pleasant walk or free tram ride to the central markets and many other great dining locations around Adelaide.

The hotel is definitely better than a 3 rating but just not quite a four.

Cost: $149 per night including breakfast (which was excellent) via the Stamford 24 Hour Sale.

Would we stay again. Defiitely at those prices!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WTN_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear WTN_007

Thank you for your "Top Contributor" review!! Adelaide hotels this time of year in June and July are simply great value and with our Winter Warmer package you can buy breakfast for a mere $1 per person.

You must try one of our great Premier rooms which have been recently refurbished.

You have highlighted our brilliant location well with all the sights, sounds and amenities within easy walking distance.....Adelaide oval when completed is going to be great.

WTN_007 I really appreciate your feedback.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Asisstant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angaston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stay here about once a year and always enjoy it. The rooms are great, staff are pleasant, nice breakfast and good valet car parking service. It is a nice central place to stay when attending the theatre. We can catch the free tram to the Entertainment centre, walk t the Festival theatre and the shops. We'll be back.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Susan K

A warm welcome to the Tripadvisor family and simply marvelous that you gave us a 5 star rating......greatly appreciated,

The breakfast is always good in TG's with a great selection. We will however be looking to further improve the offering with a gorgeous organic coffee from Columbia. Couple this with our egg chef where you can get a freshly cooked to order omlette or eggs benedict.....you are more than set for the day ahead.

Susan K looking forward to having you back with us and thank you again for your 5 star review.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balnarring, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Second time to Adelaide,stayed at Sebel Playford last time and couldn't fault it, thought I would try Stamford this time to compare. The staff at front desk were friendly and professional, room service was attentive although I felt the meals were quite expensive for what they were, breakfast however was reasonable. Bed was comfortable, room quite spacious, view was lovely. The location was great.
The hotel had a smell throughout, it was like the smell you find at country town motels, the rooms were noisy, I could hear other rooms doors closing in the corridor.
Thought it strange and tacky that the tea/coffee making facility was in the wardrobe and you had to get it out to make anything, there was plenty of room to have a designated table in the room to have it set up on, didn't use it as I thought it was a bit unhygienic. Once again where ever I stay it seems to be the norm that housekeeping don't check under beds, there was a ping pong ball under mine, is it so hard to check under beds when cleaning a room, or vacuum under it ?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Cathandkids

A sincere thank you for your review !! I totally agree it is not too hard for a housekeeper to look under a bed....I have addressed this with the team and it does form part of our daily tasks.......please accept my apologies.

We have some great food offerings inthe hotel with Swish offering a Bistro menu with a good range in pricing, Rickshaws which is a taste of Asia (Mani's our Chefs butter chicken is the best in town.....he won't give me the recipe) and then we have Terrace Gardens which has our buffet breakfast and on Friday and Saturdays a Seafood Buffet.
Cathandkids we can offer alternative items that are not on the menu.....we would love the opportunity.

I have taken your other comments which we appreciate because we put our guests at the heart of everything we do and are constantly looking at ways we can improve.

Thank You.

Warm Regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is part of a large chain, this property was third rate, renovations air conditioning like a wind tunnel, a simple request for coffee and toast required 5 phone calls and 4 deliveries could not recommend Faulty Towers would have been better run

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Christopher M

A warm welcome to tripadvisor for your first review and I thank you for your feedback.

In the first instance can I offer my sincere apologies for the incident with room service which is simply unacceptable.....I am now aware of what happened and have dealt with the communication breakdown internally to ensure it does not happen again. Getting the order right first time`is fundementally important.

As you mentioned in your review we are upgrading a number of our rooms which have been receiving great feedback from guests. Included in this program are the air conditioning units which are being upgraded to become more user friendly.

Christopher M if you can please contact me on carlforrest@spa.stamford.com.au so that we may have the opportunity on your next visit to Adelaide to make amends.


Warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here a few times the rooms are refurbished and average size for a hotel of its original age. Still has areas that need to be modernisation. Checking in is quick and easy. Gave the buffet breakfast a miss and had room service alacarte, instead price a little steep but generously proportioned.

Rooftop pool area is quite nice and gym ok.

Walking distance to best adelaide attraction being in north terrace and around the corner to rubble mall and shops in town.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok, request room facing north terrace - they are quiet whether on lower levels or higher l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonz-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear gonz-83

Reviews from senior contributors are highly valued and we thank you sincerely for the great comments you have made.
We have just installed our new room service breakfast menu with a clear direction to move away from the traditional bacon and eggs.....my personal favourite is the breakfast burrito!

The refurbished ”Premier” rooms are looking amazing and as mentioned in your comments a great location to explore Adelaide from Rundle mall to the Adelaide oval.

You must try Rickshaw restaurant on your next visit which does some of the best south east Asian cuisine in town.

Gonz-83 we look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

warm regards

Carl Forrest
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing