We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just got home from staying here for three nights. I had a refurbished room, everything was spotless, bed and pillows to die for! Excellent breakfast buffet. Great central location with 24/7 convenience store right next door. 2 minutes walk to the Adelaide Railway station. 5 minutes walk to Rundle Mall. I didn't go to Glenelg, but the tram stop is only 2 minutes walk away, and a 30 minute journey I believe. The one thing that truly stands out is the excellent customer service, from ALL staff - reception, waiting staff, concierge's even the household cleaners! Outstanding! It was a delight to stay here and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others looking for a great place to stay while in Adelaide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and we agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features and a tram ride through the city’s heart is free. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided and your compliments on our Buffet Breakfast is appreciated. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    721
    348
    121
    73
See reviews for
215
824
137
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

First stay in this Hotel, and service from initial booking through to checking out was fantastic, & communication thorough. Appreciated the helpful hints from Vicki in Res. Genuine happy ,helpful staff, very friendly, making us feel comfortable and so welcome. Had a refurbished room on the 17th floor, view over the Torrens River, and chairs & table by the window very comfortable. It is an older hotel & has a very solid feel about it, in a good way, they describe it as having soul, I would agree! Location of Hotel is perfect for all attractions in the city, we were able to walk and/or get the free tram so easily. The In-Room full breakfast far exceeded our expectations, was delicious, including 'fresh squeezed' orange juice which really was! Food and coffee in generous proportions, and with a late check out we were able to savour breaky and enjoy the morning. I would definitely recommend, and stay in this hotel again. The bed was tremendously comfortable, and that is the most important to me, followed by service. If I was to have a negative, it would be the bath, which I prefer to be full size and separate but then you are paying top dollar for that, so happy to compromise, as everything else was terrific. The service most of all was faultless for us. Well done to all staff, and thank you for a memorable occasion for us on our special celebration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SketchesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Stamford Plaza Adelaide as our excellent facilities, superb location, high standards of service and welcoming atmosphere ensured that you had a most memorable stay on your special occasion. Thank you for your positive comments on our In-Room breakfast and our excellent service, they are appreciated and our staff will be commended. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed at the SPA before and enjoyed our stay then but it was a bit rushed. This time was a single night too but we were able to better enjoy the hotel this time. We had the "Absolute Escape Package" which gave us value added items for use within the hotel. We did the sums and it meant the room cost a pittance given we had dinner and breakfast included and a few free drinks for good measure. TG's restaurant was very good, Seafood buffet, great value too with the current deal they had. We also love the Cascades Cocktail Lounge, lovely range of drinks on offer, table service, live music, staff are always excellent. The breakfast buffet in the morning was top notch, everything you could want leaving you not wanting lunch!
For a night without the kids this fit the bill perfectly! We will be back :)

Room Tip: Aim for high and north facing! The views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and thank you for the compliments on our seafood and breakfast buffet, it is appreciated. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I’m glad that you were satisfied with the excellent service provided by our friendly staff in Cascades Cocktail Lounge which made your stay memorable. I was also pleased that the Absolute Escape Package met your expectations and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Stamford Plaza April 8-10. Check in was smooth, easy and stress free. They were able to let me check in early which was a nice treat. Room 713 was quiet, large and clean with the usual amenities. The hotel is centrally located in Adelaide's CBD area which one can easily walk to various venues such as Rundle Street, Gouger Street, Norwood to name a few. I like walking, but there is a free tram service out front of the hotel if you dont want to explore on foot. Check out was again smooth, painless and the bill accurate. I would definitely stay there again as their rates are competitively priced and offer good value for money compare to their competitors. Just check online and cross check with directly with their website. You may even try and email them directly to see what specials they have on offer or inquire about an offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you received great value for money. We also agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and was pleased that you were satisfied with the excellent service provided by our very friendly reception staff during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback, it is appreciated. May we look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide some time soon.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berri, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This visit we stayed in a recently refurbished room
The room was great with a nice view
The staff are always friendly and helpful
The food and service is excellent
This hotel provides a convenient location at good rates
Have stayed here a number of times and will in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrayK177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very thankful for your positive feedback on our newly refurbished rooms, excellent service and friendly staff. While all our guests are important, especially so are our returning guests and I thank you for your loyalty. We also agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features. Thank you again for your positive comments, they are appreciated and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the near future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed in just about every 5 star property in Adelaide over the past few years and the Stamford Plaza or Stamford Grande are my "go to" properties whenever travelling there. That is of course, if the price is right. They quite often have some great specials and deals going on their website well worth checking out. (Prices including valet, breakfast etc)

They are currently about half way through a huge refurb and we were lucky enough to get a refurbed room on this stay of 4 nights (719). The new rooms are very comfortable, homely and well lit/bright - which is important. I hate a dark room.

The staff at the Stamford have always been a stand out and are always very welcoming and friendly to us.

(I had to stay at the Grand Chifley for a conference prior to the Stamford and it was total rubbish compared to the Stamford.)

The rooms are always so quiet and comfortable here despite the CBD location and it feels like you are coming home. The location is sensational, right out the front of the Casino and Tram Stop, a short walk to Rundle Mall, Hindley Street and heaps of decent restaurants/pubs.

Honestly, I have never had a bad stay here at the Stamford (still here now) and can highly recommend it. It is excellent value for money.

Keep it up Stamford, your staff are a credit to you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach8um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Stamford Plaza Adelaide as our excellent facilities, superb location, high standards of service and welcoming atmosphere ensured that you had a memorable stay. The refurbishment of our guest rooms, which is well underway with over half of our rooms now completed, will bring them back to the level in line with a 5 star experience and the results are tremendous. We are always delighted to hear that our staff are upholding our exceptional service standards and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our newly refurbished property in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice welcome and very friendly staff, room was very nice and had all that I needed although only there for 1 night. Very central location as well close to the convention centre. Will book here again next time I am in Adelaide.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickClarke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest
We are very thankful for your positive feedback. We agree that our location is ideally located within walking distance of the various iconic CBD features and we are always delighted to hear that our staff are upholding our exceptional service standards. Thank you for your compliments on our buffet breakfast, they are appreciated. I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Gee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#12 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing