We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea at the Stamford Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High Tea at the Stamford Plaza”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Recently I had high tea at the Stamford Plaza. It was a birthday treat and treat it was. We started with a lovely glass of good champagne and then a three tier server with the yummiest foods on it. The bottom tier was loaded with samosas, cocktail quiches and tiny club sandwiches. We also had some tiny Italian bread slices with pate. The middle tier had scones both plain and fruit served with scads of jam and cream. To top it all off were some french pastries. Even though my tummy was full to bursting I still had to eat one of the little French tarts and a little chocolate delights. Unfortunately, we could not eat the other two cakes so my friend took them home to her son. One looked like a banana caramel pie and one looked delicious, however, I don't know what it was. During our high tea we of course had cups of tea. We were asked what type we liked and had two large pots made with spring water. In Adelaide it is important to make sure that it is not tap water. For those who are not in the know, Adelaide water is foul. I feel I can say that because I live here. We had the Indulgent High Tea that was $30 a person. It was totally decadent and we both enjoyed the whole experience. I recommend it to everyone. Indulge yourselves. It was definitely the best birthday present ever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cushie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and kind words reflecting your experience at Stamford Plaza during your recent visit. I have passed on your compliments regarding our high tea to my Food and Beverage Director and Executive Chef and their respective teams and they will be commended for their service. We are always delighted to hear that our staff are upholding our exceptional service standards. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    773
    384
    127
    79
See reviews for
238
881
144
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely hotel right in the heart of Adelaide - got a great deal on Wotif. Very good staff and the room is very comfotable. Great location. I also did not rate the pin board info but that was small gripe in otherwise great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your experience. At Stamford, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I was pleased to read that you were generally satisfied with the service provided during your stay. The pin boards are a way of promoting other areas of the hotel and some great deals that may be on offer for our guests benefit. We will be reviewing this when we undergo our room refurbishment in the near future. Once again thank you for your feedback and trust that we will be welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Has everything you need. Yes food is a bit pricy, but the room rate makes up for that. So far Stamford has never been disappointing.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your honest feedback, we pride ourselves on having the best packages Adelaide has to offer and I am glad that you have we met your requirements and lived up to expectations. Perhaps on your next return you would like to try our Executive Lounge upgrade and experience conducting business more comfortably. Our new Food and Beverage Director is currently reviewing our menu selections in our restaurants and trust that when you return you will see a change for the better. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Central location. Typical Stamford hotel - frustrating the have to pay for extras that many 4 star hotels provide for free eg. internet, movies - limited selection of cable channels. Biggest gripe is the pin-board full of brochures prominently displayed in the room - very tacky for a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. For your information the Stamford Plaza has undergone a full upgrade of our internet facilities recently within the hotel to offer WIFI services to all areas and this is competitively priced to other hotels. I have taken on board your comments regarding the pin boards within the room and will review this when we undergo our room refurbishment which is expected to commence within the next few months. They are useful in promoting other areas of the hotel and also at times have some great deals on offer for our in house guests. Again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were very lucky to be spoilt with a night of "luxury" at the Stamford last weekend, a gift from a wonderful friend. We arrived to what was a stunning entrance but once in our room were somewhat disappointed. This is rated a 5star accommodation yet we had a cork board with flyers pined to it beside our bed making the room very tacky in appearance. I woke several times during the night feeling very hot yet unable to cool down with no fan or air intake in the room. My husband didn't sleep well as he found the bed uncomfortable. The room was ok but not what I expected for 5 star. We weren't left feeling we had a "luxury" stay.

Seafood buffet was on the menu which neither of us eat so we ended up eating meals in our room. I must add that there is a verity of restaurants to eat at but the menu that appealed to us most was the 'in room' menu. Our bottle of wine was not in the room when we arrived and we had to request it. Our paper was missing in the morning and again we had to request another one.

Food was great, desert buffet is not worth $20 per person as they wanted to charge. Morning breakfast buffet was wonderful with plenty of options although the glasses were tiny so you either had a lot of a little amount or just had a little.

Staff are all wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BansemerGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing us your feedback of your recent stay. I have taken on board your comments regarding the pin boards for when we undergo our room refurbishment which we expect to commence within the next few months. This will also include and upgrade of our air conditioning systems and our beds. Our new Food and Beverage Director is currently reviewing and updating our menu selections in our restaurants and will be implemented in the very near future. I was pleased to note the In Room Dining menu was to your satisfaction. Your kind words regarding the staff are appreciated. We do look forward to hopefully welcoming back to Stamford Plaza and once again thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port pirie
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stay quite regularly at the Stamford Plaza. The rooms are very comfortable and the views from the park view rooms are lovely. The staff are very helpful and TGs buffet breakfast and dinner are first rate. Alex and David in concierge / guest relations are a major asset to the hotel. We always look forward to our visits.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words for our Concierge staff. I have passed on your compliments to our Front Office Manager and they will be commended for their service. We are always delighted to hear that our staff are upholding our exceptional service standards. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I travel quite a lot for business and whenever I am in Adelaide I have found the Stamford Plaza Adelaide a warm friendly place to stay, having tried numerous other hotels in and around the city none match the Stamfords warm and inviting staff on arrival.

Before I am out of the taxi the staff have my bag ready and waiting to be delivered to my room. The rooms are quite large with a wonderfull soft and inviting queen size bed - always a huge plus when travelling for hours. The restaurants are wonderful with tremendous ambiance and again the staff are always helpful and know the menu well to assist when undecided.

The hotel location is ideal, dead smack in the middle of the city with only minutes walk to shops restaurants parks and railway as well as tram networks

Whenever I stay in Adelaide, you know where I will be, home from home Stamford Plaza !

Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is always nice for our staff to feel that the work that they take pride in is being recognized. At Stamford, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I was pleased to read that you were satisfied with the service provided during this and your previous stays and we appreciate your loyalty. I agree we do enjoy the best location in the CBD and central to everything. We do look forward to your return to the Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing