We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with other reviews, this hotel would benefit some tlc!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Agree with other reviews, this hotel would benefit some tlc!”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My fiancé bought a voucher to stay here for our anniversary. It included valet parking, superior room with midday checkout and full buffet breakfast
Like others have said, the building could certainly do with a bit of a makeover, but the staff were fantastic. They were friendly, laughing with us and could not do enough to make our stay fantastic.
The rooms were adequate, but the bath was not suitable for a bath as both ends were vertical making relaxing impossible.
We had a meal at Rickshaws which we would highly recommend as a place to eat. The food was great and the staff very attentive

So in summary, the building is not the fault of the staff who do a fantastic job, from the very first encounter with the concierge and valet staff to the check in staff.

Great location for shopping and theaters and a short walk to cafes.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_n_flip25197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Stamford Plaza Adelaide. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm and professional staff, location, food and personalized level of service extended to you by our colleagues on all occasions. Our staff is indeed one of our best assets.

Once again, thank you for your review of our hotel; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and on behalf of everyone at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, I wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Best Wishes,
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    741
    363
    123
    75
See reviews for
224
841
139
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have to agree with some correspondents about this hotel - it is both good and bad in equal measure.
Firstly the good - the service from the staff was very polite and friendly. There was a delay in checking in (looking for a non-smoking room?) and at check out (my valet car was not available at the time I requested). But these are minor quibbles.
The location is very good.
The bad? The hotel is tired looking - chipped paintwork, scratched furniture, terrible water pressure in the bathroom (both shower and handbasin). My room service meal was adequate, but overpriced for the quality.
The problem is that on Wotif, this hotel is (self) rated at the same level as the Hilton and the Clarion Soho. These 2 are far superior hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on having the best staff and pleased to read your positive comments about them being polite and friendly.
I do apologize for the delay with your check-in as the staff was trying to find a non smoking room to accommodate you. We also realize the increasing demand for non smoking rooms and pleased to inform that all our rooms will be non-smoking from next month. We indeed are fortunate to be located at one of the best spots in town that is close to the Parliament, Universities, Business houses, Adelaide Oval, Casino, Convention centre, Festival centre, and the entertainment precinct. The tramline that links the city to the bay passes from in front of the hotel making it very convenient for our guests to explore Adelaide.
We are starting the full refurbishment of our guest rooms that will address most of the issues you mentioned and am sure that in your future visits will find us more superior than most of the hotels in the surrounding
Again thank you for providing the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Adelaide. On behalf of the Stamford hotels, I would also like to wish you the best of festive season.

Sincerely,

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Arrived by taxi from the airport, but no-one offered to help with our luggage. It wasnt a major problem, but my husband is elderly and assistance would have been nice.

Our room was excellent and very comfortable. No faults there. Lovely.

We ate an excellent meal in the Asian restaurant, Rickshaws, though an indifferent waitress who made mistakes (rectified) did not enhance the experience.

There is a gorgeous up-market lobby bar, and a barn-like restaurant with the atmosphere of a pub and a whole raft of poker machines. This attracts assorted passersby, and our brunch in the buffet area was made entertaining by a drunk trying to score a free lunch.
good location, but needs to decide what market it is catering to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, which is an essential tool in monitoring our hotel standards and service levels.

Our concierge team prides itself on its professionalism and guest service and we do apologise that you did not experience this during your stay. In regards to your comments of Rickshaws Restaurant, these have been noted and your points of 'attention to detail' will be addressed during the ongoing training that is provided for all hotel staff.

I am also pleased to see that you found the room comfortable and the food in the restaurant to your liking. Ideally located on the North Terrace close to the convention centre, Adelaide oval and the festival centre, Stamford Plaza Adelaide is an ideal place for guests travelling on business, to attend conferences or watch one of the popular theatre shows.

I also appreciate your comments on our facilities. In our forthcoming renovation program, special attention is being focussed on the F&B outlets and the public areas.

Again thank you for providing the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

Best Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The Stamford group is well known in AUS, and always fairly reliable in my experience. The Adelaide property is located on North Terrace, right opposite the Casino, and main railway station, 2-3 minutes walk to Rundle Mall, and a minute or two the other way to Hindley Street.
They have a similar amount of marble that the neighboring Chancellor has in the lobby, but slightly less gaudy. Check is was efficient, and room was available at 8.30am.

Rooms are a little dated but comfortable, and have all the conveniences that you need, minus bath or sink plugs which I had to chase up twice.

The restaurant was pleasant enough as was the discounted breakfast. Staff also were friendly and service was efficient also.

With a facelift, this place would be a great choice, however at present with the current decorations, I'd choose the more stylish Accor managed Rockford, a few blocks down Hindley St.

I might add with a corporate rate of $170 a night, a tad overpriced also.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Stamford Plaza Adelaide. I am very happy to to inform that we are about to start the extensive refurbishment of our rooms. Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We arrived by taxi and within seconds a porter was on hand to help with our luggage. The reception staff were excellent and after checking in a porter (Alex I think) carried our luggage to our room and pointed out how to work the air-conditioning and showed the location of light switches etc, far better than the usual here's your key you find the room and work it out yourself.
The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed two meals at the resturant, the staff were very attentive and the food quality and quantity was excellent. Next time we are staying in Adelaide we would look no further the the Stamford Plaza.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of Adelaide
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dishmop37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive experience of your stay at Stamford Plaza Adelaide. It is very important to us, that our guests do enjoy every moment of their stay, are comfortable and we strive to meet their needs and individual requirements. I am pleased that you have identified one of our greatest assets - our staff. Among our many stars - Alex is one of the best, always on the look out for a guest in need. Anticipation is such a rare attribute these days and I am delighted that you noticed this skill in our team. We have multiple restaurants serving from fresh seafood to authentic fare from the South East Asia and I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and service very much.
Thank you for your very high rating of our hotel once again and looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Neat and tidy room, but the loudest water pipes I've ever heard in any hotel I've stayed in. They actually kept me awake when the room upstairs started to shower at 4am.

This hotel needs updating.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hzqt1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Stamford Plaza Adelaide. We are fortunate to have large rooms in a great and convenient location and our Housekeeping and Engineering teams work tirelessly to ensure the cleanliness and presentation of the property. It is not common to hear noise from the water pipes in the guest rooms and will greatly appreciate if you can advise me the details of your stay at rajkakarla@stamford.com.au so that I can investigate further. I am also happy to inform that we are about to start the extensive refurbishment of our rooms. Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

All Stamford Plazahotels are good value, and this one is no exception. Good rooms or a reasonable size, good facilities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review here at Trip Advisor. We were very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location, facilities and service to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in our hotel.

Best regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Property: Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing