We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I recently had a birthday celebration at the Stamford Plaza.From the moment we arrived welcoming staff greeted us from Concierge and Reception.Our room on the 18th floor was well appointed with the most amazing views looking over the river and parklands precinct.Special thanks to Steve (Chef) and Room Service for organising the Birthday Cake that our friends have raved about since.Julia, Ben and Heath for their exceptional service.David and his Congierge Team for their professionalism and knowledge.Well done to the General Manager Mr Black for his staff that represent true hospitality.

Room Tip: parkview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandjanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are proud of our staff and I am delighted that we were able to look after you so well.

We share all comments from Tripadvisor with our team and the staff you personally mentioned will be publically recognised. I had one staff member say to me that it was like receiving a medal when he was personally mentioned for his good service in Tripadvisor.

Again, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,368 - 2,374 of 2,539 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

went with a Virgin package. Room was fine, location just ideal for sightseeing and getting about on foot or public transport or concerts (and casino if you want that). Breakfast poor value, swimming pool out of action without any thought of compensating guests. Reception staff fine, but problem with handling foreign credit card. Am amazed to read in a May review that the lifts which irritated us in March are still a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

Thank you for your review.

I share your frustration that the lift upgrade has taken so long however am delighted that within two weeks the final lift will be completed and returned to us. This has been a major overhaul of the lift operating system, along with a lift car interior upgrade, costing approx $1M. The new lifts are proving to be safer, faster, more reliable and more energy efficient. We thank our guests for their patience during this process.

This week we also upgraded our breakfast buffet offering and presentation, along with an improvement of our cafe lunch product. I would be delighted if you could try us again to review the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed 4 nights during a festival. Very good location for Rundle Mall & Botanical gardens where the festival was. Hotel had all the amenities you'd expect from a big chain hotel, and they had a reward scheme of $10 credit on your ac. for every time you did not have the room cleaned, which in reality could only really be every 2nd day. Breakfast was good but parking was very expensive. Bar area was good too. There was some mucking about with being charged parking for extra nights (we had a hire car the 1st night only) but I think that was because the reception guy was new, the duty manager was called and the matter was sorted quickly. In room movies were cheaper than in Barossa valley. No problem getting a travel cot either. Concierge was helpful and no problem getting a taxi at the door. They had a roof top pool but it was a bit too cool to try. Would definately stay again during a festival.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted you were happy with your stay.

I am concerned that initially you were incorrectly charged for your parking and will look into the procedure to check if it can be improved, however I am pleased the Duty Manager quickly rectified the issue for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back. If you like staying during festivals, you may like to try Rickshaws restaurant for your pre-event dinner. It is my personal favorite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nothing short of 'amazing' .... Our virgin flight had been cancelled due to Sydney airport security breach.
On arrival, our first point of contact was Richard, from concierge. He was so accommodating and made us feel right as ease as soon as we got out of the taxi. We were a ittle distressed that our flight had been canceled but he somehow changed this experience, into being an added bonus to our holiday. After our bags were dropped off and we settled in, he gladly showed us to the bar downstairs, and helped us with any other information needed. I cant say enough about how important he made us feel.
Thankyou to Stamford and Richard
cheers
Alex

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a-train360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in Adelaide and brought the car to explore the area. We booked a great offer with Wotif, including parking and breakfast and a bottle of wine. On arrival the bottle of wine was delivered to our room, very attentive. Check in was fast and on arrival the car was parked via "valet parking". I enjoyed that service a lot. One of the elevators was elevated, so sometimes one had to wait a bit longer, but that was not an issue. The renovated elevators look good and are efficient. The room was spacious and well decorated. The bathroom could use a bit of an update; I would remove the bad and make a walk in shower - I personally don't like to shower in a bath tub. Amenities were sufficient. We had a deluxe room with city view. City view is nothing special, but we at least had a lot of daylight and we could look into the distance.
Bed was comfortable, tv excellent, 2 nice chairs and enough room to store luggage etc.
The breakfast was good too. Good selection of food, sweets and savories. All in all a very good stay.
If you don't want to have your room serviced, you can get a 10A$ refund to your hotel bill. Stays longer than two days and only deducted from bill. I liked the gesture.
The location is good.
Swimming pool needs updating (just like bathroom). All in all - great stay, good offer from Wotif, would recommend hotel if it on offer.

Room Tip: City View is not special, higher floor is okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and the service provided by our staff was good.

We are very proud of our staff, as they demonstrate genuine caring attitude to service. The Hotel is in a good location, close to shopping, transport and parks. We look forward to you returning to Stamford Plaza Adelaide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for a night courtesy of Virgin and the Chilean ash cloud as our flight to Melbourne was cancelled. The front of house staff were uniformly friendly and helpful - unfazed by the unexpected arrival of a couple of hundred of agitated travellers! Nice room, thought the amenities could have included toothpaste, room service was pretty good and hearty proportions. Serviceable buffet in the morning (my son was a fab of the hash browns.) Great location on North Tce, would stay here again (voluntarily!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68stricko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSPA, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. Your comments are important to us and I was pleased to read that your stay was good and the service provided to you by the staff was friendly and helpful.

For future bookings you could visit our website to review our special offers and packages. We look forward to you returning to Stamford Plaza Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a stay at this great hotel in May 2011, during our stay my wife suffered a Heart Attack.
The Hotel staff were great, they called an ambulance and got her to Hospital in double quick time.
On her recovery the Hotel allowed us to extend our stay before flying home to Perth at the excellent rates we originally booked at (Getaway Special)
The Management and staff sent my wife a lovely bunch of Orchids accompanied by a large portion of Rockyroad chocolate.
The Concierge Mr Alex Row and his excellent staff were particularly kind and efficient, helping helping us in every possible way to ensure we were comfortable and also to rebook our flights etc. Mr Row even called us at home to ensure our safe arrical. We cannot imagine a better hotel to stay at on holiday in nAdelaide and we will surely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ned1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Adelaide

Address: 150 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $94 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing