We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel with good service but needs better maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with good service but needs better maintenance”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel has a somewhat characterless 90s feel, but it is fine as a short stay hotel. I'd put it at the 4 star or below level. I paid a rate of A$110 on a wotif secret deal, and thought it was great value.
The service was great - very pleasant, and quick to respond to problems.
In the first room we were given the bathroom door would not shut and the plug in the bath did not work (not usually a problem but one of us wanted a bath). When the problems could not be rectified by the staff we were immediately upgraded to a room next door that was huge and had a balcony - the response from staff was much appreciated in all respects.
I had a perfectly pleasant 1 night stay there, and would certainly recommend it for a short business stay or for the right rate, but for a holiday I'd generally want a little more style and charm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    1,083
    297
    101
    79
See reviews for
240
1,389
183
867
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.. The Hotel was well appointed, clean and had a great feel as were the rooms.. Our room was on the top floor so good views over the hills from our private balcony. The living room for this level of hotel was rather small, the bedroom and bathroom were huge and all rooms were very well appointed, well maintained and clean.. We also had problems with the taps as other guests had mentioned trying to turn them off proved to be very entertaining as well as a dripping shower which may have been caused by not being able to turn off the taps.. We also had a Spa in our room but with it being so small it was point less.. Which was a pity as we Love a good Spa.. We did not use the Restaurant but we did use the bar on the ground floor which was excellent.. The lady behind the bar was brilliant only to happy to serve and had a great personality.. Also the atmosphere in the bar was great with a good out look over the street front.. There is no on site parking but looking at congestion at the Valet Parking with its short drive way which we witness many times as we were coming and going we were very happy we did not bring the car.. Overall for what you pay it is excellent value and we would gladly stay again..

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better and the rooms on the East side seemed to have the better views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed only two nights, travelling by myself. My room was a single, on the top (18th) floor. The room was super clean and modern, with a cool glass wall between the main room and the bath. Lots of marble material tiles, and a good pillow selection. The mattress was quite good, 8/10. The two problems I had was the toilet tank valve kept dripping loudly in the bathroom, which was annoying at night. A quick midnight jury-rigged solution fixed it for the night, and I only reported it on checkout. The last, minor thing, was that the "hot" water only really got warm. Running a bath or shower meant running only the hot water. Especially annoying if you like a hot shave.
I didn't have a car, but I did notice that there was no customer parking. Valet only, and they park you car in some local lot apparently. Overall, I'd stay there again....great handy location. Staff very friendly and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors...nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

People that book this hotel expecting a 5 Star experience will be disappointed. It is 4 Star at best.

The hotel staff seem to work tirelessly and nothing is too much trouble. But they are operating with one hand tied behind their backs because of the physical standard of the property which does not meet reasonable 5 Star expectations.

A simple example of this is the taps in the bathroom which seem to require a degree in hydraulic engineering to shut off. The mechanism is so worn that when you turn the taps off they go past the off point and turn on again! It took a while to work that out.

I found the bed very comfortable and the room spotless, but sometimes that isn't enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had a business trip to Adelaide and booked Rendezvous Hotel- very good decision- well located, very clean, staff very attentive, room very comfortable and the bed was just so very very excellent- great night's sleep - very quiet also.
The appointments in the room were of a very good standard but there were 2 quirky aspects in the bathroom.
The tap (or should i say short pipe which was a tap) was strange- turn it on- the taps are far on the left hand side of the sink and if you turn the tap on too much (and that can be done so easily) you end up getting totally drenched as you can see from the picture- once organised you get used to it but must admit i was pleased I had a change of clothes.
Also the toilet is located directly opposite the floor to ceiling mirrors in the bathroom and i find it rather strange to have a full view of anyone using the toilet- interesting and quirky!!
However with quirkiness aside the hotel is very good.
I had room service and the food was well presented, very tasty and the actual room service was most professional and very speedy.
Thank you rendezvous i had a very pleasant stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tas-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the second stay we have had at the Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide.

The first stay was nearly 3 years ago, the first morning there was no hot water. When queried with the hotel staff they could advise a time when the issue would be resolved... making for a rather interesting morning considering it was the morning of my wedding. Eventually the hot water was restored however certainly did not make for the relaxing morning I had hoped for.

This stay we decided to have a relaxing weekend in town. We booked online for 3 people, 2 adults and our 1 year old child. When we arrived we were upgraded to a Spa Suite which was ideal for space with a toddler. However when we asked for a porta-cot we were told that it would be an additional $30, we queried this as we had not been told of this when booking. We were told that a king size bed is suitable for 3 people. As our son suffers a medical condition we were not particularly happy with this suggestion but felt $30 for a nights rental was excessive. We have stayed in a number of hotels with our child and not once have we been charged for the use of a porta-cot.

The king bed was also extremely hard, whilst I like a solid bed this made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep.

Also as a side note we were concerned as one of the preventative methods for SIDS is not to co-sleep, which clearly the hotel is not concerned about.

Room Tip: The higher the better as it reduces street noise on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed in a fair few hotels over time and have found this to be the most uncomfortable sleep I have ever had. The beds are so out dated that you can feel the springs, for a 5 star hotel its appalling I now know why they have a card next to the bed for in room massage you need one after sleeping in the bed. I have to say the food is pretty good but on that I will not stay here again, 2 nights is enough

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Waymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Waymouth Hotel

Property: Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Address: 55 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Waymouth Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Adelaide CBD right on your doorstep, you couldn't wish for accommodation in a more convenient location than Peppers Waymouth Hotel. Just down the road you'll find the thriving and stylish dining precinct, a true 'foodie' destination, with rapidly evolving international cuisines. Explore the Adelaide Zoo, sample delights at the Adelaide Central Markets, or watch a game at Adelaide Oval. After a busy day, Peppers Waymouth Hotel is the perfect place to come back to and relax. At Peppers Waymouth Hotel, you'll be treated to premium CBD accommodation. Designed with strong European influences, every room exudes city sophistication. With the choice of a Guest or Deluxe Room, Deluxe Suite or Penthouse Suite, you can go as luxe as you'd like. Overlooking the captivating lights of Adelaide city, you will be able to enjoy the stunning view through your floor to ceiling windows, or if staying in a Deluxe Room, with a drink before dinner on your private balcony. Experience all the fixings Peppers is renowned for, in a diverse metropolitan location. Enjoy 24 hour reception and room service and valet parking. Keep in shape at the fully equipped gym, swim a few laps at the indoor pool, and then relax and unwind in the sauna. This is your haven within the city. Located at the gateway to the produce rich Barossa Valley, a certain standard has come to be expected when dining in Adelaide. Combining local South Australian produce and exceptional wines in both restaurant venues, Peppers Waymouth Hotel has all your culinary choices covered. Essay Kitchen will take you on a food journey while Barketta offers an expansive menu best shared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Waymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Allegra Adelaide
Hotel Rendezvous Allegra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing