We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a five star experience.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Waymouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a five star experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked this hotel through Last Minute as a five star luxury getaway - which it was not. Tiny room, the air con didn't work properly and our view consisted of a large corrugated roof. Which was very noisy when it rained. Although the rooms are smart and it is a good location it's definitely overrated itself. If you're looking for a luxury getaway this is not the place. It's more like a posh travelodge.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raqsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendezvous_gm, General Manager at Peppers Waymouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept the hotel's apologies if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

The majority of our rooms have excellent views, either over the city or the hills, however, as a centrally located CBD hotel, it is unfortunately not possible to guarantee that all lower floor rooms enjoy the same outlook. The same applies to any high-rise CBD building, and as much as we try to accommodate as many guests on higher floors as we can, the hotel does not, unfortunately, begin at level 10.

As one of the only two officially rated 5-star hotels in Adelaide, we do not position ourselves in any way above what we are. The hotel offers 5-star facilities coupled with a boutique hotel-style service, and I do not believe that we are at all pretentious in how we promote or advertise ourselves. Although perceptions and expectations of a 5-star experience will vary from person to person, our guests' feedback tells us that in most cases these expectations are met and exceeded. We take pride in the appearance, cleanliness, functionality and style of all our rooms, as well as in the services that we offer, and welcome any comment that allows us to improve in any of the areas we have control over.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience.

Best regards,

Emilio Fortini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    1,054
    288
    99
    78
See reviews for
229
1,355
180
840
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

One of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in. Great location for walking around Adelaide and eating in China town. Room was a great size, nice big bathroom, big bath.

Staff more than friendly, I accidently left my camera recharger at home, I asked at reception did they have any spare ones I could borrow, not a problem, they have all differnt chargers for silly people like me that leave them behind.

Breakfast was Ok, good selection of food available.

The valet boys very helpful, as our first time to Adelaide so unsure of where to venture with our hire car, so the boys drew us maps of a day trip, very good choices they made for us. Great day out.

Highly reccommend this hotel...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace_Nick_Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked a room at the Rendezvous on Last minute as a mystery room and were amazed at the quality and position for the price. We were given a corner room which offered windows along two sides so great views in the morning. The best part was the huge marble bath with the glass window above from which could watch the TV so felt very luxurious and special. Checkin was smooth and parking is available. Decor is of high quality and style both in the rooms and the corridors. Highly recommended due to the proximity to the Market too.

Room Tip: Corner with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariebut64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice and on each occassion had no sleep due to the noise transfer between rooms. Although the hotel rooms are quite nice on the surface, cleaning standards are not great (green spa outlets dont encourage me to use it). Good business package for Internet and breakfast, and reasonable prices for extras do not make up for the exorbitant price you pay for a room where you can hear the person opening a chip packet on the other side of the wall.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I’ve stayed here a few times. It is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious. and the better ones have balconies. I wouldn’t be disappointed with this room standard in the next hotel category up. But I don’t know another hotel where you can hear so much of what’s happening in the next room.

On my last visit, I was in bed when the person in the room furthest away from the bed made a phone call. I could hear every word she said. And my colleague said she could hear the person in the next room snoring during the night. Having said all of this, I’ve not had a bad night’s sleep here.

The hotel is actually in a converted office building. Looking at a picture in the reception area, the conversation was pretty extensive, and I would never had guessed the building’s previous life.

There is a bar-come-cafe next to the hotel lobby which is a nice place for a drink or snack, and good for business meetings. There is also a restaurant but I’ve only had breakfast there. Breakfast has always felt a bit disappointing, so I only eat there if I’m on an inclusive rate. The bar/cafe is nice if you just want a, say, a yogurt or a muffin. And there are plenty of places outside.

The restaurant has never managed to entice me in for dinner because the hotel is well placed for restaurants outside - including the Hilton’s excellent Brasserie, which is only a few minutes walk away.

All in all, I think this hotel generally offers excellent value accommodation. But, for me, the ‘thin’ walls between the rooms mean it’s not my fist choice when I stay in Adelaide.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed with my partner for four nights in July on a quick visit to Adelaide for some R&R. This hotel is centrally located being a 5-10 minute walk from the CBD mall, Central Markets and China Town Precinct. We stayed in the base level accommodation, a Superior King Room, which was very well appointed with an extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom is also quite big, with quality fittings and separate shower. Three hours free broadband internet access per day is a well received bonus.

From the day we arrived until the day we left could not fault the service and attitude of all the staff we encountered. Nothing was ever too much trouble and all queries handled with a smile. Didn't eat at the in-house restaurant as there were so many options close-by.............Georges on Waymouth 50m up the road is a standout but do book well ahead or be prepared to be disappointed.

All in all a great hotel with rooms often available at very competitive prices. Definitely will be back on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellerOui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Fully lives up to its rating. The best hotel I have stayed at on a business trip for years.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andrew2086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Waymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Waymouth Hotel

Property: Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Address: 55 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Waymouth Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Adelaide CBD right on your doorstep, you couldn't wish for accommodation in a more convenient location than Peppers Waymouth Hotel. Just down the road you'll find the thriving and stylish dining precinct, a true 'foodie' destination, with rapidly evolving international cuisines. Explore the Adelaide Zoo, sample delights at the Adelaide Central Markets, or watch a game at Adelaide Oval. After a busy day, Peppers Waymouth Hotel is the perfect place to come back to and relax. At Peppers Waymouth Hotel, you'll be treated to premium CBD accommodation. Designed with strong European influences, every room exudes city sophistication. With the choice of a Guest or Deluxe Room, Deluxe Suite or Penthouse Suite, you can go as luxe as you'd like. Overlooking the captivating lights of Adelaide city, you will be able to enjoy the stunning view through your floor to ceiling windows, or if staying in a Deluxe Room, with a drink before dinner on your private balcony. Experience all the fixings Peppers is renowned for, in a diverse metropolitan location. Enjoy 24 hour reception and room service and valet parking. Keep in shape at the fully equipped gym, swim a few laps at the indoor pool, and then relax and unwind in the sauna. This is your haven within the city. Located at the gateway to the produce rich Barossa Valley, a certain standard has come to be expected when dining in Adelaide. Combining local South Australian produce and exceptional wines in both restaurant venues, Peppers Waymouth Hotel has all your culinary choices covered. Essay Kitchen will take you on a food journey while Barketta offers an expansive menu best shared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peppers Waymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Allegra Adelaide
Hotel Rendezvous Allegra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing