We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York! New York!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The Loft Suite we stayed in has a very New York feel. The tall ceiling simply opened up the entire suite up. The loft has a luxurious feel to it and the room is clean, well-maintained and huge.

There are two LCDs - one downstairs in the open plan area and the other upstairs in the bedroom. The decor is aimed at making the guests feel comfortable with a bit of "homely" but yet luxurious feel. This therefore explains the plush throw cushions "carelessly" but yet well placed on the comfy lounge, big velvet armchair, well-stocked bar, corner spa bath and a massive dressing table. And of course, as mentioned previously, two LCDs all well-placed for the guests to switch on the news or cable TV.

The Sebel Playford is a great place to stay but the staff can be a tad friendlier and helpful. Checking in was not expeditious. The facilities in the hotel were adequate.

This is a good business hotel and definitely not a place to bring the kids to. A luxurious hotel for couple on a short getaway. But will I bring my kids along - no, not at all. Not when the price is this steep and it will be unaffordable to take up two of these rooms! In fact, not even two of the run-of-the-house rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILovetoWineandDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,319)
There are newer reviews for The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,187 - 2,193 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2010

A colleague swore she'd never come back to this hotel, so when my company booked me here I was a little apprehensive...Well, nothing to worry about - it was great!

I had a loft room - which apparently referred to the fact the bedroom was upstairs, and everything else downstairs. This setup annoys me - luggage racks and wardrobes are in the bedroom, but the bathroom's where you shower (and therefore get dressed - well, I do) - but you've got to keep trekking up and down to get stuff!

The room was very clean and the furniture was fairly new looking. The desk was TINY and the internet connection cord was too short to sit anywhere except on the tiny desk, at a rather uncomfortable (but trendy) chair, so thats why I cant give the room a Excellent rating..

View was of the office building next door - but I was at work all day, not sightseeing. If I was, Id be disappointed.

The Sebel's breakfast is fantastic - lots of fresh fruit, good juice choice and a yummy array of breads to toast..

My company's booked me here for the next two weeks, cheers to them, because I'm very happy to be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobyshunnybuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I have to travel a lot for work, so i tend to get a bit fussy about things. But i love the Playford, it has a really great atmosphere, beautiful fit out and good food.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Took our seats in the cocktail lounge and were ignored by the wait staff who simply hid behind the bar, despite the fact the lounge was almost empty and we sat right in front of the bar!! When I eventually approached them at the bar they forgot to put the vodka in the bloody mary and we had to wait even longer. Next day checking out we were left waiting 15 mins for our car to be retrieved from valet parking, for which we paid handsomely, because the coincierge simply forgot about us, again despite standing right in front of him while we waited. One suspects he was more concerned about his cocky's hairstyle than the hotel's guests. Have never encountered such unprofessional and undermanaged staff. No thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DWMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We attended a function in the hotel and then stayed the weekend and we could not fault the hotel or staff

Staff very friendly and helpful, food was amazing! Dinner in the restaurant, room service and even breakfast was top notch!!

Great location and the dinner function we attended on the one night all staff were very conscious and looked after everyone

Cant wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minky_Adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed at the Sebel Playford for two nights and thought it was a reasonable hotel, given the lack of choice in Adelaide. I booked through Expedia, but my booking somehow didnt get sent through to the hotel. The manager upgraded as to a north facing room overlooking the Intercontinental! even though it wasn't their fault. We booked a spa suite, but didn't end up using it. The rooms are a bit dated, they have tried to spruce up with a new lounge suit, but the florring throughout the room was all tiles??? which meant the bed that was on castors kept sliding around everytime you tried to get into it which was very annoying. The flat screen tv in both the lounge area and bedroom was a good thought. was clean and tidy and the ferrero rochers on the bed each night was a nice touch. All in all the hotel was good, but just not the standard of a typical 5 star hotel you might expect.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripanxiety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This hotel would probably rate about 3.5* on international level. Clean and neat, but nothing fancy about it at all. Definitely not good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $135 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing