We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved only by its location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2009

The location is excellent - but there are a number of other hotels equally convenient any of which is likely to prove preferable. Poorly maintained generally - everything a bit "tired". Housekeeping service farcical to say the least - requests for rectification (just one example - a hand towel each - not too demanding surely?) met with apologies and promises but no activity. Plumbing problems in the bathroom (water coming up through the floor; blocked handbasin; unpleasant odours) fared slightly better but remained unresolved. Obviously the breakfast menu has changed since other reviewers stayed there - limited choice and of pretty average quality. The "Hotel Ambassador" (?senior concierge) tried hard to be helpful but was let down by poor backup and indifferent staff. The internet access is ridiculously expensive - rather piggyback on the wifi of the Accor Hotel (next door) and pay by credit card. We checked out a day early. [For 5* dining try either Cos in Leigh Street or Jolley's Boathouse on the river bank - for cheaper eats it's not necessary to go further than Rundle Street where there's a good variety of eateries, Greek, Italian, modern Aus, etc: all within a short walk].

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HongKongRyetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,315 - 2,321 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed here in April 2009. The hotel is well positioned and almost anywhere of interest is in walking distance - the river, the Adelaide Oval, North Adelaide and the great restaurants around the market and the university.

I recommend La Trattoria. 348 King William St Adelaide, if you like Italian food, by the way - well worth a 20 min walk from North Terrace towards the South Terrace. The Amalfi in Frome St. is very good too!

The tram stop to Glenelg is outside the hotel, and worth a ride.

The hotel is clean, friendly and the breakfasts are superb. The bar is convivial and overall the hotel was an ideal place from which to see a city I'd not been to before.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

For location and comfort, I would certainly recommend the Sebel Playford.

It was our first trip to Adelaide and the hotel provided a welcome base for a 2 night stay. The city is easily walkable from the hotel and good shopping and restaurant areas are within easy reach, as are the river and North Adelaide.

The hotel itself is conventional enough, but comfort compensates and the service couldn't have been friendlier. Arriving jetlagged from England, we were able to check in early and told we'd been upgraded to a suite - what welcome news!

The rate I'd booked included a sumptuous breakfast each morning - definitely recommended. We ate each evening in Italian restaurants in the city, the Amalfi and La Trattoria - both excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I was pleased with the Sebel Playford.

Plus points: good location, spacious room and toilet, luxurious feel to the room (loved the pillows), great food (whether it is in-room or at the restaurant), dignified and prompt service. We arrived at 11.30 am and thankfully the room was ready.

All these meant I could "forgive" the lack of a safe, and the fact that the internet charges were as high as my hotel in Melbourne (and this time in the Sebel Playford, it came with a 50 mb limit, which meant I could not upload my photos without potentially incurring high(er) charges).

Our family enjoyed the stay at the hotel, and it would be a place we would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasingjackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Can't fault this place. Excellent location within easy walking distance of most of the city sights. Beautiful rooms, quiet and spacious. They even provided courtesy umbrellas when it looked as if it might rain. We were made to feel special from the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woofy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Very mixed feelings about this hotel. We had 2 pre booked visits to this hotel. The first was a one night stay half way through the holiday when we were upgraded to a suite. It was a stunning room but having only spent 10 hours in it before we left again in the morning we didnt really get the benefits of it. It was light and airy and overlooked North Terrace.

Our second stay was at the end of our 3 week trip, in a deluxe room. In hindsight we should have raised issues with the front desk but I wasnt in the mood to perhaps move rooms. All the staff we came into contact with were exceptional, especially concierge desk. Nothing too much trouble re advice on where to eat , what to do and even on- line check in for flights. The room was a big disapointment. We checked in late afternoon and just dropped bags in the room and set off for a walk and an evening meal so didnt really notice the room. There was no safe in the room- this is a 5 star hotel and unheard of really. There were 2 shallow drawers in the wardrobe and no other drawer space at all except 2 bedside cabinets.The drawer in the dressing table area was filed with magazines and about 4 inches deep. The lovely piece of furniture that the tv was on was a hi fi cabinet with no shelves just 2 telephone directories in it - a total waste of about 2 feet of possible shelving. So just about everything stayed in the suitcase again.!

The room had 4 panels of metal venetian blinds at the window which we didnt notice on the first afternoon. The next morning when we slid them back we looked out onto another biulding and if we pressed our noses against the window and looked up we could see about 2 inches of sky!. It really was one of the most awful views we have ever had from a 5 star room. No natural light made for a very depressing start to the day.We had to have the lights on all the time. We were situated at the back of the hotel and heard the bins or something similar being emptied early on the second day. The bathroom floor drain overflowed after the second person showered and no we didnt mention it!

We ate breakfast twice here. There was plenty of choice but they played around a bit too much with some of the hot choices. The other 2 mornings we popped along to 'Aroma' and had breakfast there.

I thought I had chosen well for our last 3 days in OZ but left feeling very disapointed, but perhaps I had been expecting too much after reading previous reviews and of their awards. The hotel was well positioned for walking the city. Parking was opposite the hotel and driving in and around the city was no problem at all. All the staff were excellent and no doubt would have sorted out our grievances if I had mentioned them, but we just wanted 3 hassle free days and didnt give them the chance to make amends. Although they must surely have been aware of how cell like the rooms at the rear of the hotel were.

So all in all a big thumbs up for position and staff but for our particular room a big thumbs down , which has clouded our overall review of this hotel.One thought I had was that our first booking was made direct with the hotel and the second through a booking agent and I wonder if they get the worst rooms.... just a thought.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank appletreeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

The Playford is in a great position in the city, very close to the railway station, the free tram is just up the road and the main shopping area Rundell Mall is just around the corner so you have it all close by.
The Hotel is very clean, neat and the staff are very polite. The room we choose was not very good for me as i am very bad with stairs it was called a Loft Suit the bed room area is up the stairs and the living, kitchenette and bathroom are all down.
At full price $500 per night i think this is a bit to much for the this type of room.
The Air con did not get all the way up stairs that could be a problem in very hot weather or very cold
The food in the Bar is fresh and great value.

We will stay here again just not in a Loft Suit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KIMTLPERTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $122 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to Rundle Mall, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide Central Markets, Adelaide Convention Centre and the central business district. Our most recent accolades include 2017 ‘Best Deluxe Accommodation’ at the Australian Hotels Association SA Awards, 2017 ‘Best Restaurant in a Hotel’ at the SA Restaurant and Catering Awards, 2017 ‘Best Luxury Accommodation’ at the South Australian Tourism Awards plus many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing