We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have stayed here on several occasions
Have enjoyed day and evening functions
The hotel has a nice vibe
The staff are always friendly and attentive
The decor has elegant styling
A good place to visit and stay

Room Tip: The Hotel overlooks North Terrace Aim to get a higher room which will enable you to see views to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHethro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    598
    170
    40
    28
See reviews for
250
1,025
115
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is outstanding. The staff makes you feel at home except they spoil you. You dont need to go to another restaurant as they have an excellent restaurant at the hotel. We were here 5 days and loved every minute. My husband used their pool and was impressed. If we return this is the place we will return to. It is also a great location. Across from the convention center and walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. We actually had to buy more suitases to go home. Our sincere thanks go out to all the people at this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a place!! From the moment you arrive whether it be on foot or by car (which is how I arrived), the service is spot on. Valet Parking always a sexy thing. Staff amazing. Gorgeous building inside and out, the beds are super duper comfy. The rooms are stunningly appointed. Got upgraded to a gorgeous room with private courtyard. Love love this place. I will so be coming back. Thank you so much for a great visit and experience. And Adelaide is such a gorgeous city. Gentle. clean, hip, simply gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 243Zephyr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed in the biggest penthouse family loft suite for 5 nights a week ago. Simply loved it ! Amazingly clean and fresh -with good beds and quality furnishings. Central location - to Adelaide casino, Adelaide Oval and places you must see. All within short working distance. Similar to staying at MBS hotels in Singapore. Will certainly choose The Playford again if we visit Adel! Good to update the gym equipment to provide a more wholesome experience.

Room Tip: If you have 4-5 members, go for the family loft suite. You will not go wrong !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionCitySunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfview Heights
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Ideal location for this excellent hotel. All the staff we encountered during our stay were friendly, courteous & very helpful. We enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant - the food was well presented, very enjoyable & staff service very good. We have previously eaten in the restaurant on several occasions & the high standard has been maintained. All in all a good stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Be careful when you book via the NET, they will give you a crummy "dinghy" room and when you request a change the DAY MANAGER (Ricky (---)) was not helpful and was arrogant too. He did not had the courtesy to provide a change of room, he simply said pay more for the change of room of our choice or we will refund you the paid funds and you leave right now.

It was the EASTER weekend, how can they treat their quests like "dirt" or was he discriminating because we were not Caucasians.

So we had to pay the extra for the change. We then found the beddings were uncleaned, had to request housekeeping to change them after the first night's sleep and after the 2nd night's sleep they had to change all the pillows.

No point in complaining to Senior management, they simply support their staff. This not how a reputable Hotel should behave and they should not be affiliated to an International Group.

Will NEVER stay at this HOTEL again. SO GUYS BE WARNED!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tuan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing