We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - Extremely friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - Extremely friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here over the opening of the Fringe weekend as a home city stay (ie we are Adelaidians). The first night we had our two young sons with us and then second night it was just my husband and me. The hotel service staff were fantastic - extremely friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size with a comfy bed. The only bad thing was that my son found the sofa bed uncomfortable due to the springs. Pool was a reasonable size and clean. Great gym area too if you want to work off the buffet breakky. The breakfast was good with a lot of different choices and my two sons loved the chocolate fountain. It was a bit pricey however the next day we went over across the road to the Intercontinental as I had a two for one voucher which was the same price per person and found it to be nowhere near as good in terms of quality and assortment of food and also service.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    614
    173
    40
    30
See reviews for
257
1,053
116
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

As an Accor loyalty card holder, I had requested a quiet room on a high floor and was allocated room 330, which was quiet on the first night, but very noisy on the Saturday night with people shouting and music blaring in the passage below our window. It was also not particularly high (there are 8 floors) and had one of the grimmest views from the windows I have yet to see - just an alleyway. The room however was very nice, big and well appointed. Very comfortable and although there is a lovely settee to lounge on, it would be better if there was a reading light near it. A bonus is a small indoor pool and a guest laundry room (paying) in the basement. The hotel is in a great location for visiting Adelaide. Concierge Christophe was very helpful as was check-in clerk.
We had a bar meal in the lobby of fish and chips. while the fish was delicious, the chips (potato wedges) were undercooked and inedible. Service was good.
However, along with other reviewers, I fail to understand why there is no free Wifi in the rooms. There is one hour’s(continuous)complimentary Wi-Fi per day, per device, access in the lobby otherwise it’s pay up time. (However, in the lobby at least you can get onto Adelaide Free wifi.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
208 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Sebel was very well located for conferences at the Adelaide Convention Centre across the road. The tram runs past the door, and the railway station and casino are also just across the road. The hotel is an easy walk to Rundle Mall, the river and Parklands, and some good restaurants. The hotel has nice Art Deco touches, relatively large and comfortable rooms, and a gym and heated pool in the basement. A good balance between location, comfort, style, deserving of it's no 1TripAdvisor rating. A Hertz rental car place is next door.

Room Tip: Rooms away from North Terrace may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoffinChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at the Sebel Playford.

Staff were extremely helpful (going above and beyond to help us find some scrap cardboard to make a Bruce Springsteen sign)!

The food in the restaurant was excellent and service here lovely as well. Room service was also terrific. My sister and I often shared the club sandwich to save a bit of money (it is enough of a meal for two though) and they always brought us two plates.

The only flaw was a knock on the door from maintenance about fixing something in the room. We were attempting to have a nap at this point and although we did not have the "do not disturb" sign on the door, I do think it's reasonable to expect that maintenance in rooms is done when the rooms are vacant. This is a minor quibble though! The man was very polite when we said another time would be best.

I loved staying here and will do so again when in Adelaide next. Thanks Sebel Playford.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The end of a road trip from Melbourne brought us to the Sebel. The first impression is a little disappointing, you enter the hotel from a side street and it almost seems as thought they didn't quite know where in the hotel to put the reception desk. I had selected this hotel for its Art Deco look but much of this was ignored by the hotel instead of promoting the wonderful features. I had also pre booked one of the best rooms in the hotel, but when shown to a room on the side I was told that if I wanted a view to the front it was available at extra cost. The room was large with the amenities you would expect but the hotel had little atmosphere. It has a very central location to the city which makes it a very convenient address, we did not use any of the facilities (bar, restaurant) the hotel just didn't work for us.

Room Tip: Try to ensure a front facing room, the side rooms are very gloomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonExplorer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times & the thing I like the most is its consistency. This is one of the few places I'm happy to dispense tips to staff.
The rooms are very good, the lifts work efficiently, the bar waitressing staff are great, the restaurant food is always excellent (plus the waitress-from France- had a great knowledge of the menu & beverages!) & the general surroundings are clean & comfortable.
Just one minor downer- my wife was dropped in town earlier & despite having two bags & other various items no help was offered for carriage inside or to the room yet a younger couple with similar luggage was offered the appropriate service. She was dissapointed.
However, the rest of the stay was up to expectation. It's always pretty good value for money.
Would have given 5 stars except for the arrival issue.
This is one our favourite hotels in Australia(even if it is in our home town) so next Fringe Festival we attend we will, no doubt, be here again.
Yours, Quinno.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quentin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Absolutely love this place! This was our second stay at the Sebel. Hubby and I stayed here for one night for a concert at the Entertainment Centre and there was a slight mix up with our booking due to a date change; we contacted them and they agreed to change our date but unfortunately it wasn't updated in the system, however our fantastic Concierge was so very helpful and had us checked in in no time at all...and in a Loft Suite at that! I wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy it more. Room service 'dinner' at 3am was delicious, and every staff member was lovely! Looking forward to our next visit :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoStoppingUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing