We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Chancellor on Currie(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$95
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks Horizons(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$158
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$112
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$107
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$60
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hilton Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adelaide Inn(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$72
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra on Frome(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    BreakFree Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
    $75
    $73
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Comfort Inn Regal Park(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
    $88
    $85
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (2,467)
    Filter reviews
    2,467 results
    Traveler rating
    1,521
    674
    191
    46
    35
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,521
    674
    191
    46
    35
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsloft suitenorth terracelounge baracross the roadpillow menuart decobuffet breakfastside streetlovely hotelroom servicespa bathconcierge staffadelaide ovalrailway stationrundle mallstandard rooman upgrade
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,575 - 1,580 of 2,467 reviews
    Reviewed February 17, 2014

    The Sebel was very well located for conferences at the Adelaide Convention Centre across the road. The tram runs past the door, and the railway station and casino are also just across the road. The hotel is an easy walk to Rundle Mall, the river and Parklands, and some good restaurants. The hotel has nice Art Deco touches, relatively large and comfortable rooms, and a gym and heated pool in the basement. A good balance between location, comfort, style, deserving of it's no 1TripAdvisor rating. A Hertz rental car place is next door.

    Room Tip: Rooms away from North Terrace may be quieter
    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank BoffinChemist
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

    I really enjoyed staying at the Sebel Playford.

    Staff were extremely helpful (going above and beyond to help us find some scrap cardboard to make a Bruce Springsteen sign)!

    The food in the restaurant was excellent and service here lovely as well. Room service was also terrific. My sister and I often shared the club sandwich to save a bit of money (it is enough of a meal for two though) and they always brought us two plates.

    The only flaw was a knock on the door from maintenance about fixing something in the room. We were attempting to have a nap at this point and although we did not have the "do not disturb" sign on the door, I do think it's reasonable to expect that maintenance in rooms is done when the rooms are vacant. This is a minor quibble though! The man was very polite when we said another time would be best.

    I loved staying here and will do so again when in Adelaide next. Thanks Sebel Playford.

    • Stayed: February 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nel20
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 15, 2014

    The end of a road trip from Melbourne brought us to the Sebel. The first impression is a little disappointing, you enter the hotel from a side street and it almost seems as thought they didn't quite know where in the hotel to put the reception desk. I had selected this hotel for its Art Deco look but much of this was ignored by the hotel instead of promoting the wonderful features. I had also pre booked one of the best rooms in the hotel, but when shown to a room on the side I was told that if I wanted a view to the front it was available at extra cost. The room was large with the amenities you would expect but the hotel had little atmosphere. It has a very central location to the city which makes it a very convenient address, we did not use any of the facilities (bar, restaurant) the hotel just didn't work for us.

    Room Tip: Try to ensure a front facing room, the side rooms are very gloomy
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DevonExplorer2013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

    We have stayed here a few times & the thing I like the most is its consistency. This is one of the few places I'm happy to dispense tips to staff.
    The rooms are very good, the lifts work efficiently, the bar waitressing staff are great, the restaurant food is always excellent (plus the waitress-from France- had a great knowledge of the menu & beverages!) & the general surroundings are clean & comfortable.
    Just one minor downer- my wife was dropped in town earlier & despite having two bags & other various items no help was offered for carriage inside or to the room yet a younger couple with similar luggage was offered the appropriate service. She was dissapointed.
    However, the rest of the stay was up to expectation. It's always pretty good value for money.
    Would have given 5 stars except for the arrival issue.
    This is one our favourite hotels in Australia(even if it is in our home town) so next Fringe Festival we attend we will, no doubt, be here again.
    Yours, Quinno.

    Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    Thank Quentin R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 14, 2014

    Absolutely love this place! This was our second stay at the Sebel. Hubby and I stayed here for one night for a concert at the Entertainment Centre and there was a slight mix up with our booking due to a date change; we contacted them and they agreed to change our date but unfortunately it wasn't updated in the system, however our fantastic Concierge was so very helpful and had us checked in in no time at all...and in a Loft Suite at that! I wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy it more. Room service 'dinner' at 3am was delicious, and every staff member was lovely! Looking forward to our next visit :)

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank NoStoppingUs
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews