We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We spent 2 nights and found the room and facilities excellent. The one problem is our room overlooked a small alley and we looked straight into the neighbouring building. The result being that as it was a weekend we had drunken party goers making a noise in the alley below us throughout the night. The restaurant and food was 1 st class. The staff throughout were extremely efficient and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar was a great place to relax. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get a room overlooking the back alley. Especially if you staying there over a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Really friendly welcome as we arrived early from the Indian Pacific. Room check in was early which was helpful. Location is excellent, short walk to everywhere central and great for picking up transport out of the city.

Lovely small pool which was welcome after heat of the day. Room immaculate although you have to ask for fresh milk to be brought up to the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We are South Australians from the mid north and this was our first stay at the Sebel Playford and we were not disappointed. The location is perfect, you can walk to everything from this hotel.
The hotel staff were excellent, food was terrific - the breakfast buffet was fresh, appealing and beautifully presented. Definitely recommend you take that option. The evening meal in the restaurant was also very good and glad we were glad we stayed in for that.
The staff are first class and they make your stay just that little bit special. We'll be back as regulars from now on - why would you go anywhere else when you can get this quality at such a good price when visiting Adelaide?

Room Tip: We booked a studio and received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite. No views but who cares the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Sebel Playford for 3 nights in December, from the 22nd to the 24th. We were a family group of five – two couples and a 5-year-old. We’d reserved a studio spa suite (for two) and a loft suite (for three). Upon check-we were upgraded to two loft suites, right next door to one another, very convenient.

The loft suites are large and comfortable, with the bedroom upstairs and a sitting room, kitchenette, and bathroom downstairs. The furnishings and decor are pleasant and in good repair, but things are not brand new. And there’s no view – the windows looked out into the narrow alley. It’s not luxury accommodation, but we didn’t pay luxury accommodation prices.

One thing to consider with the loft suites is that the bed is upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs, and the staircase is quite steep and a bit slippery. If you need to go downstairs during the night, it’s a bit of an adventure in dark and unfamiliar surroundings.

The staff at the hotel were kind and helpful throughout our stay; they seemed very pleased to answer tourist-type questions and give advice, and were just overall very nice.

The Sebel is well-located in central Adelaide. It’s easy to walk to the shopping plaza (Rundle Mall), to restaurants, and to the botanical garden and zoo. The tram also stops right out front; we took it out to Glenelg Beach one day.

The casino is practically across the street. I went with the guys one night and it was fun, not crowded or high-pressure. We played blackjack at a friendly table and won a fair bit of money, so I guess it was a lucky night! :)

In summary, I would recommend the Sebel Playford as a comfortable, friendly, well-located, and reasonably priced hotel in Adelaide.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank frangipani7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Characterful hotel in excellent location on North Terrace. Friendly, helpful staff in Reception and well appointed reasonable sized rooms. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Adelaide and I would be surprised if there is a better hotel option in the city. Only criticism is the internet. Along with many others of similar standard the Sebel charges for internet use which is particularly galling here as the download speeds are very, very slow. For anything other than e mails pretty much unusable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

After staying at the Sebel Playford on two occasions, I didn't think twice about booking us in to the Sebel Playford for a third time for an overnight stay. As always, the service and overall experience at this hotel was exceptional.

The room was clean and well-appointed with a comfortable couch, tasteful furniture, a king-size bed, and crisp linen. A comprehensive pillow menu is available and the toiletries which are provided are luxurious.

The hotel staff are courteous, professional and always willing to assist. The self-service parking here is also cheaper than other comparable hotels in the Adelaide CBD.

This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pseudonym5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $116 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing