We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in Adelaide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sebel Playford for three nights in late March 2013. Was a lovely hotel beautifully decoarting and comfortable rooms. Would certainly stay again.

Only complaint was with the bath shower, the bath is rather narrow, at least the flat part you can stand on when showering, which makes it a little annoying when turning around in the shower, certainly not a deal breaker and not the end of the world. I think if that's the only complaint I can find then it was a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RojKohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,805 of 2,375 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great hotel in a fantastic location! Very attentive staff and outstanding service. Very nice rooms! Average view from our Deluxe Room, but that was the only downside! Didn't try the restaurant, but have hear very good reviews. Top Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent 2 nights here (29 and 30 March). Got off to a bad start when we arrived as we had been told to pull into the main entrance and unload our bags and we would then be directed to park across the street. They forgot to say that the main entrance is actually in a laneway at the side of the hotel! We found it and then had to wait for the 3 vehicles in front to be attended to (the driveway will only accommodate 3 vehicles at a time and there was only 1 valet on duty). Parking is also an extra cost ($18 per day if self-parking or an exhorbitant $30 for valet parking - the carpark is directly across the laneway from the hotel). When I booked we were told there would be a $150 cash bond (for mini bar consumption - something I've never encountered before). When we checked in, we were told this was $200!
Our room was standard with a view of the wall of the building across the laneway. The shower is over the deep bath; the depth of the bath makes it difficult (and dangerous) when stepping in and out (there are no handrails). There was adequate drawer and hanging space, a small seating area, desk and chair, TV, iron and ironing board and safe.
It has a good location (directly across from the Casino and close to Rundle Mall and restaurants) which is the main reason I chose it. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

First class hotel with very helpful staff
It is not in the best position as it is only 100 yards from the night clubs and red light area.
Room was reasonable size with very comfortable bed.
Bath Robes and slippers provided.
Tea making facilities and mini bar

Room Tip: suggest you ask for a room overlooking main entrance and not overlooking North Terrace which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Make no mistake I recommend the Sebel in Adelaide. We got an great overnight deal online so I didn't expect the best room and it turned out the room itself was fine, clean, modern with enough space but the view was only great, if you like brick walls. :(

Happily I got over that small issue quickly and we took advantage of the spa/pool and the bar downstairs which were 4 star. The check-in staff were very polite and helpful, the parking very convenient and its in a great location.

The Sebel helped make for a wonderful weekend so it gets a 'recommended' from me :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at the Sebel Playford for two nights in January 2013 and had stayed there before. The central location on North Terrace is great but beware the laneway leading to Hindley Street at night as it's not terribly safe. That aside, and providing you use the North Terrace entrance after hours, the hotel is terrific. Rooms are fine and the service very courteous and helpful. The cafe and bar are too small for the size of the establishment, and the bar area often noisy at night, but this noise didn't affect my stay, even on the second floor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good modern hotel located in city centre. Room was large and clean. Only problem was that hotel booking had been pre-paid on my credit card but was again charged to my credit card on arrival. It took some lengthy discussions with staff to have charge reversal initiated on my credit card. Also, the hotel would not accept my Accor Club Card on booking in so no points were obtained for the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $115 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing