We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff really make this hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The staff really make this hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We travelled as a group staying here for a few days before heading to Mannum to go on a houseboat for 7 nights. The staff here are nothing short of amazing. The Australian Cricket team were here at the same time and the staff still attended to all our needs with smiles even though you could see they were very busy. Special shout out to Marco the Ambassador and Christophe who both made fantastic impressions on us all. The room was nice though no views but really who cares when you have the whole of the beautiful Adelaide to explore. Marco organised a golf game for the guys while us girls went shopping. Only part I wasnt happy with was it took ages to get a glass of wine in the bar one night and another day took ages to get a cocktail...yet there was hardly anyone in the bar. Great meal in the restaurant on our last night. But the main thing really was the staff from reception through to the porters. You guys are truly outstanding and carry your duties professionally with smiles and greetings for all your clients. Well done and we would love to return one day! Oh and location location location....brilliant!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and facing the side street, was a bit noisy Saturday night but hey im on ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellsbytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    599
    170
    40
    28
See reviews for
250
1,025
115
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This medium sized hotel,a stone's throw from the river,across the road from the Casino,Adelaide Convention Centre,short walk from the Art Gallery and most other points of interest,including the Adelaide Zoo,is truly welcoming and of a very high standard....Art Deco facade and interior design accompanied by real old-fashioned attention to quality and service...in-room dining is from the restaurant menu and of similar excellence(try the truffle-infused chicken!).
In-room service is as close to instantaneous as you can get without teleportation...5 mins from ordering an espresso to delivery!
Booking impossible -to-get tickets is a speciality.
Taxis respond immediately.
Rooms are large and fully equipped with luxuriuos bathrooms...Terry-towelling bathrobes and slippers.
The basement pool is welcome after a hot Adelaide day..pool and gym open 24 hours.
IDEAL

Room Tip: Ask for a room on North terrace corner with Victoria St
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here early November 2012 for 3 nights and really enjoyed Adelaide. This is a much easier going city than either Melbourne or Sydney, partly because of it's smaller size and partly because it's surrounded by parkland on all sides. This hotel is very pleasant and is situated on North Terrace, right opposite the Adelaide Convention Centre, with a beautiful riverside walk on the opposite side of the road behind the Convention Centre. The main shopping street streets are literally around the corner with fast food and restaurants, bars and cages all to hand. Lovely lobby and eating area in this hotel, staff very helpful and friendly, rooms absolutely spotless and well presented. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Very unimpressed with this hotel. Was really looking forward to experiencing true luxury, but unfortunately it was a disappointment. The room wasn't sufficiently cleaned when I arrived and although the issues were fixed, there was no apology. The room service food was greasy and the breakfast buffet was virtually empty 30 min before breakfast was due to finish. A few of the staff were lovely, but it seemed like they work with no support from management. I was send a survey after my stay were I listed my concern, but is yet to receive a reply.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Businesstravel201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Maybe it was because the Australian cricket team was staying there or maybe it was because the hotel was fully booked, from a staff and service point it felt like I was staying in a hotel of 2 star level. As simple as changing a light bulb took 3 calls and than it was all too hard and after lodging the problem in the morning being told at night that due to a communication error at the front desk they didn't tell the maintenance staff and the front desk couldn't do anything that night and their reason because the maintenance staff had all gone home. That was one example of terrible service I experienced all weekend. Premium hotel really 2 star treatment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis for the past eleven years.
Staff have a low turn over indicating a good work environment which translates to friendly efficient service. Rooms recently refurbished. One of the best breakfasts in the southern hemisphere, (but get down early). Very well located for the city,and on the tram line.

Room Tip: North terrace front apartment with balcony, for a view, and a leisurely drink before dinner. Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stay at the sebel playford each time i come to Adelaide. The staff welcome me by name and greet me as a close friend without being overpowering. they go out of their way to ensure i enjoy myself while in the hotel. i appreciate the occasional upgrades and the food quality is fine dining at its best. the decor is really nice especially in the communal area downstairs. it is a nice safe haven for those travelling alone and the price is very reasonable. congratulations to the management and staff. for those wishing to stay in an historic building with all modern comforts i highly recommend this hotel.lexie b

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing