We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit rock and roll”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little bit rock and roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed the fact that the Playford has foregone the international bland minimalist decor in favour of something a bit more textured and opulent. Very comfortable with everything you'd expect from a good 5-star hotel, including an iPod dock.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding, with creative and delicious dishes on offer.
The gym was good although only 2 treadmills so I imagine you could dip out in peak times.
All the staff were very good and personable, and the location was perfect for me, as I needed to be at the Convention Centre across the road. For shopping/dining, it is close to the rather foul Hindley St and a bit of a hike to Rundle St.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    614
    173
    40
    30
See reviews for
256
1,050
115
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Location is excellent - about 5 mins walk to Rundle Mall. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, and quite large. Comfortable bed. Very quiet at night. Fitness centre was well equipped.

Highlight of our stay was the buffet breakfast - an great array of high quality foods. Much much better than the usual bain-marie breakfasts you find in other hotels. Try the freshly made waffles. Wait staff were attentive.

The only (small) suggestion I have - we borrowed a couple of umbrellas from concierge, and they were small, tatty and old. Some full-sized Sebel branded umbrellas would make a better impression.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabanannaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The beds are super comfy, staff friendly, rooms and hotel very clean, breakfast is yummy (my partner and I ordered a full breakfast for one room service and it was enough for us to share).
Location is excellent, Tram stop very close for easy access to entertainment centre or glenelg, train station across the road, casino across the road, Adelaide oval a easy stroll away, Adelaide Festival centre closeby. Walking distance to Rundle Mall (main city shopping precinct), easy walk to museums, art gallery, botanical gardens.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balnarring, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff were extremely helpful, the room was spacious and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in other than my own at home.
Room service staff were very accommodating, giving me time to finish my dinner then returning to my room with the amazing deconstucted banana split dessert - WOW.
Breakfast buffet was perfect, especially the freshly squeezed juices.
The location is ideal for whatever you want to do in Adelaide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were excellent with the bed being really ccomfy. The breakfast which has awards is the best hotel breakfast I have EVER eaten.....you will not be disappointed...so go ahead make the booking ;-) staff especially the concierge were also very helpful so well done to the team.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We arrived before our room was ready, the staff were wonderful, they took our bags whilst we continued shopping!
When we returned our room was ready to go and our bags were brought up instantaneously!
The beds were huge and comfy, the room clean and bathroom lovely!

The concierge gave us helpful hints for tea and we returned to the lounge for a few drinks and some live music!

Breakfast was in the restaurant and the spread was delicious! Food for all tastes and no request was to big or small!

Overall the value of the room, the helpful staff and the awesome food means you have a return customer! Have highly reccomended to heaps of friends and family!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hangeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time at this hotel and it has become apparent that this chain excels in friendliness and comfort. I was so impress by the friendly interaction from every level of service, good work Sebel Playford

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnh3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing