We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They know how it is done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They know how it is done”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time at this hotel and it has become apparent that this chain excels in friendliness and comfort. I was so impress by the friendly interaction from every level of service, good work Sebel Playford

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnh3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    618
    176
    41
    30
See reviews for
258
1,065
116
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent - right beside the station, close to a tram stop, and close to the shops and bars. Adelaide is very easy to find your way around because it is built on a 'grid'.
The hotel is very pretty with lots of Art Deco features - wonderful chandeliers in the bar! The staff are amazing - so helpful and plenty of them! The beds and pillows were exceptionally comfy - a selection of pillows available for every need.
Only a couple of criticisms - wi fi is not free- an hourly rate is charged- and we were not allowed to take holiday photos in the bar - disappointing since it is so splendid.
Would recommend you visit the casino - just over the road in the old part of the railway station- not necessarily to gamble, but to see the huge chandeliers and to eat . A good buffet meal is available in the top floor restaurant - reasonably priced and good food.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was very acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here whilst attending a conference across the road at the convention centre. The location was very handy. The rooms were good with large bed and two lounge chairs and study chair. Everything needed was there. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was not included but good thing is they have seperate meals available all day from bar which means you don't have to eat in restaurant and prices are very reasonable considering it is inside hotel. The parking is a bit pricey at $18 per day. I would give it 4.5 if there were such a rating as there are no complaints but doesn't have a wow factor but great for business. As we are GTA members we also got free Internet and the complimentary coffee cards were a nice touch. There are limited good hotels in Adelaide. I would stay here again and weekend rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfect Hotel, Great Location and staff from Breakfast to Bar, Embassador to Reception everyone was so helpful and genuinely friendly. The Cleaners take pride in their work too and should not be forgotten. Nothing worse than staff that don't really want to be where they are. Keep up the great attitudes and smiles guys xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Met my daughter in Adelaide to go the the Dunstan Playhouse to see the Mousetrap, and stayed at the closest and most convenient place, which was the Sebel Playford. My car was parked, for an added extra, but worth it. The staff is great, from reception to the waiter at the Restaurant. We had enough time to have a meal before we walked over North Terrace to go to the show. Didn't have breakfast there, but wandered down Rundle Street for a window shop and coffee. So, comfortable beds, nice quiet rooms and within walking distance of the main shopping area and Entertainment Centre. During the week was a lot cheaper than the weekend prices though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callybnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived an hour before scheduled checkin time to be greeted by friendly helpful staff. I was upgraded without request. Resturant staff also very polite and helpful. Gluten free menu was a bonus. Food was delicious. Will come again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked just a standard hotel room but upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a suite on the 1st floor it was absolutely beautiful , I cannot use lifts as I panic and the staff catered to my every need placing us on the first floor , unlocking the stair doors as many times as I needed. In other hotels I have been made to feel as I I was a pest by not using the lifts but The Sebel made me feel so relaxed and not embarrassed of my phobia ! This hotel takes the cake and anyone who does not say here is really missing out on a great experience ! Thank you The sebel playford you will always have our patronage :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amygrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing