We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
Miller Apartments Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$117
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Peppers Waymouth Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$106
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adabco Boutique Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mayfair Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$152
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$113
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$128
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$77
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$100
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$101
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,477)
Filter reviews
2,477 results
Traveler rating
1,526
678
192
46
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,526
678
192
46
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitenorth terracelounge baracross the roadpillow menuart decobuffet breakfastside streetlovely hotelroom servicespa bathconcierge staffadelaide ovalrailway stationrundle mallstandard rooman upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
2,019 - 2,024 of 2,477 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at The Sebel Playford for two nights in October. The hotel is a tad tired and in need of a spruce up but we were in Adelaide for an event at the Convention Centre and this hotel was perfectly located. The lobby bar is great - we invited family to join us for drinks here and all enjoyed the atmosphere and efficient staff. The breakfast, although pricey, was lovely. My only comment was that on an extremely busy weekend - the reception is just not big enough. Maybe an extra staff member would have been helpful but I do understand that the hotel was full and this may have been unusual. Otherwise a value for money hotel overall.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking North Terrace as the side rooms look straight into a carpark
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

it was requested and we refused to let them take a photo copy of my drivers licence ,no problem about identifying myself, this booking was pre booked by our travel agent and pre paid , i was told this was a new initiative , i have never been asked for this before , just imagine photo copies of peoples licences lying around in hotels , no thanks , i refused

Room Tip: there are no views except of the next building
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Sebel Playford before and after a 2 day trip to Kangaroo Island. The staff was fantastic, especially Marco at the concierge desk. Marco arranged a last minute tour for us to the wine country, helped us change money at a great rate and stored our bags for us while we hopped over to Kangaroo Island. When we returned 2 days later, our bags were in the room waiting for us. We purchased a few bottles of wine and he arranged shipping for us. In addition to the great service, the breakfast was wonderful and the room was clean and neat. We will definately stay here on our next trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomDavis520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Honestly, I booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. The Intercontinental is said to be in serious need of renovation so we looked for something else. If the Playford is the best hotel in Adelaide then cancel your holiday and visit somewhere else. The hotel was a let down from the beginning. On arrival we were "upgraded to a beautiful suite on our top floor - it's wonderful sir". What a load of bull. The "suite" is over two floors with an awful steep staircase that is polished to the last that you are just waiting to slip and break your neck. The window looks out onto a brick wall and the "lounge" has two armchairs but the configuration of the room means they are not side by side but rather one right in front of the tv and the other behind it in a corner so we were not able to sit near each other let alone beside each other. The room has a really awkward kitchenette that is just pointless and really takes the tone of the room even further down. If the Intercontinental does get a renovation, they can send the contractors across the road. The pool is small but at least the area was clean.

Breakfast is ghastly overpriced and the level of salt used in the cooking is heart stopping. The hostess was truly patronizing and the coffee is out of a machine. Seriously, you want to be a five star, you serve espresso automatically or at least a decent pot of coffee.

The staff were not as friendly as people have made them out to be and in fact we requested some visitor information from the duty manager and she was just plain rude. The same guy checked us in and checked us out. Didn't remember us, and utterly patronizing, he must have been on the same training as the restaurant host.

Finally the bar had some musicians playing on Saturday night, don't bother unless you are in your twilight years.

This is the second Sebel we've stayed in, it will be the last.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank finestireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We pre booked 2 rooms on the accor hotel website for a weekend stay in Adelaide, with my partner, my brother and sister in law.

On arrival we were advised that the hotel only had a booking for 1 room. The duty manager who was supposedly assisting us was nothing but rude the entire time, he was reluctant to listen to what we had to say. To resolve the issue we ended up having to call a friend and have them to go to our home and forward on the confirmation email to the hotel, which in its self was rather difficult due to being constantly ignored when asking for an email address to forward this to. After standing at the reception desk for over 45mins, being made to feel like a liar and missing a dinner reservation he finally realised that a mistake was made, telling us that WE were lucky that we had the confirmation. To top it all off there was not even an apology.

On a positive note the hotel itself is clean and the beds are very comfortable. All other staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. I think this manager could learn a lot from the other employees at the Sebel Playford.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HDJTDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews