We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in Adelaide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite Hotel in Adelaide”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Sebel Playford for my Birthday in a Spa Suite Room. From the moment we booked our stay 1 week earlier to the day we checked out the whole experiance was excellent. The staff were so friendly and helpful wherever they could be we got upgraded on check-in and a late check-out of 12 was not a problem. We had Dinner in the resturant downstairs and the food was amazing. My boyfriend had the steak and commented that it was the best steak he has ever had....Breakfast in the morning is a must do aswell- So many choices and everything beautifully presented. We have stayed in alot of hotels around Adelaide and by far the Sebel Playford is our favourite. Would definatly stay again for our next special event. "Excellent Location"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    630
    180
    44
    30
See reviews for
263
1,088
120
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Playford, in a loft room - for four nights. The good things included the location, comfortable bed and friendly and helpful staff however a few things could be added to easily improve the experience. Such as:
1. More towels - of better quality
2. Rubbish Bin in kitchenette area
3. Additional kitchette items - eg. Bread knife, cutting board, dinner plates (although these did appear on day 3 of our stay)
4. Unlimited Wifi not 3 hours/day
5. Seat/lounge in loft area - in addition to the bed
6. Delay timing for room makeup- Room makeup staff knocked on our door at 8.15am to clean the room - too early
7. Strange mix of decor - flowers/stripes/metallic/timber - all in a limited space
8. New soap provided every second day

The room grew on us, but am not sureso would stay next time I visit Adelaide.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Did an overnight stay at Sebel Playford. The rooms were quite large and the bed amazingly comfy. The location is on North terrace and a short walk to the shopping area and across the road from the train station. The staff were all very friendly and professional, they even helped me check in our flights and print our boarding tickets for us. We had drinks in the bar which were well priced and the cocktails lush. We ate at night in the hotel restaurant and was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Reminded me of Masterchef food with lots of little "elements" all over the place, but boy was it delicious, plentiful and cheap enough to have what you wanted on the menu instead of what was affordable. if ever in Adelaide again, would certainly stay there with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I am 56 and had a meal in the a la carte restaurant - it would go down as the best meal I have ever had in my life. Thank you Sebel. Service was excellent as well. I was there on 3/10/12 for breakfast, lunch and dinner!!!!

Room Tip: Restaurant is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hampastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights over a long weekend. This hotel has a great ambience and the staff in particular are outstanding however, because we were allocated a room on the fist floor overlooking the laneway we experienced quite a bit of noise (nothing to do with the hotel). As the hotel is now an Accor property perhaps they should consider double glazing the glass on the lower levels to alleviate this problem.

The Sebel offers a great alternative to overpriced hotel breakfasts at the Bar where you can get a light meal at a very reasonable cost. The vouchers for juice or coffee were a lovely thought. We dined in the restaurant twice during our stay (Adelaide has a distinct lack of good restaurants in the city) and service and food on both occasions were exceptional.

Great place to stay - would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms on the laneway are noisy. Also request a room that is not near the function area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Us3Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,328 reviews
389 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,884 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Excellent location and a very professional front desk staff - they are very helpful.
The rooms are not the best I have ever had - my room faced a another building on the rear side and the wall was only some 2 metres away so my room was quite dark and inhibiting.
Having said that, I only bought one of the value internet deals so I can't expect any more.
The parking and breakfasts are expensive but the bar is excellent value for either lunch or breakfast.

Room Tip: avoid the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed here 5+ times now for business over the past 2-3 years. Clean hotel, nice bar at the entry, professional staff, food from room service always excellent (usually poor in other hotels). Great hotel for business stays however may consider elsewhere for personal trips due to prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTraveller_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing