We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Boutique Hotel - more personal service than most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Nothing to be added others have not. Breakfast is a nice change and will definitely come back.

Room with no real view, but quiet, even though near elevators.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not much to complain about here! Great hotel, staff were excellent and extremely attentive, room was pristine, parking convenient. We had two nights in a deluxe room which had everything we needed plus! So nice to be able to throw the iphone on the bedside clock/radio/dock! My only small beef was that when I purchased the rooms on line I didn't read the small print and mistakenly thought that the food/beverage discount voucher would apply to each night - not just once. Small issue but one that just took the gloss off. However, once bitten ..... Would recommend the hotel without hesitation and rebook if ever I need to stay in Adelaide again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynmore58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We loved our night in the Sebel. The service was excellent- personal and attentive, the art deco surroundings were stylish and breakfast was fabulous. We liked that parking was close by across the lane, and the river walk was just across North Terrace. We were upgraded from a deluxe room to a suite on arrival for a small extra charge and having a separate sitting room was quite luxurious. The only slight negative was that none of the deluxe rooms or smaller suites apparently face onto North Terrace but look onto an internal courtyard. However this didn't bother us and overall style and extremely attentive service made than made up for lack of a view. We enjoyed it and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HP8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Been back to eat the restaurant here numerous times. This is one of the rare occasions of a hotel restaurant menu being comparable to menus in stand-alone restaurants, particularly in the value-for-money stakes . The food comes cooked to order, a steak ordered rare is really rare, not medium or something worse and potions have always engendered the thought, "this is good value for money".

The service is always appropriate, friendly without being over-familiar, checking the progress of the meal without being intrusive.

The ambiance is always warm and intimate and the furnishings and design all contribute to this.

HINT: The restaurant is on 2 levels and if you are placed on the lower level, ask to be placed away from the 2nd level 'wall' unless you want to have the feet of the customers, sitting on the 2nd level, next to your head.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LawrenceGuanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was my 3 rd stay at the Playford and each time it has been a pleasure to come back to at night. The staff always make you feel at home and are always willing to go out of their way to assist you.
You dont feel like you are in a large hotel at all. The rooms are genourous and comfortable. Some aspects could do with a freshen up but overall I beleive it is a very good hotel.
well sittuated across the road from the casino, Entertainment Centre, railway station and Tram Stop. As this is Adelaide this means it is conveniant rather than crazy busy. The river is just a step away as well.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay great value for money,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yahooholidaysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Overall, this is a very nice place. Good location, good rooms. I stayed in a Spa Studio. I requested a high floor with a view but got level 2 overlooking an alley. So no view at all, but was very quiet.

Breakfast buffet is very good in terms of hot food, but the cold selection is limited. Pastries and fruit especially could be improved.

Newspaper only delivered to room on 1 of my 3 nights.

This is a better property than Intercontinental across the road, but Intercontinental has the views. I would probably go with the view next time but it would be a close decision.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneRangerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in adelaide for the first time for a conference. The Sebel Playford has a beautiful old world charm and fantastic service and friendliness from all staff we encountered! The food in the restaurant was delicious and the coffee in the bar area was the beat we had while in Adelaide. The room and bathroom were very comfortable sizes. Would not hesitate to recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Run_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $120 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing