We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This isn't a 5 star hotel, it's a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Keeping it short, the room is fine, but the service downstairs, the food and the location are all average (unless you like sordid casino districts, for the latter).

Also, tasteful... Ugh, don't think so ;) Versace meets Bert Newton!

However, if you are after a perfectly ok hotel you'll be fine here, but five star it ain't, and if this is the best Adelaide has to offer... I worry about Adelaide.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farms76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,155 - 2,161 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the Sebel as one of three hotels (also Hilton Adelaide, Stamford Grand Glenelg) we stayed at during five days in South Australia. This hotel was our favourite. It has a lot of character - the building is gorgeous. The rooms are not huge but they are well appointed and comfortable. The staff were the main asset though. We were greeted by the duty manager who was brilliant - check in was extremely quick. We also dealt with two other front desk staff, Katie and another girl who were both really lovely. Nick the concierge was also very helpful with our tricky parking request. We have already recommended the Sebel to family and friends. Its a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LnPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Having stayed at some lovely hotels, both within Australia and overseas, my husband and I were completely blown away by the Sebel Playford, Adelaide. Every aspect of our stay was perfect.

Check in was friendly and efficient. Our pre arranged strawberries and sparkling wine arrived within minutes of us arriving at our room. The room itself (studio spa suite) was spacious, immaculately clean and furnished very well. The bathroom was similarly sparkling clean and included wonderful amenities, a large shower and a spa bath. The hotel was almost at capacity our first night, but we could have been the only ones there.....the room was so quiet, very well insulated.

As much as we were impressed by our room, the service at the Sebel is what made our stay perfect. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, polite and made us feel most welcome and 'at home'. We ate dinner at the restaurant one night and our waiter was extremely attentive without being intrusive. The valet parking staff were efficient and even offered to dispose of some rubbish we had left in the car. We ordered room service and both the person who took the order and the person who delivered it were friendly, but professional.

The food at the Sebel is yet another plus. The restaurant menu, both dining at the restaurant and room service, is extensive with separate menus for dietary requirements eg vegetarian and gluten free. The food is tasty and the portions very reasonable for the prices. The buffet breakfast is amazing - no need for lunch! We also used the pool and spa and again were very impressed.

The Sebel truly deserves its number one rating on Trip Advisor. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel and its brilliant staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent three days at the Sebel Adelaide. I had chosen this property on Trip Advisor reviews and its location on North Terrace. I had noticed some people had claimed the service was not so good. Well, from our experience the service we received at this hotel was exceptional, from the moment we stepped onto the property until the moment we departed the service could not be faulted. We arrived early as we had to return our rental car, Ricky at the front desk found us a room for early check-in which was most appreciated. Housekeeping was also very helpful, tracking down some Camomile tea bags for me, they were at my door within 5 minutes of my request. Rooms were well laid out, extremely clean and no obvious maintenance issues. Breakfast - exceptional, service/food, it was all good. Location - tram stop just a few feet up the street, free buses nearly outside the front door, train station across the street, as well as the Casino. Had a wonderful stay, would definitely stay here again. We have travelled extensively throughout Australia and overseas and this is the very first hotel we have stayed in that we could honestly say that everything was perfect. Thank you Sebel Playford.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Andrew put me in charge of researching our hotels for our four-night stay in Adelaide last month so I booked a great deal here on Wotif, without hesitation, based on the glowing reviews.
The Sebel Playford is located on North Terrace, opposite the Casino, the train station, the art gallery and parallel to Hindley Street, where if you keep walking several blocks will get you to Rundle Mall, Adelaide's city mall.
The staff are fantastic with being nothing too much trouble. They advised me to sign up for a program (oops, forgotten its name) which gives free internet access at the Mirvac hotels which I appreciated, with work still needing to be done despite being on holiday.
We brought our bikes with us to go cycling and they helped us unload them and store them in the luggage room. The concierge told us we could cycle down to Henley Beach along the Torrens River, a scenic 14km trip that took us past swans, croaking frogs, horses, pretty homes and some sort of mini amusement park. At Henley, which was almost deserted, we had a great reviving coffee at Cibo cafe and then booked a maxi-cab to take us (me at the least!) back to the hotel.
He also told us the best stalls to visit on the Tuesday at the Adelaide Markets (they're closed on the Sunday when we arrived and the Monday) for cheeses, sweets and picnic goods and booked a tour for us at the Penfolds Magill winery which is only 8km from the CBD, where they make Grange (a must-see/taste).
We walked to Gouger Street (the CBD is only about 8 blocks wide so it's nice and compact), the major restaurant strip for dinner on the Monday night and chose a cheap-and-cheerful meal at Tiffany's Thai, near the Argentinian Gauchos that I was plumping for, and for $22 had a two-course meal with the best salt-and-pepper squid we have ever eaten.
We LOVED the hotel's massive and attractive breakfast buffet which included freshly cuts fruits from watermelon to lychees, mueslie, yoghurts, bacon, sausages, hash browns, tomatoes, eggs etc, about six types of bread, sweet Danish style pastries and freshly squeezed juices, including, one day, kiwifruit. On our last two mornings we were sitting one table away from Julie Goodwin, the first season's MasterChef winner.
We didn't use the gym but did enjoy sitting in the hot spa, next to the coolish-temperature pool which features a mural, I think, of the creation of man! Apart from one woman in the pool we never saw a soul use it, and definitely not kids jumping in, which was a relief.
If I had one quibble, it was the bathroom. For some reason there was a massive gap at the base of the door of about 7cm so bad luck if you don't like hearing your partner on the toilet! It also had no drawer to put your bathroom contents away, nor - and this is less than ideal for most women without putting too fine a point on it - no wastepaper bin with a lid on it. The bathtub also was too small for us to have a soak together but you can't get everything.
Still, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was our first trip to Adelaide and we selected the Sebel Playford as we managed to get an excellent rate for this highly recommended and rated property. The room was clean and spacious, with the added value of the organic toiletries that are specifically made for them. The location was good for getting around as the skylink shuttle from the airport drops you off right next door, the majority of the tours pick you up there also and the tram and railway station are right outside. The only grumble we had was the noise in the early hours from party goers out in the street. Our room was at the back of the hotel which faced a block of apartments with a small alleyway below, which could have resulted in the sound reverberating more. Although three sides of the hotel have alleyways and the other side faces the road, so I am not sure which would be the best. Christophe on concierge was very helpful and organized all of our tours for us. We did not eat at the hotel as there were more reasonable offerings close by.

Room Tip: Assume that the higher floors will be quieter away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AucklandStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The rooms where clean, spacious and good but the poor communication and management let them down. Too many errors in payment, we got stuffed around and were seemed to be looked down upon because we came from the country!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasBarolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $117 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing