We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the end of Aug for 3 nights for holiday. All members of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and well maintained.
Location is in the heart of CBD, 5 to 10 minute walking distance to everything (tram, shop, free bus ...). Overall a great experience and I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    598
    170
    40
    28
See reviews for
250
1,025
115
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great service, THE best breakfast in Adelaide...But room's that are now a little dated....Oh and my pet hate in a hotel: no good pay TV channels!...But on the flip side: THE BEST room service (try the club sandwich: SO big that they have to serve it on those long bamboo skewers: YUM! Oh and the stake sandwich will not let you down either!) The location is fine & staff so very happy & friendly: it's a hotel with that good "old world charm".

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LittleAnnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a nice plce to stay. We were here 3 nights in a "deluxe" room. Plenty of space and nice features. The hotel staff is gracious and friendly. The bar has good lunch food and excellent draft beer. We didn't try the restaurant. They aspire to being a 5 star and come close, but are not quite there yet. Still, it's a perfectly lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Beautiful old hotel with modern room features.
Concierge, Marco was helpful from my first contact with him a few weeks before we arrived. Marco recommended tours and arranged airport transport which ran smoothly and professionally.
Check-in was quick and a room upgrade (thanks to Marco knowing it was our wedding anniversary I suspect) was offered to a spa suite. The suite was lovely, unfortunately the view was of a brick wall but this didn’t spoil our stay as there was enough space in the suite to sit and enjoy a glass of wine without a balcony and view. We could still hear shouting at 3am from outside on the street which kept us awake so maybe take ear plugs to get a good rest.
The waterfall shower in the bathroom was wonderful, yet also had a water-saving head for the conscientious.
Although we didn’t get chance to use the pool and gym we viewed the amenities and they were extremely well equipped.
Breakfast was included in our package and the choice was superb. 6 different freshly squeezed juices, fruit, cereals, Burcher, pancakes, cakes, muffins, slices, crumbles, salmon cheese, deli meats, anti-pasto, chocolate fountain and of course cooked breakfast with eggs cooked anyway to order.
Room service was quick and good. The restaurant was booked out every night and very good quality. Con our waiter was great he didn’t stop moving and we didn’t have to wait for anything. He also was a great source of advice when spoilt for choice on a couple of the courses.
The location was superb on North Terrace. Trams and trains outside the door, museums, galleries and the casino just across the road and round the corner from the shops in Rundle Mall.
The only thing if we were being really picky was that the gift which was included in our package wasn’t in the room when we arrived, and there were also dirty plates outside our door. When I later informed Reception I was told that it had been “marked as left by the Maid’ and it actually made me feel a little uncomfortable as if he was insinuating that I was trying to get an extra one. He did send somebody up a few minutes later with the gift.
We would stay here again if we were to visit Adelaide again.

Room Tip: If celevrating a special occasion let the Reception know this. If you like a view ask for a room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McrtoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

recently I stayed at the Adelaide Sebel Playford and would like to share with other travellers what a gem this hotel is. It ticks all the boxes, well-appointed rooms, great location (walking distance to everything the cbd has to offer), a great bistro for croissants and coffee which also doubles up as one of Adelaide's best cocktail bars. but most noteworthy is the excellent service by the staff, especially the front desk ladies Alyssa and Colette. All staff members made my stay extra-special. i will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpassionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Location is handy, close to railway station and tram/bus routes. Lots of good restaurants and pubs close by. Room was clean and well appointed but walls are a bit thin. Could hear next doors alarm clock going off. Shower/Bath combo is too tight to move around in. Eatery is a bit tired and needs freshening up a bit. Thanks for the free morning beverage of choice and also a nice surprise when my parking was complimentary. Customer service is excellent, very friendly. Overall a good experience, but the Hilton still sets the standard in Adelaide for me. I will try the Playford again soon...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zapruder1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is across the road from the Casino and Railway Station. Newly renovated the rooms were quiet and furnished nicely, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large, the only down side is that you had to shower standing in the bath other than this the room was very comfy and spacious.
This hotel has an excellent gym and indoor heated swimming pool. the in-house restuarant food was of a very high standard along with the friendly service..
The staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay a memorable one. We would stay at this hotel because of location in the heart of the city and the wonderful staff/service and very clean comfortable & quiet rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing