We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really handy location for a city stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansions on Pulteney
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“really handy location for a city stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wanted a reasonable priced city apartment so Quest Mansion apt 10 fitted that requirement. It was within easy walking distance to the Royal Adelaide Hospital, the Festival Theatre, Adelaide Zoo, Rundle Mall shopping and Rundle street restaurantsThe apt had the usual fridge, stove microwave, toaster etc so suitable for self catering. The kitchen, dining, tv area was open plan with an aircond but had a fairly dark colour scheme and dark furniture so looked a bit old and dreary. Bedroom had an overhead fan and was large with a queen bed plus a single with heaps of cupboard space. Bathroom clean with toiletries and hairdryer supplied.The balcony however was an eyesore covered in bird poo so obviously not part of the cleaners job description.
There isn't any onsite parking but there is a car park accross the road for $16 per day,it can be a bit tricky negotiating accross the traffic lanes to get there.

Room Tip: requested a quiet room and was allocated a rear room away from the road noise this would have been i...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
28
43
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Business traveller. I'm not fussy when staying for one night but when your company is paying $274 per night you expect a quality place. Place is clean but very run down. Bed side tables were tiny and unstable - one of the lamps had to be supported by the wall to remain upright. No curtains, just drapes exposing your appartment to general public if left undrawn. I can put up with that but when the hot water runs out while I'm having a shower, this is totally unacceptable for the price paid (ran out in 5 mins). When I mention this to staff on checkout, the lady asked me 'when did it run out?'. I said it was only 5mins and made it clear that this is unacceptable for the price I'm paying. Her response was 'sorry sir'. It was apparent that this must happen all the time. In addition there was another staff member (woman) who kept looking at me as if I had no right to complain but she said nothing. They were happy to take my money but no compensation was offered. I would never stay there again! I normally stay at the Sebel Playford but it was fully booked and my travel agent booked the Quest instead (I pay much less for the Sebel and it is a 5 star hotel).

Room Tip: No TV in Bedroom. Reception closes at 10.00pm - swipe access after hours. Can't comment on oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The size of my studio apartment was amazing - I have lived in much smaller places. The location was very central, especially to the University of Adelaide. My room was at the back so was quiet, although it had a strange little balcony that was enclosed in the roof over the food court downstairs. Dim lighting, outdated bathroom, bad internet connection (that you had to pay for). The kitchen was large and fairly well-equipped so you could cook if you wanted to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VS_Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Mansions is as it says an old mansion so it's a lucky dip on the size shape and quality of your room. First the positives the location is very handy to shops and restaurants it's not as good as the Gouger Street and Market properties but it's still good. The separate lounge and kitchen is very nice but it's all a bit old and dated and covered in 1 inch of paint to cover up the age for christs sake couldn't open the kitchen window and I doubt any one could for the last ten coats of paint. The balcony rooms are good but it's all too old and unlike modern places with dishwashers and washing machines and dryers in the apartment at the Mansions you have to lug your washing up to the roof for the pay machines.

The normal room rates are highway robbery given the lack of amenities compared to other places, however if you can get a special at about $110 per night it's worth it then. If your paying above $130 you didn't look very hard at other better fitted out places.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We live in the Barossa and needed to stay in the city for a work function. Great location, close to the mall. Yes the nightclub is below it, but we were on the second floor and couldn't hear a thing! The room was tidy and spacious (we had an executive suite) and for $145.00 for the night you couldn't get much better around Adelaide.

The bed was comfy, the couch was cosy, and the kettle worked!

Great stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubsy_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is good for the price but is very basic and outdated. We have stayed here a couple of times and it is always clean and comfortable. The rooms are large have a good kitchen provided. Our bathroom on this stay was a bit smelly and in poor condition. Location is great. Would stay again if the price is right but don't book if you are wanting something new or flash.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimboAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was perfectly happy with this place until the Saturday night when the fire alarm went off at midnight. Apparently due to something caused on a regular basis by the Hotel below. By the time we exited the building, the fire engine was pulling up and a huge crowd of suspicious drunken young men emerged from the hotel below !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marigold g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#30 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansions on Pulteney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansions on Pulteney

Property: Mansions on Pulteney
Address: 21 Pulteney St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quest Mansions Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansions on Pulteney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansions on Pulteney provides 3.5 star serviced apartments in the heart of Adelaide city. Located at 21 Pulteney Street between Rundle Mall & North Terrace..Perfectly located in the heart of Adelaide’s; shopping; restaurant; cultural; and university, precincts. MP provides the best possible access to these venues for any visitor to Adelaide. Other attractions within easy walking distance include; the River Torrens; the Adelaide Zoo; the Royal Botanic Gardens; the Festival Theatre; the Convention Centre; and of course the famous Adelaide Oval. The ideal location for your stay in Adelaide – whether you are from overseas; interstate; or just ‘out-of-town’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansions on Pulteney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Mansions Apartments Adelaide
Quest Mansions Apartments Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing