We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My daughter and I stayed for 4 nights from 20th May, in separate rooms. We arrived about midday and were soon allocated our rooms, thanks to very helpful reception staff.

Both rooms have 2 double beds in them, good lighting, a nice sized bathroom, flat screen TV, fridge, kettle, coffee & tea etc. internet access, hairdryer etc.

The room had sufficient drawer space to put clothes away in, plus a good sized wardrobe. Unfortunately the rooms do not have an in-room safe, but safe deposit facilities are available at reception. Rooms were clean, and serviced daily.

The hotel does have a computer in reception for guest use, and ask you not to use it for more than 30 mins at a time, which I found to be perfectly fair.

The buffet breakfast (not included in rate I paid), were fine. I didn't bother with cooked breakfast option, but just settled for continental.

What did surprise me that the hotel bar was closed by about 10.30pm, this might be because the hotel was not that full, and it is winter.

I was aware when I booked that Hindley Street is where everybody hangs out at weekends, but even my 21 year old daughter didn't really enjoy it around here. One other thing we found most restaurants were closed by about 9pm, making getting dinner much later near impossible, with the exception of the Pancake House which is open 24/7. Did enjoy the casino though - less than 5 mins. from hotel. Also Rundle Mall is just a short walk away for shops etc.

Although the hotel does not have a self-service laundry, guests were welcome to use the facilities at their sister hotel in Currie Street, about 6 minute walk away.

We both thought the beds to be very comfortable and enjoyed good nights sleeps.

Overall we found the reception staff and concierge, very helpful, courteous and friendly when we asked anything.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,109 - 2,115 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed here for family trip in April 2010. The hotel is on a busy street surrounded by bars and nightclubs. However, our room was quiet despite the proximity. The hotel's furnishings and carpet are quite dated and need serious updating. Stayed in King Suite room. It has a small kitchenette, but they don't supply any pots and pans, so it is really only helpful for heating up items in the microwave. There is no free internet at the hotel - they charge $5 AUD for half an hour of wi-fi in the lounge and the internet connection is $28 AUD per day in the room (wired). This is despite the fact that in many areas in Adelaide, there is free wi-fi supplied by the city of Adelaide.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadian_traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Everything about this hotel was fantastic from the moment we arrived nothing was a problem genuinely nice and welcoming staff got a deal 4 nights for the price of 3. Looked at a lot of hotels before chossing this one and so pleased I did - will be back again for sure

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I attended a conference and stayed at the hotel. The ability of the hotel to get special service requests passed from Reception, to Chef, to Service staff and then to the Delegate / Guest, with such precise detail, was absolutely beyond expectation. I was constantly more and more impressed, by the care and accuracy with which each staff member, in the chain, played a role in being able to deliver on 12/12 SEPARATE OCCASSIONS over 3 days. I cannot begin to tell you how amazing this was to be the guest experiencing it!! I have a hotel background and so thoroughly appreciate just how much organising (at times) it can take to reach, and maybe exceed, guest expectation. The Hotel staff, across all departments knew of special requests and delivered consistently, and with care and empathy and genuine happiness - EVERY TIME! (I wish I could employ them all for me.) This hotel has got it right!! Their system of communication, their staff selection for each department is definitely something they can all be very proud of and so can their Management team.
I urge you to be the next guest / delegate to be delighted to receive this experience!!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The hotel itself was great, no complaints. Good size room, clean comfy beds. Staff very helpful. Free internet which was useful. Breakfast very good, but beware you are in the red light district surrounded by grotty bar, pubs, clubs and lap dancing bars. If I had realised this I would not have book this hotel. Swimming pool could do with revamping although clean as such it was very dilapidated and only two sunloungers which were very dirty.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthportRaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCMarketing, Group Marketing Manager on behalf of General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2010

We were delighted to hear that the hotel was great, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable and that our staff were very helpful. We were also pleased that you enjoyed breakfast as this is echoed by a large number of our guests.

You will be pleased to know that we are in the planning stages of a swimming pool ‘make-over’ due to be completed by the end of the year.

In regards to our location, Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley is located amongst some of the best cafes, restaurants, theatres and art precincts in Australia; just minutes from the vibrant Rundle Mall and nearby Parklands. Every city has an entertainment district; the night-life in Hindley Street is vibrant, exciting and colourful, reflecting a positive buzz of festivity.

Kind regards
Mr Kym Fell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Great location, friendly staff, oldish hotel but spacious and well appointed rooms - although the bathrooms could be upgraded and understand that rooms are going to be renovated/refurbished soon from management they have mock up rooms now- currently rooms do not have a safe box which was very inconvenient having to go down to the lobby each time and wait for a free staff to assist to open the box etc but staff are generally helpful and kind in this hotel. When i first arrived at the hotel i was carrying my own bags in and a porter noticed me and quickly came running up and offered help. The bags was later delivered to my room by the hotel's EAM -Mr Garrick Loft - very surprised that he was doing it but then again it shows the level of service at this hotel - anyone can help with the bags even the hotel's EAM - great first impression and he kindly offered to show me the mock up rooms they will have in future after the renovation-which i appreciated as well - very personalised and forward thinking to have me back as a repeat guest. Breakfast at the restaurant was a pleasure - never too crowded - ample amount of food and friendly staff. This hotel was the opposite of what i had to endure at the Breakfree on Hindley hotel where i spent a hellish first night in - i had to move out and coming to this hotel was like heaven a breath of fresh air after the Breakfree experience. I loved the location as well - convenience stores all next door and shops restaurants and 5-10 mins walk to rundle mall. Loved this hotel despite it being a bit dated but there's a certain charm to it and the service and care left a positive impression and i will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night in Hindley Street on the 7 th floor.Room was pretty good with large window overlooking Adelaide.Noise was minimal at night though nightclubs are nearby.Very good facilities inside the room.Only thing i didnt like was shower/bath combo in the bathroom & no exhaust fan as well.Apart from this a very good hotel in the heart of the city.Staff were very helpful & courteous.Parking is also charged at $12 a night as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortAugustaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $83 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing