We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, location not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have no issues with Hotel Grand Chancellor except where it is located as mentioned by many of the other reviewers. For some its location in Hindley st near adult clubs and bars is perfect, for others maybe not so much. I didnt have any noise issues but entering and exiting late at night can be a bit scary for families and females when the streets are full of late night club patrons etc. The plus side is it is still very central to other Adelaide attractions and if you get a good price go for it. The Gym is not really worth the effort, just a tiny room with a broken treadmill (when I stayed) and a few pieces of equipment any more than three people in there and it's a crowd. Its a quality hotel overall. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwtiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear iwtiam

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley is certainly positioned in the cultural hub of the city and within walking distance to many local attractions and a diverse range of restaurants and bars. I am pleased to advise that the treadmill is back up and running!

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,820 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our stay in Adelaide was a short one, but it was a comfortable one, thanks in no small part to the most amazing beds on our two week road trip through the Outback. After many long, tiring days, they were greatly appreciated, and we slept wonderfully!

The location was perfect - close to shops, bars, and restaurants - and the rooms were lovely, spacious, and clean.

I have no great need to return to Adelaide, but if we did we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Grand Chancellor again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandPMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear PandCMcD

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have stayed here before the hotel changed its name, again. We needed a place to stay near to Government House and with car parking on site. The Grand Chancellor fitted both of these options and is certainly central to the shopping district, the Adelaide Mall, which by the way is currently under renovations and chaotic. The hotel pool looked inviting but we left our cossies home. We also had a very nice, albeit a little expensive, meal at the Bistro sixty5. Our room was of quite generous proportions and we had a double bed each, very comfy mostly quiet. Being a weekend there was some noise coming up from the street which bothered my wife somewhat. The only minor complaint was the odd long black hair found on the bed and in the bathroom. It certainly wasn't my wife's or mine as we both have short and grey hair. Maybe the room staff could tie their hair back or wear a net. We would not hesitate to stay again if the location dictated. Car parking at $18 a day, an extra $54 on the bill, was little steep but worth it for the convenience.

Room Tip: Up high for the view and toward the rear for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cedunanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear cedunanomad

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

I am pleased to advise that we are about to commence installation of double glazing to a number of guest rooms which should significantly reduce the impact of external noise on our guests. I would also like to apologise for the hair found in your room, I will ensure to pass your feedback onto our Housekeeping Manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future; hopefully you don’t forget your swimming cossies!

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is located right in the heart of Adelaide and within of Rundle Mall, Skycity Casino, restaurants and China Town. We have stayed here before and the only negative we do have is that, it's proximity to the local live band venues means that the noise can be a distraction. We support live music and found that all is fairly quiet by midnight on both Friday and Saturday nights. The staff are friendly, approachable and helpful and the rooms are well sized and above average for a hotel. One of Adelaides drawbacks is that it seems to shut up shop from 5 pm onwards and, by 10 pm there doesn't appear to be much open!!

Room Tip: The higher up the floor and a room on the Rundle Street mall side is a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Ian J

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services; I will ensure to share your feedback with my team. I am pleased to advise that we are about to commence installation of double glazing to number of guest rooms which will significantly reduce the impact of external noise on our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We were lucky enough to be given an upgrade to a beautiful suite, but the receptionist Kate made all the difference to our experience. She is so nice, fun and helpful and we just want to mention this as a way of thanks

Well done Kate from the not so old (?) Irish couple in 1104

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brisbanelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Brisbanelyn

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when guests have enjoyed their stay by commending our staff and hotel services. We are very proud of our team at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley and their commitment to providing a high level of personable service. I will ensure to share your feedback with Kate; I am sure she will feel humbled.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Booked for a night before The Ghan train largely on the basis of a map, not having been to Adelaide before. The room was decent and if that's what you want, the Hindley will not disappoint. However, I always look for internet access, and noted this featured on Booking.com. What they don't tell you is that this is 100MB at 256kbps, for two devices. That was enough for two podcasts, and it was used up in ten minutes I did feel cheated - this is tacky and really out of date in 2014. If internet access is important, factor in that you will need to pay for it, and I greatly dislike that the hotel made this a selling point when in fact it offers a crippled version. (Adelaide does have a free network though so you may not need it.) It's not just internet access - a hotel prepared to play fast and loose with marketing isn't one I'd expect to help in case of a travel emergency. In addition, it turns out Hindley is where Adelaide's nightclubs and many strip bars are. There was noise in my room though I wasn't bothered by it but if you are a light sleeper you may be as I could hear nightclub noise and was on a high floor. All told, it was fine and I have nothing in Adelaide to compare it with, but if I go again I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear alexgjohnson

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

I apologise for the confusion regarding wireless internet access; I will ensure to review the website and update accordingly.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and hope that you reconsider staying at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley when you next travel to Adelaide.

Yours sincerely
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A great central location, one block from Rundle Mall and three blocks from the Art Gallery of South Australia. Dining and shopping all around. Good bathroom, quiet rooms, refrigerator, good hotel bar (but oddly it closes at 10 PM).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear GreggSt_Louis

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative and It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $86 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing