We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good swimming and good hote,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The rooms are fantatic, close to cbd shopping only ten walk to get there. Close to the tram to the beach. The pool is fantastic. Good food. Tv good. Very nice people. A very good lounge area and front desk. There is a shop next door for snack stuff. Good air cond.

This is a 5 stair hotel.


Christine Merrall

Room Tip: A corner room is the best. I can see the pool from my room. Its medium large. The room 901 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cam1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

While the hotel seems a little dated in certain aspects, its decor doesn't lessen your experience, because it doesn't feel like a run down hotel and somehow still works, providing you with what you would expect in a four star hotel... A comfortable bed, a clean room and good service.

We selected the hotel based on its proximity to Adelaide Oval, which is only a nice 5-10 minute stroll away. It is also just a stones throw from Rundle Mall, Botanic Gardens, Zoo and beautiful architecture of North Terrace. So it is definitely a good location to get around Adelaide, Hindley St perhaps isn't family friendly if you plan on returning after dark however. Getting to the hotel from the airport is easy too, the J1 bus from the airport for $5 will drop you on Currie St which is a 1 minute walk to the hotel.

The room was good and very large, also for a twin room we received two queen size beds which was very nice change from the two singles most hotels provide. The beds were very comfortable, getting to sleep wasn't an issue and we didn't notice too much noise. A couple of things could improve the rooms however, firstly the lack of power points near beds made charging phones a pain and the water pressure in the shower could do with a lot of work.

The staff were always friendly and accommodated our request to check in early due to our flight arriving in the morning, which is always a nice touch. The concierge rarely seemed to be available though, that is one thing I thought was a little odd, it isn't a good look having the desk always "closed".

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ecllyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed for a week in December 2013.
Room & Bathroom were pleasant and we had everything we needed, although didn't eat at the hotel. The bar was nice with two Coopers ales on tap.

The location of the hotel is excellent, within easy walking distance of everything in the CBD and the Adelaide Oval, while major bus and tram stops are just a couple of minutes away.

Hindley Street itself is pretty lively, which is a good thing as far as I'm concerned, with pubs & bars open until late and plenty of noise, but this didn't effect our sleep on the 10th floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Oxnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is often a lot cheaper than some of its comparable hotels in Adelaide, but the rooms are incredibly tired, its location on Hindley Street is very loud and walking in and out of the hotel you often run into many young partygoers and drunk people. Sometimes it doesn't feel safe.

The rooms are incredibly tired, and even the executive rooms on the top three floors could have been renovated better.

Breakfast is a real let down and feels like it is a buffet of highly processed food.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank PCS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A little dated, dark and located in the "older" part of Adelaide. A short walk in to cleaner more family friendly parts of City.
Rooms large & comfortable as stated a bit dated
Staff seemed allusive at times.
Pool, gym area very nice
Bar area never seemed to be open much. Can't comment on food as did not sample it but others reported it was decent.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Room and bathroom were very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room price was OK, not amazing but not overly expensive either. Location was pretty good. Overall very good experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

booked this hotel as part of the Barmy Army package for the Ashes, nice hotel well positioned central for most things, nice and clean we originally upgraded to a superior room, however upon booking in we were upgraded to a suite, might I say a very large suite,the breakfast was very good and plenty of choice, overall nice and clean with very helpful and polite staff, would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if staying in Adelaide

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crewephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $85 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing