We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great hotel. Opposite Mcdonalds, KFC and subway and 2 mins walk from Rundle Mall. Friendly staff. Great room service. Pool is lovely and warm. Buffet breakfast daily was good food but you get bored of same food over 6 days and would like to see something new everyday. Room was perfect on 5 th floor. It's old room but satisfactory enough. Have to pay for wifi so and cable tv and no teletext function on tv so not happy about that. Would stay again in future anyway.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Mazzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Mazzie84

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to taking advantage of some of our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is well positioned in Hindley Street within walking distance of all the CBD attractions. Although most of the rooms do not have a great view ,,you shouldn't be in the room for a long as there is too much to do. The bar and restaurant are great value, as well as room service. Car parking is a breeze Once you have got it sorted.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very quiet and views are not a requirement for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maatte47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear maatte47

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Check in on the 23rd for the Christmas Period...
When researching the hotel, I need the hotel was centrally located and knew it was on noisy night club area of Adelaide.
The Hotel is located a block away from the mail and close to lane which is full of cafes and nice bars. The hotel is on a busy street with a police station across the road with night clubs and strip clubs close by....
Check in was okay...
Disappointed were where not advised that the restaurant was closed/limited over the Christmas period . Breakfast yes, Dinner was room service only... there was limited places open on Christmas day and Christmas eve.
We ended up staying here twice over the Christmas Period... First room was on the pool side which was better than the second room, which was at the back.
It was a great location for us...

Room Tip: The higher rooms are better and poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Otagopete

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a perfect location to spend shopping in the city. The hotel is close to ammenities and public transport.

The room was functional and contained everything required for a short stay.

The pool was excellent and staff were extremely helpful and polite. Great place, location and staff, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroundabout66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear aroundabout66

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas for 4 nights.When I first went to book I emailed the hotel with a couple of questions and waited 2 days with no reply so I emailed again and once again had no reply so eventually I rang and wanted to know why I had no reply to my 2 emails and was told they had gone into their junk mail !!!!! Upon arrival our check in was quite friendly and efficient. We were put on the 7th floor. Unlike the last reviews they must have put us in an older room.The bed queen bed was quite hard and my husband ended up with a sore back from it It certainly wasn't comfortable. The room was you run of the mill hotel room nothing to rave about. Bathroom was small with shower over bath. We overlooked Hindley St but the noise didn't worry us.Went for a walk Xmas day and alighting from lift you would have thought we would have been greeted by a "Merry Christmas" from reception but was ignored both going out and coming back.We left the car in the car park (for a fee) and basically walked everywhere We chose this hotel for the location and it didn't disappoint What did was the unfriendly reception after our initial checkin and the quality of the room Would we stay again ? Not sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Finn50

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I have taken note of your comments and would like to apologise for the service you received from reception, this is not the level of service we are known for and I will be following this up with my team.

Regarding your room the hotel completed a refurbishment of floors 8 to 12 mid 2012 and are now in the planning process of refurbishing floors 6 and 7.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Jarrad Crettenden
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked this hotel as a room, free parking, breakfast and a free bottle of wine deal. Room was nice - reasonable size and clean.
My husband and I decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. After a quick look at the wine list we ordered a bottle of the same wine as the free one in our room (worth $30) for the simple reason it was the 'house wine'. My understanding is that they are usually quite a reasonable drop and we are by no means any kind of 'wine snobs'.
Wine was poured in both glasses by the waitress without offering a taste (we hadn't opened the one in the room). After tasting it we asked to change it to something else because it was sour and vinegary, undrinkable. We were told it was not possible. On top of this our main meals (cost around $30 each) were so small that we had to go to MacDonalds across the road afterwards.
We expressed our disappointment at the restaurant as well as at the front desk the next morning but all we got was "Oh, really?". My husband filled out a feedback form in the room with contact details and I also wrote to the hotel's customer service email address. We never got any response.
Although the room was nice, here is no chance I will ever stay in this hotel again. Lack of customer service left a bad taste.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently stayed one night at the Grand Chancellor on Hindley with a coupon from Our Deal. Which was great value as it included car parking and full buffet breakfast. The executive room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a king size bed two comfy chairs with a foot stool and another chair. The bathroom was very spacious and clean as well with a shower in the bath. Both rooms were extremely clean as they have recently been updated. We have stayed here before in a deluxe suite and I was worried about the size of the room but was pleasantly surprised at the size of it. The full buffet breakfast was OK and adequate. We thought the bacon could have been cooked a bit more and the fruit juice was warm. But the mushrooms were very tasty. Good selection of fruit, yoghurt and different types of breads for toast.
The hotel is in a perfect spot as it is so close to shopping, eating and sightseeing. Hindley Street wasn't a problem for us walking around.
When we booked the room we asked for a quiet room on a higher level and facing Currie Street. We also requested that when checking in and said how we wanted a quiet room away from Hindley Street and the lady at check in said that was OK. We had room 1203, when we enetered it and looked out the window it was facing Hindley Street!!! If it wasn't for the fact we had to drop our luggage and go and meet appointments we would have said something. We should have because 2am was the end of sleeping. The room is on the top floor but directly across the road is a nightclub. By 5am I'd had enough and complained to the guy at reception who was very apologitic but there wasn't a great deal he could do. If you want a quiet room insist that it be facing Currie Street. It really put a dampener on what would have been a great weekend away.
Would we stay there again? I do not know. I have stayed there on and off over the years going back to when it was the Hindley Parkroyal and that was the first time I have had a problem. It is a shame as we think the rooms are really good, but the service is not of a high standard as it was.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing Currie Street for a quiet room. Room 1203 is opposite a nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.
I am disappointed to hear the service was not up to our usual high standard. I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the hotel. I will ensure that the issues outlined in your review will be addressed accordingly
I hope that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the service we are renowned for.

Simon de Jong

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $83 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing