We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice staff - always friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the bed huge and very comfy. The bathroom was very clean, with decent bench space - but don't leave disposable razors out on the bath edge, as mine was thrown out! We were on the ninth floor, so may have been one of the refurbished rooms, so everything was clean and well maintained.

We ordered room service one night: the pizza was quite good with a great crunchy crust and decent chunks of chicken, and the wagyu beef burger deemed quite good from my meat-fussy partner. It turned up relatively quickly, and was a good temperature with pleasant service. Would definitely recommend if you feel like spending the night in.

Our view was just of city roof tops, but we were facing away from the street fronts so we had no noise what so ever. The location was perfect for us, enabling us to easily walk to the Rundle Mall / tram stop, and we even walked to the Zoo and Botanic Gardens. North Terrace is only one parallel street away, where a number of other cultural/historical attractions are.

If strip clubs, adult stores and sheesha cafés and a few seedy people worry you, then book elsewhere or stay in for dinner. This will be slightly cheaper then the North Terrace hotels, and location is just as good. We found it good value for money and were quite happy with the room standard and it proved to be the perfect location for us.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank phoenix555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.
It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services. It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,805 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a coupon from OurDeal. The room was very nice (recently updated) and view was sensational. However our stay was ruined by the staff. Never before have I had someone knock on the door at 10:30am to come and inspect the mini bar - our checkout was at midday and I consider this a huge invasion of privacy. To top that off we got a phone call at 11:30am from someone that could hardly speak English asking when we were leaving - again our check out wasn't due until midday!!! The breakfast needs improving - the coffee was too strong and I believe the scrambled eggs were powdered (not fresh). The reception staff never created us as we walked in and out of the hotel. The only staff member that was friendly was the young male concierge out the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive room - these have been updated recently.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_in_Radelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Nicola W

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms, and yes the views are sensational. However I am disappointed to hear the service was not up to our usual high standard. I will ensure that all the issues outlined in your review will be addressed accordingly.

I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the hotel and hope that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the service we are renowned for.

Should you wish to discuss this further please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Simon de Jong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel again for a three day period. The central location, short walk to restaurants and transport and the excellent service (especially breakfast) makes us come back again and again. With the bigger family it's getting more difficult and as other reviewers have noted, Hindley St has its moments, however we'll keep using this hotel when we can.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanjungBaraDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear TanjungBaraDiver

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on the staff and our facilities.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for a week, with a booking as part of a week long festival. We were attending a fairly upmarket event. Our room was very small - so small we had nowhere to fit 2 suitcases and a gear bag. The weather was hot and the air conditioning was inefficient. It took four days to cool the room to 23 degrees. The housemaid removed our electricity card so we then had to start the cooling process again ('policy'!!) On our 5th day the airconditioning stopped = 'oh we had trouble with that room last week!!' We were moved next door. The room was huge. We couldn't believe it. I don't understand why they would put someone staying a week in such a small room - much better suited to a solo traveller staying for a couple of days. The hotel had no laundry facilities, but we were told we could used the laundry in the nearby Grand Chancellor. Unfortunately it had 1 washing machine - not a great help with large groups of cricketers needing to use it. We had also asked the staff to remove the contents of the fridge and we reported a bedside light not operating. Neither requests were acted upon. This hotel has the potential to be great but it certainly did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear ian h

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I have taken note of your comments and will address these issues with my team.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

All ok, but we feel that the Hotel needs updating, however the proximity to the mall is great, and some updating may be worthwhile and would make the rooms more acceptable. The restaurant was ok, and the specials were great as this helps to address costs.

Room Tip: Inspect bfore you go in. Noise may be of concern.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear David C

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the rooms and would like to advise a refurbishment of our upper level rooms was completed in June this year. We are now in the process of planning further renovations of additional rooms which we envisage will begin mid 2013.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bought this on one of those deals, room, breakfast, car parking and a bottle of wine each night.

Check in was great room was even ready nice and early at 10 am bonus.

Breakfast was very average, bacon is cooked in bulk in the oven I think, mostly under done. Mushrooms were dry and I think just heated in the oven.

Next day trying to get into car park we came across a note to say it was full, and needed to park next door.

Then we went upstairs and our key didnt work, in fact every day we had to get our keys re set as they did not work.

Stayed 3 nights in total, it was an average 3.5 star experience def not 4.5 star.

Also its in a night club district so very noisy.

The staff were great though, no complaints there its just what they have to work with.

OH and take your own pillow if you go they are all lumpy. Wine was a poor example of SA wine, we didnt even bring it home to cook with.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear JenniferD66

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I have taken note of your comments regarding breakfast and will address this issue with our Executive Chef.

Again , thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the hotel during the first part of my Australia trip (this is my fourth visit of Australia from Colorado)....I like it some much that I booked another day before my return home, This hotel is WORTH the money, excellent location, restaurant is over priced.

I recomment this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Al F

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning to the hotel before you leave for home.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards



Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $98 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing