We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Quest on King William(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$185
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Chancellor on Currie(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$95
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks Horizons(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$158
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$107
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$60
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Adelaide Inn(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$72
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra on Frome(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    BreakFree Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
    $75
    $73
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Comfort Inn Regal Park(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
    $88
    $85
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (2,331)
    Filter reviews
    2,331 results
    Traveler rating
    786
    1,018
    357
    111
    59
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    786
    1,018
    357
    111
    59
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshindley streetgreat locationrundle mallcentral locationcar parkexecutive roomsaturday nightwould stay againbuffet breakfastthe heart of the citypleasant stayper daypublic transportnoisecasinonightlifeconference
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,088 - 2,093 of 2,331 reviews
    Reviewed November 4, 2012

    As a few reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is situated in the heart of Hindley Street. Some have referred to the area as a bit seedy which is a bit misleading. It's the nightclub district so on Friday/Saturday nights the area is loud and yes, there are many jolly revellers out on the streets. However, I was never overly concerned taking my entire family out for dinners etc. during our stay. We had a suite for facilities to use for cooking and heating bottles for bubs. Unfortunately, the suite fridge was the same size as the mini-bar in other rooms and there were now bowls or cutting knives. We managed to make it work! Gym, pool and spa are all excellent facilities and the staff were very accommodating. Good tip is that you can use the sister Grand Chancellor around the corner's laundry facilities for a few dollar coins if you want to do a clothes wash during your stay. Friday night bar special of $9.90 pint and burger was great and the staff at the bar were always very friendly. Only other complaint is that it would be nice to update the in-room television systems to include all of the currently available freeview channels. Missed having ABC kids for little one :).

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank BobBillBell
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

    Dear BobBillBell

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when one of our guest have enjoyed their stay by commenting on our staff and the facilities.

    I have taken note of your comment regarding the TV stations and would like to advise we are currently coming to the end of our current contract and therefore we will be able to upgrade to the new channels.

    Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

    Kind regards


    Simon de Jong
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 24, 2012

    Hotel Grand Chancellor Hindley is located in a great area in downtown Adelaide. plenty of eateries and things to do that are in walking distance. though Hindley can be dodgy sometimes..

    staff was great and very helpful. check in was short and simple. the room was quite large with a separate bedroom. large flat panel in the living area and a small TV within the room. found the room to be somewhat dated, but i think that's the general feel of the hotel.

    stayed here for business and was delighted to come back at the end of the day.

    • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank themattkim
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

    Dear themattkim

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

    Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

    Kind regards


    Simon de Jong
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 23, 2012

    Is not too bad a Hotel situated in a great location. Reception staff not too bad but need to realise that a smile would really go down well as they are "hospitality " staff. Bar is good and girl behind bar ready for a good laugh and joke. Breakfast buffet is not too bad. Dont expect to get similar room if coming back on return journey as I ended up getting totally different style of room second time for same amount of money. Still get disgusted when cleaners dont clean hair from shower drain.

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RobR0
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

    Dear RobR0

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I have taken note of your comments regarding our Reception staff and Housekeeping and will follow this up with their respective Managers.

    Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

    Kind regards



    Simon de Jong
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 18, 2012

    I stayed at Grand Chancellor on Hindley for an overnight stay last month for work. This is a good solid hotel and in a good location, central and easily accessible to Adelaide's main attractions.
    The hotel has a large welcoming foyer/reception area and rooms are large and have recently been refurbished with a clean, modern finish.
    Had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was delicious. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. Good conference space and a nice outdoor pool area. Plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from if you want to eat out, and a great massage place a few doors up if you need to unwind after a busy day.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank lynWollongong
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

    Dear lynWollongong

    Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. It is always a pleasure to read when one of our guests have enjoyed their stay by commenting on our staff and facilities.

    Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

    Kind regards


    Simon de Jong
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 11, 2012

    My husband and I stayed here for one night in October.
    Hotel is in a great location, lots of restaurants and clubs nearby. As written in previous posts, there are quiet a few Adult clubs near this hotel which is a little disconcerting, especially when you are walking back late at night. There is also a taxi rank right outside the front door, so no need to call or book cabs.
    Rooms are a little tired and are probably due for refurbishment, but everything was clean. Bed was very comfortable.
    Check in and check out was quick and easy.
    Overrall, this hotel is a solid mid range hotel in a convienient location.

    • Stayed: November 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Fletchtay
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

    Dear Fletchtay

    Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I have taken note of your comments regarding our rooms and I am happy to advise we have so far completed a 50% refurbishment of our hotel rooms and are looking to complete the remainder ofour rooms in the early part of 2013.

    Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

    Kind regards


    Simon de Jong
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews