We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average but below very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Above average but below very good”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at Chancellor on Hindley, Adelaide Dec 2010 and have been prompted to post this review. On the plus side, location great for Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall and nightlife. Rooms adequate and clean and decent size with 2 large comfy beds. Breakfast better than ok. Some nice restaurants on side street round the corner from the hotel.

On the negative side, not a great area to take kids as tacky. The hotel is in parts a little tird and gloomy and the bathroom needed a facelift. When my wife arrived I moved to the Rendezvous - see my review....

Room Tip: Back of hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear timbo1960

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

With regards to your comments I would like to highlight that the hotel has just completed a refurbishment of their upper level rooms which included their bathrooms and the feedback we have received has been extremely positive. Should the occasion arise I would welcome the opportunity to showcase our new look.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    834
    314
    91
    49
See reviews for
278
671
160
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here overnight on business and I must have gotten one of the renovated rooms as everything looked new and fresh.

The room was extremely spacious even with the king size bed. Amenities in the room was plentiful and the rain shower was great after a long day of travel and work.

The breakfast was alright, selection was not overly impressive but for $25.50, it was reasonable.

A very short walk to the main streets and Adelaide is easy to navigate.

Definitely a good four star hotel based on my experience.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contactim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear contactim

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

Our newly refurbished rooms have just recently been completed and I was happy to read that you had the opportunity to experience one of them.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel is in the nightclub area and room windows are single glazed. If you like to sleep at night, you will not like this hotel. If you are in Adelaide to party all night at the clubs, etc., it will be fine. Nearby clubs play music very loudly until well past midnight. One night, they were still going at 5.00am. When I asked reception about whether the city has any noise restrictions such as how late music can be played at loud levels, I was told it does not and offered earplugs. I was also asked what my room number was and then told I was in one of the quieter locations. Interestingly, one of my colleagues was asked the same question and given the same answer the night before and she was on the diagonally opposite side of the building. In other words, there are no quiet rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahsalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Kahsalel

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

The noise issue that you have highlighted is something we are addressing and working closely with the Adelaide City Council to improve. I apologise for any inconvenience that this caused you.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The best feature about this hotel is it;s location, handy to Central City shopping, Museum, Art Gallery and Historic buildings. Quality Restaurants are also close by. Only downside is that the hotel is situated beside the nightclub etc. strip and not a desirable place to walk at night.
The hotel was clean and comfortable with the staff courteous and helpfull. For a short stay(1 night) it was fine but any longer stay would have had us asking for a room with a view, well above our 2nd floor room.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpgoodship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear jpgoodship

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services. It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in August for business.
First impressions were not good, the colourful nature of Hindley st can make check in interesting. Also, the had lost one of our bookings in their system, luckily they had additional rooms available.

The rooms were adequate sized and beds were comfortable. The floor I was on was recently freshened up and quite nicely decorated. My room was a very long walk from the lifts which was meant it was quiet, though this walk may upset some guests.
The bar and restaurant were nice and the service was great, though priced on the expensive side.
Overall the hotel is quite adequate though it is rough around the edges with some of the yet to be renovated parts looking very tired.
I would reccomend that leisure and business travellers consider the hotels position and whether Hindley St is really where they want to be? It is really not for everyone.

Room Tip: Get a room at back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fan-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I got a good deal for this hotel via Agoda. The hotel is nice,spacious and toilet has got both shower/bath with spacious sink space. The room cleaning service is good. The only downside is the noise from next room's toilet each time they use the toilet or shower. This seems to be a problem with most hotels though. Overall I would stay in this hotel again if I get a good deal again. The location is very convenient, close enough to the airport and central to Rundle Mall and the Central Market as well as close to restaurants.

Room Tip: Try the Agoda site for this hotel booking. Specify any special requests...you may get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here for a conference for 3 nights. The immediate area - Hindley Street might be off-putting (massage services etc.) but was safe even late at night returning to the hotel. Staff were very helpful and the 2 for one breakfast deal was good since there was a group of us staying. The un-refurbished rooms on the lower floors are looking their age but perfectly clean and functional and offered excellent value.The beds were very comfortable. For the price we paid it was a great deal. The outdoor pool was a bonus.

Room Tip: You might want to upgrade to the refurbished floors if you want the new look and feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 57 in Adelaide
2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing