We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good central city accommodation property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest on King William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest on King William
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Warriewood, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good central city accommodation property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Quest is a solid and dependable chain of accommodation in Australia and a few nights in the centre of Adelaide confirmed this Quest property was OK! Whilst there's nothing stand-out for this property, it's comfortable, relatively quiet and affordable.

Selected on price and position we weren't disappointed.

Likes? The beds are actually good. There's plenty of room in the rooms and kitchen facilities save the budget on a longer stay (we stayed four nights). Entry is secured, staff are pleasant and efficient.

Dislikes? Not many but despite double glazing the rooms at the King William frontage have a constant traffic hum... no en-suite in the two bedroom apartments was inconvenient. Parking is difficult and around 500m away...

Recommend heading north and east from this property for breakfasts and meals - west is the seedy side of the city but Adelaide boasts some great eateries and coffee houses and many are within walking distance of the quest as the major department stores and Rundle Mall, the shopping CBD for the city.

Well worth a try if you need CBD accommodation in Adelaide on a budget or are there for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for back of property to escape the traffic noise and hum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Nrmoz,

Your honest review is exactly what this page is all about and we thank you for going into such detail.

While all of our apartments are double glazed, being in such central location can attract some external traffic noise. We find however, that any apartments facing the Eastern side, as well as any on the top half of the building, escape this issue at all hours of clock. We welcome any requests if noise is a point of concern.

Also, Adelaide has a plethora of options for dining, and our staff always like to give their own personal recommendations whenever possible. Feel free to ask them on your next visit.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    162
    74
    20
    5
See reviews for
87
106
26
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here recently for one night which we booked at the last minute. I booked it mainly on the price alone so didn't know what to expect of the accomodation. Well it was very good. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 7th floor at the back of the motel. Even though our view was a big brick wall, I really didn't care as it was so quiet at the back which is great given the motel is on the busy main street of Adelaide. The room was very spacious and clean with everything you need. Reception staff were all very nice. Close to the mall for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LnT291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Lnt,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is great to see the positive scores such as yours keep coming on our page.

Just for future reference, when you next stay with us, feel free to place a request for a view. There are apartments facing three different directions within our building, so we can usually offer something to meet all tastes.

Hope to see you soon.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very professional and friendly staff, very close to restaurants and cafe for meals. I highly recommend this property and will return on my next business trip to Adelaide. WiFi is only available in the reception area. You will need to check with reception if this is an issue for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Wayne,

Thank you for your adding to our TripAdvisor page.

While wifi internet is only accessible within reception, it is 100% free and available 24 hours a day. There is also the option to connect within your apartment via the cabled broadband, with adaptors available for those travelling with Apple devices.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankalilla, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had an overnight stay on a weekend at the Quest on King William. We had a 1 bedroom apt on the 8th floor. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms considering it was in the cbd. The little kitchenette had all we needed, although we did buy more milk and coffee etc as there's generally only 2 serves, but that didnt bother us at all. The lounge area was great and the bathroom was huge.
There was only wifi in the lobby but you could plug in in the room.
The parking for check in was in a very small lane way out the back which, of course, was full. The overnight parking was about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel.
Overall, the location of this place was great. There was some traffic noise but it didn't seem to worry us too much, even though we are from a quiet country town.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mazzanrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you Mazzanrocket for submitting your review.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the space and facilities offered within your apartment.

We look forward to having you return any time you find yourself within the CBD of Adelaide.

Peter Oliver
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a great short stay at the Quest on King William over the Easter long-weekend! This was a very last minute holiday, so our family of three stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a sofa bed. Despite it being smaller than what we would normally go for (a two bedroom apartment), the room was a good size and met all of our needs.

There was only a partition wall separating the main bedroom from the living room, but this didn't pose any problems, and the air-conditioning flowed well throughout the apartment. The bathroom was a good size, and the shower was great!

Having caught an early morning flight, we arrived at Quest at around 9:30am. We weren't expecting it, but we were actually able to go straight to our room on checking in, which was a real bonus. The staff on reception were always extremely helpful and nice!

We pre-booked car parking, which was off-site in a car parking station on Hindley Street - about a 5 minute walk away. Just a note - if you do arrive with your car, there's no loading zone or anything out the front of the accommodation - however, there is a small lane way just off of Currie Street, which is called Register Lane. If you turn into this, there's a loading zone right outside the second entrance to the hotel - very handy if you have a lot of bags or anything!

Finally, the location of the apartments is awesome! Right in the centre of town, walking distance to Rundle Mall, the Adelaide Central Market, Hindley Street and North Terrace - perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrose93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
RedRose,

We are proud to hear that our staff made your stay with us a comfortable and convenient one.

We are usually able to arrange earlier check-ins with enough notice and can always store luggage at a minimum should a small wait be required.

Thank you greatly for your time in providing a review and for scoring us so highly. See you again soon.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Location is good within 5 minutes walk to Rundle mall. We stayed in a 2 bedroom which was clean and well equipped. Staff were friendly and quickly attended to our needs when requested.Housekeeping can improve further with a change to the flat pillows . It would have better if there was WiFi throughout the hotel instead of just the Lobby. It was a bit difficult to locate the small lane behind the hotel to offload luggages from the car and easily missed due to the roadworks in the area. Also,carpark is about 300m away but the map provided by the hotel was useful for locating the place quickly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank roake_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Good evening Roake,

It is with great delight that i can advise that 25 boxes of new pillows are on already on their way to our property, replacing the current batch of which you commented.

Furthermore, plans are already in place to increase the wifi access throughout the building adding to the broadband access already available within the apartment.

We hope that you return soon to experience these changes first hand.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have stayed at Quest before and think this one is due for a refit; its tired. Our 2 bedroom apartments sliding door to BR1 would not close fully despite being fixed and there we several stains on the carpet. No wifi a big negative for this era. Dont stay here if you are driving. The parking is almost 10 minutes walk away and the lugagge drop off difficlult to get to in a series of streets with no right turns. On a positive, stay were friendly and the rooms are big.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpe156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello DPE,

We are immensely disappointed to read that your stay was not up to expectation. I personally have passed on your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure the issues you encountered are rectified immediately.

It is great to hear that our staff were able to add a positive element to your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on King William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on King William

Property: Quest on King William
Address: 82 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on King William 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quest on King William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On King William Hotel Adelaide
Quest On King William Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing