We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on King William
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in a one bed apartment for four nights while in Adelaide to work at a conference.
The location is great - very close to the Rundle Mall and an easy walk to the Convention Centre, North Terrace attractions, Hindley St for entertainment and Gouger St for restaurants.

The "kitchenette" is tiny with very little bench surface - but they fitted in a microwave, half size fridge, minimally stocked cupboards and a funny little portable hotplate. It was OK to fix breakfast, but would be pretty frustrating if you wanted to cook anything else.

The bathroom was very spacious but had a tiny shower cubicle plus a bath and a great expanse of tiled floor - not a great use of space.

The fittings were very old (wooden cupboards, no dishwasher, tired curtains) but carpet and furniture looked as though they had been replaced more recently (certainly not new but good condition). It had windows in the living area and bedroom which were double glazed and could not be opened.

I booked it directly through their website at a bargain price, so I would say that it was about right for the money. If I paid full price though, I'd feel that it didn't measure up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Quest on King William expresses it's gratitude upon receiving your review, and would like to address some of the points you raised.

The one-bedroom apartments are designed for travellers on a budget, with basic self-contained amenities. Our staff are more than happy to supply additional items of cutlery/crockery if required, as well as some other items upon request (rice cooker, coffee plunger etc). There is also the option of having your meal delivered of course, via one of our restaurant partners with charge back facilities available.

For those wanting more sophisticated accommodation, all our two-bedroom apartments contain full kitchens. These Include an oven, four-burner stove, dishwasher as well as ample bench space.

We trust that your time in Adelaide was enjoyable and hope we get the chance to accommodate you again soon.

Peter Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Quest on King William
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 458 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

After a crappy ride with a rip of taxi driver, who attempted to over charge me, and dropped me off 1 km from my hotel, I finally checked in, the Reception staff were fantastic, I must of looked cranky and annoyed, they upgraded my room, asked if I needed anything. Totally brillant, couldn't ask for better service.
Room was wonderful, spacey and comfortable, hotel close to Rundle Mall. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Didn't eat at the restaurant and there isn't a pool.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi Nichole,

Thank you for time in leaving such a kind review.

We empathised for the situation you were faced with and wanted to do all we could to help get your time in Adelaide back on track. It is pleasing to know this was achieved, and certainly hope you returned home safely.

We would love to have you stay with us again, and hope to see you soon.

Peter Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very close to the shopping mall and food. The room was nice and big, the beds were comfortable besides the sofa bed which was a bit rough. Parking was a bit of an issue as we hired a car and unloading had to be done on a very small back street and unfortunately parking is over a block away. Adelaide is a great place an certainly changed since we were last here 16 years ago.

Overall the Quest was a great place for our family of 5.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disco3QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very old fashioned place in need of an update. Check in and check out were efficient and friendly. Lots of do and don't rules and instructions. Some street noise but not too bad. Room was an odd configuration with a double bed (haven't had one of those for a long time!) that wasn't that comfortable. No glitz or glamour but was a clean place to stay in a central location. Probably would not go there again if given a choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Good morning,

Quest on King William understand the need to continually improve and update our facilities and the refurbishment process is already under way.

Upon check-in we offer a simple information sheet to keep guests informed of our property's procedures, terms and conditions. We believe this is an effective way to communicate with all guests to ensure a hassle-free experience.

We appreciate your comments and sincerely hope you can consider returning should you require accommodation in the future.

Kind Regards,
Peter Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After seeing Quest on King William on web site, I thought it looked a great property and booked for one night in a one bedroom apartment.

The location is very good, in the middle of Adelaide CBD. The rooms are double glazed and we could only hear faint traffic sounds.

The building is old, which is fine. The reception area is very bland. The morning receptionist was pleasant.

The apartment is not huge, although it did have a separate, closed off area for bedroom. The apartment decor is average (a little tired). Bathroom looks tired. The TV reception was very poor and TV quite a small size.

At AUD$168.49 (included $2.49 fee for using a credit card) I thought it was expensive.

There is no restaurant, although plenty of shops and restaurants within a five minute walk.

Trams and buses are a two minute walk from apartment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Catherine,

Quest on King William were disappointed to read that your time with us was not up to expectation.

I can assure you that your feedback is valuable in assuring we continue to improve our business, and I have recommended that the reception area and bathrooms are the next to be focussed on.

Please also note that rates can vary depending on the time of year, and with many festivals/events occurring during March, the demand for accommodation was at a maximum.

We hope we get the chance to see you next time for a longer visit.

Peter Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for two weeks in a one bed apartment we were lucky to get anywhere due to clipsal fringe and festival
It would be a good place to stay for a night or two because it is very central but we found it wearing for two weeks
It was very hot when we were there so difficult to stay out for too long at a time
My husband was working and I needed to pass the time while he was at work
I found the housekeeping annoying. I usually went out in the morning for a couple of hours however when i got back the room was rarely serviced
I doubt very much if our bed Linen was. CHanged in the two weeks we were there and there was no mechanism to request it to be changed
I was not too impressed with the housekeeping
The reception staff were very helpful
The apartment itself was small
Only a window in the bedroom which was small and did not open
No other windows
The bedroom was separated from the living area by a folding door
I would be more Inclined to call it a studio rather than a one bedroom apartment
We were told by the booking department that the apartment had a full kitchen
It did not
It was a very small area with two cooking rings but no space around it it had a sink and a small fridge plus a microwave kettle and toaster
However since every thing was squashed in a very small space we considered it a safety hazard
There were electric leads encroaching on the heating rings and also the sink
Not conducive to cooking maybe making toast or microwaving but little else
It was clean when we arrived but we considered the housekeeping whilst there inadequate
I think if we had been staying one or two nights we would have been more happy with the accommodation
It is not good for a long stay

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginger035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest on K, Guest Relations Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Quest on King William appreciate your time in writing such an in-depth review.

We understand that some areas of your stay did not meet expectations and I'd like to elaborate on those areas in further detail.

Your apartment should have been given a light service daily, including having bins changed and amenities restocked. If on any day, the 'do not disturb' sign was placed on your apartment door, your service would have been omitted.

Our housekeeping records indicate that your linen was changed twice during your stay - March 1 and March 6 - which is in line with the standard schedule given to longer stays. Our reception staff are always willing to alter the housekeeping schedule should it become inconvenient.

All of our one-bedroom apartments contain a kitchenette, and we apologise that this was not indicated when your reservation was made. We have spoken to our Customer Contact Centre, and they actually have the correct property information, so we are still unsure where your enquiry originated.

I hope that this information clarifies matters, and we sincerely hope that you consider returning to Quest on King William for a more enjoyable stay.

Peter Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I absolutely loved the the spa room. It had lots of space and the bathroom was huge. The room is very modern and clean. I would stay here again for sure. The location is excellent very close to anything you nred in the city area. The one and only problem i found and it may not be a problem for other people but the car park is not on site you have to go and park in a car park and its a fair walk so i would highly suggest if you have alot off bagage leave it there when you go to motel to check in and get your parking ticket as i wasnt told this and had to lug my heavy suitcase and other stuff back to the motel. Theres a small lane behind the buliding you can park whilst checking in and out if someone needs to go get the car i also wasnt told this at first and drove around looking for a park for awhile.

Room Tip: Spa room was great lots of space.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
Mantra Hindmarsh Square
#13 of 56 in Adelaide
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on King William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on King William

Address: 82 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $113 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on King William 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on King William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On King William Hotel Adelaide
Quest On King William Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing