We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,642)
Filter reviews
2,642 results
Traveler rating
1,264
925
307
98
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,264
925
307
98
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge riverside restaurant river view atrium bar train station cricket ground valet parking festival theatre buffet breakfast an upgrade bit dated north terrace king bed business trip fantastic location rundle mall casino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,642 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed Intercontinental Adelaide on numerous times, although the hotel is a little dated in its rooms, the service and professionalism of all of the staff is 2nd to none. I have travelled extensively and always enjoy staying at this hotel. It is right next door to the convention centre as I present and attend many seminars and conferences and is perfect for a central point to explore Adelaide. If you can, become a member, and have access to the continental club which is an absolute dream for breakfast in the morning.

Room tip: Go to the club floor 21
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Colin P,
We were delighted to read that your recent stay was thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you for your kind review and for complimenting us on our professional and friendly colleagues. We're pleased our team were able to afford you a truly memorable experience. Thank you also for your recommendation to others of our Club InterContinental product which is also appreciated.
Kind regards,
Michael Gaedtke
Acting General Manager /
Area Director of Finance and Business Support - IHG SA/VIC/TAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very helpful and friendly from the moment I checked in until I checked out. They provided great service and were always looking to help me out or improve their service. The location is great with a short walk to an abundance of restaurants and cafes.

Room tip: A higher floor room with a view of the river.
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klshanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Klshanster,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Adelaide. We appreciate your review and are pleased that your stay met your expectations. Thank you for your generous compliments on our level of service afforded as well. This is important to us as it allows us to constantly monitor how we are assisting our valued guests.
Kind regards,
Michael Gaedtke
Acting General Manager /
Area Director of Finance and Business Support - IHG SA/VIC/TAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is getting a bit dated however the rooms are huge, clean and sumptuous. Good location so close to all Adelaide has to offer, small hiccup checking in however offered complimentary drink voucher as compensation, very nice pleasant staff, would stay again for sure.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ozzyjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ozzyjock,
Thank you for your support of our hotel and for your time in reviewing your experience. We are pleased, despite the small concern upon check in, that you were afforded a gesture of a drink as an apology and this was appreciated. Hope to welcome you back when your travels next bring you our way.
Kind regards,
Michael Gaedtke
Acting General Manager /
Area Director of Finance and Business Support - IHG SA/VIC/TAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent, friendly and professional staff where nothing is too much trouble. Location is excellent, so close to river, exhibition centre and short walk to city centre. I needed a hairdresser and concierge was able to organise this. Gym is well equipped with water, lockers and towels - surprisingly good for a hotel gym. Laundry and pressing service is available. Lots of spaces to sit, do work and have a coffee or drink. Complimentary newspaper. Room service was prompt, delicious food which arrived hot. Would highly recommend this hotel,

Room tip: Request quiet room on higher floors
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travellers693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Travellers693,
Thank you for your support of our hotel and for your generous review of your experience at InterContinental Adelaide. We are pleased your stay met your expectations and we thank you for your warm compliments for the assistance you received from our concierge team when trying to arrange a hairdresser. Appreciate your recommendation to others and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Michael Gaedtke
Acting General Manager /
Area Director of Finance and Business Support - IHG SA/VIC/TAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was looking forward to staying in this hotel very much. I stayed in a few fabulous hotels in the past and expected this stay to be as impressive. How disappointed i was in the end....

The room itself was ok, a good size, comfortable bed. Strange door to bathroom though.
In general, the hotel floors looked very dated, i didn't expect this in a hotel of this class.

Amenities box in bathroom exited me originally, but it was of sad quality - e.g. the comb was a joke, better dont provide any, its a waste of money.

For dinner we went to the riverside restaurant. We had to ask for someone to take our
order even though only a few tables were occupied. When drinks were served water was spilled but none of the waiters bothered cleaning our table, it stayed like this until we left. The waiter cleaned the table next to us, some cutlery fell to the floor, it took more than 5 minutes for this to be cleaned up. The food we ordered could not have been more ordinary. I ordered a vegetarian dish (cauliflower), when it arrived I was shocked how embarrassingly poor it was plated - a plate full of big cauliflower pieces and rasins. Any pub would have prepared a more pleasing dish, both taste and appearance wise. My husband ordered a chicken dish and it was equally disappointing, 2 huge pieces of chicken on a plate. I think both my husband and i have better skills then the chefs who prepared our meals. Considering the price of this sad dinner i regretted not having choosen a fastfood restaurant instead - the experiance would have been the same but at an acceptable price.

The second day we returned to our room realising the water from the toilet was running, house keeping couldn't fix the problem, so we had to change rooms. The new room was the same as the first one (same strange bathroom door, same city view - the hotel didn't appear to be fully booked out, a nicer view would have been appreciated), i was quietly hoping for something nicer or at least some chocolates to make up for the inconvenience, but this was maybe too much expected.

The next morning we rang to have our car brought over from valet parking, when we went down to collect it the car was not there, it appears there was confusion due to the room change. The staff were very apologetic and i appreciate it, it wasn't their fault - but there shouldn't have been internal miscommunication due to room change in the first instance.

I think this will have been the first and last time i stayed at an intercontinental hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ChristBi,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at InterContinental Adelaide. It was very disappointing to read your comments and learn that the time you spent with us has not been a memorable experience. We will take your feedback and ensure this is addressed with each of the departments concerned, in particular the food and beverage team regarding your restaurant dining. Our apologies that you haven't left us on a high note and we thank you for your honest remarks.
Kind regards,
Michael Gaedtke
Acting General Manager /
Area Director of Finance and Business Support - IHG SA/VIC/TAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews