We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No improvement on Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“No improvement on Hyatt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

I understood that the owners of this landmark hotel were not happy with the hyatt's management so changed to ICHG. I can't say that I found any improvement. I stay here a lot on business. Had a club room - it needs a revamp. Service is the same as they have mostly the same staff. So not sure what the change is. Actually the lounge seems to have less than what it did before, the standard of snacks is less, it is the small things that have disappeared that are important - small bottles of mineral water that they allowed you to take for your walk, takeaway cups of coffee - these all make the difference between "OK" and " thanks for thinking of us". Still the best location though. I try and walk to all my meetings or catch the bus and walk, rather than taxi-ing. In adelaide this is easy .pool is closed at the moment- which iis annoying

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2travelOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    622
    214
    58
    29
See reviews for
147
633
88
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

Was in Adelaide for 5 days and the InterContinental was the "conference hotel" for my trip. If you are doing business at the Adelaide Convention Center this is the place to be....you turn right out of the front door and you have arrived at the ACC.

Check in was quick and efficient. I arrived around 11am and they were able to accommodate my early arrival when I had not called ahead.

The room was pretty good. Bed was a little hard (I like softer mattresses) but still something I was able to get a good night sleep on. What was a little odd was the door to the bathroom....they use slated closet doors and the entry was a little tight (not a full door size). But the bathroom itself was a good size with separate shower and bathtub. At first, I thought it was a closet and couldn't find the bathroom until I opened the doors.

The desk area could do a little better when it comes to letting us plug in our laptop. There is a wall outlet, but it is behind the desk and blocked by the drapes. But I found it in the end.

Internet here was a good speed - but they charge by the minute! However, they do have a $29 AUD cap every 24 hours, or you can buy a 7-day plan. I would have preferred maybe a 3 or 5 day plan since this is a very business-centric hotel. Regardless, the $29 AUD was a little on the pricey side but not a deal breaker.

Breakfast was included in the room rate I had. The offering each morning was the exact same with no variety. However they do have an ala carte menu if you want. Very modest offering of eggs, sausages, beans, potatoes, pancakes, fruits, cereals and breads. What I loved about the restaurant is they actually make lattes and cappacinos - not just coffee. That alone made the breakfast worthwhile!

Room service was pretty good. Their full menu was available 24 hours a day. Had several different meals and all were quick (within about 20 minutes), hot and well supplied with salt, ketchup, etc.

Finally, some good shopping is available with a short 5 minute walk over to Rumbly Mall. That combined with the Casino next door and the train station makes this a great cetnrally located place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_In_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigieburn, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

I stayed at the InterContinental Adelaide for 5 days while attending the IRB Rugby 7's. I found the hotel to be very nice, but the mini-bar area was a bit dated and the pool was closed for renovations. The service was fantastic and when I found myself needing to take care of some urgent and unexpected business the concierge was brilliant! I would recommend this hotel for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medic51vrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
660 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

We enjoyed this hotel and regretted that we could only stay for one night. The lobby and atrium are beautiful. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was fine. We had no problem with the inroom safe which was free of charge. We would definitely stay again if we return to Adelaide.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed just one night in The Intercontinental (formerly The Hyatt Adelaide) with a girl friend for the annual Soundwave music festival at Bonython Park in Adelaide. We were ripped off for the one night and got charged $425 for a twin bed room, even though the hotel is very good and the room was well equipped and cosy, that was rather a lot and didn't even include the buffet breakfast which was an extra $34. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well, bathroom was spacious and we had a wonderful view of the river from the window as we were on the 16th floor in room 1601. The reason why the room was so much more expensive than usual was basically because it was very fully booked with bands and people working and attending the music festival, but when we checked-in, we found there to be a lot more rooms available than what we told over the 'phone. Usually the same room is around $175-$200. Breakfast was very good, but too expensive at $34 per person. Loads of choice of fruits, juices, cereals, salads, breads, rolls, and a cooked buffet. I wasn't allowed to bring a smoked salmon roll I'd made up to my room because of "health and safety" reasons, which I thought was silly, but they kindly took the food up to the room for me right away.
We were gutted to discover that the rooftop outdoor swimming pool and sundeck was closed for a total makeover and being re-built, which was very disappointing during the Summer months! The health club downstairs in the lower ground floor was all open and I made use of that. The pool refurbishment had been delayed because of some special tiles that were ordered that got delayed being sent or something and I could tell how annoyed the hotel staff were at guests complaining about it, as it wasn't their fault. The health club in the hotel is very good. Big gym, a jacuzzi that fits in about 6 or 7 people at a time and a steam room and sauna. Changing rooms was spacious and it was well equipped.
I can't understand why people have been so negative about this hotel in other reviews, as I've also stayed in The Hilton in Adelaide which is good, but I think the room we stayed in at The Intercontinental was bigger than what I had in The Hilton (and that was an executive floor room!), much bigger bathroom and better equipped. The fridge/mini bar was big enough to put all our extra food and drinks in, toiletries were really nice quality and we got cosier beds than the bed I'd slept in The Hilton which from what I remember wasn't as soft. I would have to agree that the lobby did seem a bit dark. There is a nice outdoor terrace, with tables and chairs to sit on, which is like an extended part of the bar. The hotel was a lot closer than The Hilton to walk to Bonython Park, where we had to go for the festival. There were major roadworks to and from the festival site to the hotel, so walking was the best option. The concierge staff were great when it came to check in online for my flight back to Sydney from Adelaide. They also checked me in online for my flight from Sydney onto London, so it was all arranged without any worries. Let staff offer to help with doing this, because the hotel internet connection is a rip-off. So, a few minor setbacks, but it didn't put me off staying here again. I will book via Expedia in advance next time and not leave things to the last minute. Once the swimming pool is open this hotel will top The Hilton, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Booked club room but no seperate check in so waited in line. Room fine, good bathroom towels etc. All very clean. In room safe required a credit card to operate, rang reception who advised me that this was not the case and I could pre program. Not the normal safe and reception could not advise otherwise so had to do without. Club lounge breakfast was poor, one day scrambled eggs, bacon, next day scrambled eggs and sausage! Possibly the worst offering of any club lounges.
Go for a standard room, the club option is wasted money.
Service slow in the bar, waiters seemed to disappear in an area behind the bar for long periods. Pool was not available as being refurbished although temperature was around 30c mark.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a mystery holiday.
When we arrived we were booked in to a king room (could have been a mistake by the travel agent), and the staff were going to put another bed in the room for the 2 of us.
The rooms are quite dated and poky - with another bed in the room there would barely be any room to move! Then there was the dilemma of who would sleep in the king bed and who on the camp bed! (they did tell me it was a proper bed - not a fold out bed). I called the desk and it took 15 minutes to convince them that we wanted a twin room and to find one. We ended up having to pay an extra $20 per night (this didn't bother us too much and the room we moved to was nicer with a river view).
The rooms themselves are not really that nice - certainly not 5 star. The carpet and decor is quite dated.
Our biggest gripe was the bathroom door. The bathrooms are huge - possibly too big! The door for the bathroom consists of saloon style doors that squeak very loudly. Seemed quite odd have saloon doors to the bathroom in a 5 star hotel!
Concierge were quite helpful with tours and restaurants - though the information centre just around the corner was more knowledgeable.
The hotel is in a perfect location for ease of getting around, you really can't get much better! There are other hotels across the road that looked a little more modern.
We were told by our travel agent that there was a pool - however when looking down from our room it was quite clear that there would be no frolicking by the pool! It was empty and being worked on. This didn't bother us as we had plenty of other things to do - like wine tours!!
I probably would not recommend this hotel to others - it really needs upgrading to keep its 5 star prestige.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#16 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing