We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights while attending a conference in a corner room on the 11th floor with nice views of the city. The room was luxuriously appointed as would be expected with very comfortable bed, linen, towels and robe, also quality toiletries. The bath and shower were a nice treat. There were ample power points with 4 on the desk and one next to the bed. My room service breakfast was very large with a price to match. The only suggestion for improvement would be more bench space in the bathroom. My stay was very enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Standardrose

Many thanks for providing your feedback from your recent stay at InterContinental Adelaide.

I trust your conference was enjoyable and you were able to discover more of our city at some stage during your visit.

May I thank you for complimenting us on the guest room you enjoyed and for highlighting the comfortable bed, linen, towels and bathroom along with the toiletries. Also appreciate your suggestion for more bench space in the bathroom which is taken on board.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in the InterCon Adelaide. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel perfect with wonderful views. When I went to Kangaroo Island for 2 days they were able to store my large bag overnight and the bag was already in my room when I arrived back the next day. The selection of cushions in the room is also excellent, which makes a big difference. Will definitely stay here again when in Adelaide.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank Lucette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Lucette B

Thank you very much for mentioning your recent enjoyable stay at our hotel.

It was very pleasing to hear you were attended to with such fine service by our staff. In particular thank you for highlighting the assistance you were provided with for storing your bags.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in March. This was our third stay and the hotel. It has the best Club Lounge I have ever seen. The Crowne Plaza in Paris could learn a lot from this hotel. The whole experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a Club Room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear RockyBubbles

Thank you for returning to stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you.

We were all delighted to receive your accolades for our Club InterContinental Lounge and thank you very much for sharing your appreciation.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here whilst on a business trip. We were attending a conference at the convention centre and this hotel is superbly located.

The view over the parks and to the Adelaide cricket grounds where fantastic.

I was a little surprised that they still have a self serve coffee machine instead of a proper barista, which is more common among this hotel chain.

The rooms are a great size, with comfortable beds and a great selection of mini bar treats. I would recommend that they invest In some proper pillows. Even after I called down to get some foam or latex pillows I was delivered two barley there rubber pillows that were no better than the display pillows. (First world problems I know).

The free access to unlimited wifi that is offered to all IHG members is a great option!

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good business trip location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Ms O'Connor

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback of our hotel from your recent business trip to Adelaide.

We acknowledge your recommendation of the property and for highlighting your appreciation of the complimentary internet access for being a loyal IHG Rewards member.

Thank you also for mentioning the pillow selection you received which is good to know.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here one night for business. Had a lovely view overlooking the river and directly toward the Adelaide Oval. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was beautiful, large and very clean. Some of the wood work in the room was very dated with scratches and chipping evident. My main gripe was the apparent lack of sound proofing - I could hear my neighbour's television and showers very clearly - all at 11pm! The other things that was very annoying was the piped music in the hallways. I had a speaker almost directly outside my door and the awful, mobile phone ringtone type music that commenced at 8am was truly terrible. I would have been very annoyed if I was trying to sleep in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear KatB65

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor as an overview of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room and found the bed comfortable and the bathroom to your liking.

Your feedback is also greatly appreciated in regards to the noise you encountered from nearby guestrooms and the outside hallway. We completely understand your disappointment and thank you for advising us of the disturbances.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Having just spent a few nights at this hotel it's very difficult to find anything to complain about. The service was extremely friendly and efficient, even when I found a hair in my meal (which was tasting really good until that happened!) The location could not be better, right in the heart of the city and I was overlooking the river and stadium so had a good view. Rooms are standard intercon rooms, so no surprises there, one tiny little niggle for my room was that it backed onto the house keeping room so I was woken up one morning with banging doors but as soon as I mentioned it, it never happened again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear JT S

Thank you for visiting us recently and taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel.

Excellent to hear you enjoyed the overall experience and particularly the views from your room.

Thank you for mentioning your meal and the unfortunate presence of a hair - something I have since addressed with our Food and Beverage Manager. Good to also know the noise experienced from the housekeeping area was ceased upon your notifying our staff.

Look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The InterContinental Adelaide is defiantly the best hotel Adelaide has to offer, but it should not be 5 stars. The hotel is dated, old-fashioned and very old and tired. This would have been luxurious 20 years ago but at present it is in dire need of a major renovation to bring it back up to standard. This hotel is a very typical 1980s american chain hotel. The rooms are clean and functional but very worn and tired. The pool area was all tiny with limited seats. Also the ground floor of the atrium is very dated and ugly with 30 year old plants and a dirty sitting area. But on the other hand the lobby is impressive and grand, the bathrooms are large and modern and the location is hard to beat!

Location:
Fantastic location in the heart of Adelaide. Within walking distance of all major sights and numerous restaurants.

Entrance:
The entrance is grand and impressive, provides a very good first impression.

Lobby:
The lobby is huge and very classy. This is defiantly not dated like the rest of the hotel. The lobby provides a great meeting area with a stylish bar and restaurant.

Check-in:
Fast, friendly and efficient.

Buffet Breakfast:
The buffet breakfast was just ok for a major chain hotel. There was a limited selection of food. The service was poor and it was very crowded. But it was in a very nice setting with great natural light.

Room:
I stayed in a classic room. The room was of a reasonable size and was well appointed. The twin beds were very small compared to other hotels. The room was very tired and used. Nearly all the painted wooden surfaces were badly worn as well as the cupboards.
But the bathroom was fantastic. It was large, clean and done in full marble. It also had a separate bath and shower which was good and it featured the luxurious Agraria and Elemis amenities.

Pool:
The pool area was absolutely tiny. There were only a few sun lounges. It was annoying as every time I tried to use the pool it was packed with people, so I missed out.

Although this hotel need some work it is still the best hotel Adelaide has to offer, by far.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JDeNicolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear JDeNicolo

Thank you very much for providing your feedback both in improvements as well as the positive comments that you have placed for our property.

We appreciate the time you've taken to highlight your objective opinions and have taken all of your comments on board.

As a point to mention, thank you for your compliments on your check in experience to the hotel which is good to provide to our colleagues as feedback.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $107 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing