We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location shame about the design of the accommodation floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location shame about the design of the accommodation floors”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing wrong with this hotel- the location is great, the staff helpful and I loved the make your own juice at breakfast. It is a pity that the accommodation floors are so depressing- a sea of beige corridors and pillars around a central void and the rooms are low ceilinged and a little tired. To make up for this there was complimentary fruit and drinks waiting in the room. It was also a little odd when we requested a reservation at short notice at the signature Japanese restaurant -the concierge was told it was full but suggested we try directly. We called directly and they fitted us in so even if you are told it is full give it a try!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Isolin

Thank you for your recent overview of our property following your visit to Adelaide.

I appreciate your favourable comments on the hotel's location, our helpful team of colleagues and the ability to make your own breakfast juice in our Riverside Restaurant.

Thank you also for providing your thoughts on the décor throughout the floors in the hotel.

While I am pleased that you were able to directly secure a booking at our Japanese Restaurant, Shiki, this has provided an opportunity for me to address communication with our teams to ensure a more effective restaurant booking experience.

Kind regards

Matthew Senyard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    652
    221
    58
    29
See reviews for
152
663
89
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The front of the hotel is directly opposite the free circle line tram. The back a pretty river and park view.
The staff are attentive and efficient. They were very keen to help and advise when asked.
The large public areas seem a bit souless, the odd shop may have improved this.
We were very happy with the club lounge and staff knew our names on our second visit. If the breakfast food occasionaly seemed low the staff immediately restocked.
My only criticism is why can't we get the reward points when booking though an onlne website. We are still spending money in the hotel. This would encourage us to stay loyal to the hotel chain when travelling. In this internet market we all are looking for the best deals.

Room Tip: Hi floor, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear traveller17

Thank you very much for providing your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. It was very kind of you to highlight the attentiveness and efficiency of our staff, in particular from our Club Lounge.

Thank you also for querying why IHG Rewards points are not earned through third party online websites. To answer your question, we encourage our guests to book directly through our own channels, whether they be online through our brand or micro-sites, or via phone to our reservation offices, and one of the added benefits for guests choosing these methods, is the eligibility to earn points.

While we do not discourage our guests using third party online websites, we do offer through, a 'Best Price Guarantee' through our InterContinental website (intercontinental.com/adelaide or icadelaide.com.au) and invite you to secure any future reservations with us through these sites, to ensure you receive the best available rate and that you're eligible to be rewarded for you loyalty.

Kind regards

Matthew Senyard
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The InterContinental Hotel is very well located, central and with beautiful sights on the river Torrens.
We stayed in a Club room with a very comfortable King-size bed. The desk is in front of the window, every room is octagonal due to the architecture of the building. The bathroom is nice and big. The rooms are poorly insulated.

Housekeeping brought a requested extra duvet very quickly, a faulty hair dryer was also immediately replaced.

Room service needed half an hour for two burgers.

The club lounge on the 21st floor is still rather drafty. Breakfast was quite okay, the service lousy. Other offers rather limited. Three ladies were tinkering about in the back room. At 9:30 the bowl for scrambled eggs was empty, there was no bacon. You have to get your coffee from the machine which was badly set, the coffee - long black - tasted extremely bitter.
The service in the lobby bar was no better: The lady there arranged several bottles with her back to the guests and never looked around so we were forced to go to the counter to order.
Very small pool with only 10 sun loungers, Gym is well equipped.
Generally the hotel is recommendable if you can get it at a reasonable price and live with an imperfect service in certain areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear voyager-liese

I would like to thank you for providing your valuable comments from your recent visit to our hotel.

It was good to read that your stay was mostly enjoyable and you appreciated the comfortable king size bed and spacious bathroom. Equally, thank you for pointing out the efficient service of our housekeeping team in response to your requests.

I acknowledge, however, that there were shortcomings with respect to the breakfast food offering and service concerns in a couple of the outlets. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and allowing my team and I to further investigate and address.

Kind regards

Rebecca Thorn
Food and Beverage Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Well located hotel with great views over the River Torrens.
This is an ageing property with rooms that need a makeover. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Beds are well worn.
Breakfast is a complete joke. $35 for a buffet and, as a seasoned traveller one if the worst value buffets around. No egg chef, poached eggs left to go cold, watery scrambled eggs, limited choice compared to the normal breakfast fare. This really lets the hotel down and let's be realistic, this isn't Sydney Melbourne so why the high price?
Nearby cafes will serve bfast for under $20.
Dining - Parlemento Italian across the road is well worth a visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank MelbourneTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear MelbourneTravelbug

Thank you for providing feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to the hotel.

Your comments are appreciated, particularly your description of the breakfast offering you encountered in the restaurant. I acknowledge this is very short of the experience you should be receiving and I have personally brought this to the attention of our Executive Chef to address further and discuss improvements.

May I also thank you for mentioning the friendly and helpful staff you met during your visit.

Kind regards

Rebecca Thorn
Food & Beverage Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Although getting on in age this hotel reigns supreme in Adelaide for location, service, value, amenities and atmosphere. Large rooms. Brilliant unmatched river and botanic gardens views. Great gymnasium. Two superb in house restaurants. Sits right next to Adelaide Casino and Adelaide Train station, and opposite Avis. On the other side, 3 mins walk to Adelaide Oval and 10 mins to botanic gardens.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5starhotelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear 5starhotelreview

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to InterContinental Adelaide.

It was a pleasure to learn that your experience was very enjoyable in terms of the service, amenities, value, atmosphere and, of course, the perfect location of the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental Adelaide for three nights in February, 2014. I had a room on the 18th floor overlooking the city.

I expected a first-class hotel and that's what I got. The room, the bathroom, the service, the breakfast at the restaurant (I ordered a la carte), the staff on the desk and on the door...all marvellous. I ordered room service twice for dinner and the food and service were first rate.

Considering I was undertaking four exhausting days' work, the Intercontinental was everything I needed to relax, to have peace and quiet, and not to be bothered in any way.

Just my usual gripe - common to all hotels I've stayed in in Australia and New Zealand - was the outrageous cost of internet access. $25.00 a day is absurd. If hotels elsewhere in the world can do it for free, or for well under half that, then surely we can in this part of the world too?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear GrahaminMelbourne

Thank you for recently spending time with us at InterContinental Adelaide and for sharing your invaluable feedback.

I was thrilled to learn your expectations of the property were far exceeded. It was also great to know that we were able to provide some welcome relief in your hectic work schedule through a relaxing and quiet experience.

In regards to internet, we have made some significant changes to our IHG Rewards Club program. This includes, among other great new benefits, complimentary internet for Elite members. Please ask us for further information about IHG Rewards Club membership when you are next visiting, or simply visit the website: www.ihgrewards.com.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We visit Adelaide every couple of months and stay at the Intercontinental whenever we can (a couple of times recently it has been booked out). For a long time we have booked a Club room as we enjoyed the added benefits and found it good value for money. In the second half of last year we noticed that the standard of food and wine offered in the Club had slipped and we were very disappointed. I'm pleased to say that last month we noticed that the quality had been increased, not quite back up to the standard of a couple of years ago, but much better than it had been. As usual our suite was very clean, spacious and comfortable. We were on the fifth floor and were very pleased to note how quite it was in the room. We have been used to rooms on higher floors and thought that the quite was just due to the distance from the street. I would have to say that I always sleep well at the Intercontinental Adelaide, not just because it is quite, but because the beds and pillows are also very comfortable. The staff at this hotel are also very efficient and polite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelbugsbitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Travelbugsbitten

Thank you for your continued support of our hotel and for providing your thoughts from your most recent visit.

We greatly appreciate your honest review of the Club Lounge facilities and for confirming that you found positive changes in the food and beverage offerings during this return visit.

Equally, it was excellent to hear your suite was clean, comfortable and quiet.

We strive to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests and your feedback has confirmed this.

Kind regards

Bruce Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
2,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing