We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good decor and views but the loss of the buffet service has turned away a lot of customers who like nibbling on a variety of courses. It is pricey but value on the whole. Used to be the upper end buffet offering in Adelaide but the change from Hyatt it the Intercontinental has seen a short sighted refocus. With the Hyatt they used to have 2 sittings as testimony to the popularity. Management take note

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    622
    214
    58
    29
See reviews for
147
633
88
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Only spent one night here on the company account but will review it as if I paid my own hard earned $’s for it.

I also spent one night at the Holiday Inn at Tullamarine airport beforehand then two nights at the Intercontinental in Melbourne. A couple of weeks ago I spent 2 nights at the Crown Metropol and one at the Crown Promenade in Melbourne.

My fave of these recent stays was this Intercontinental in Adelaide due to everything in the room overall that was ‘just right’. The air con, the bed, the lighting (day & night), the bathroom and amenities, the staff, the room service breakfast, the restaurant dinner… all were ‘just right’.

Okay, if you look hard enough there are slight signs of wear and tear but overall I was very satisfied and will stay again next time the company sends me to Adelaide (I have other choices but this one worked well for me).

I was in Room 1802 which overlooked the new cricket ground and looks out over the river. Nice enough view. Room was right around corner from the elevators yet it was extremely quiet so no issues with noise. The air con was super quiet and worked really well.

Staff at check in were very friendly and efficient and explained ‘what’s where’.

My room was a very decent size and was kind of a hexagonal shape which I liked for something different. Bed was king size and very comfortable (not hard). Room had a flat screen TV was really big (especially for a hotel room). Desk was big and had 3 power points and data etc.
I had a 2 seater couch, 2 chairs, full length mirror, 2 phones (1 by bed, 1 on desk), fridge, full mini bar, tea/coffee making, iron & ironing board, bedside clock, lamps, etc.

My bathroom was a really decent size with marble tiling, a full bath, huge shower, great lighting, etc. Slippers, bathrobes, HUGE towels, hairdryer, nice toiletries, really good amenities kit including the best sewing kit I’ve ever seen in a motel room amenity pack. The only downside I can think of is that the entry to the bathroom is quite narrow through two bi-fold doors which may prove a little bit more challenging for a wheelchair perhaps.

Had dinner in the hotel’s restaurant and it was very, very nice and the wait staff were friendly whilst remaining professional. They knew the food they were serving very well, etc.

My breakfast was room service and was lovely. The meal was hot as was my drink, etc. Lovely fresh juice also.

Personally I would not choose to pay the amount of money it costs to stay at a place like the Intercontinental but only because I am a happy backpacker/budget accoms girl with the odd splurge on a 4 or 5 star in my personal life. I enjoyed it as much as the Crown Promenade, Crown Metropol and Intercontinental Melbourne (but not as much as the V Hotel in Bali – it will take a lot to surpass those rooms and the breakfast for me – even though I did pay for that one myself!).

This hotel is in a great location; walking, trams, Rundle Mall, the river etc. All close by.

The reason I rated the 'value' as 3/5 (average) is the same as I rate most places over about $150 to $170 a night as average... the price paid just seems so over the top sometimes when I know I can stay at a little boutique hotel with everything I need for a fraction of the cost. Just because I really liked the place doesn't mean I think it is 'good value' overall. So ignore that rating if you like! :)

Room Tip: Room 1802 was a quirky hexagonal shape, but I liked it. Nice enough view, good sized room with every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

V nice hotel though showing signs of wear especially in the furniture. Great location for the test cricket, for the local transport, the shopping district and restaurants. Staff very helpful, a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I'm a seasoned international traveler primarily for business. This hotel was exceedingly disappointing. It has likely not been updated for at least 15 years. I was seriously disappointed. My sheets had holes in them..the room was circa 1990's...my phone..which I needed to conduct conference calls was also circa 1990..it didn't have a speaker!!! UNACCEPTABLE and so very WRONG!!! Lastly..I'm a IHG Platinum member...I receive 10 points for every dollar I spend at IGH hotels., Crowne Plaza..ect.BUT I only get max 2000 points no matter how many days I stay when I stay the Intercontinental. I'm so done with this hotel group and my goal is to get my corporate travel group to agree..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Karen O,

Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay with InterContinental Adelaide. Of course we are all disappointed to read that agreed expectations with your room were not met. To allow for us to respond to you directly, may I ask that you contact our Guest Relations Manager, An on email via enquiries.adelaide@ihg.com.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
James Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for work, and had one of the best sleep. I got upgraded to a bigger room because my colleague who helped me to book is a member. The breakfast is lovely, and the business lounge area is really nice with great service.
The Japanese restaurant in the hotel serves Teppanyaki which is fantastic.

I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here in 2000 when this was the signature Adelaide Hotel, and a great Park Hyatt. Now its run by Intercontinental, a group that really does not care about it.

The decor and furnishings are exactly the same as 13 years ago and in some cases look like they have not even been changed. On the surface the hotel still looks good, but look a little closer and everything is faded, worn out, damaged, scratched and in some cases not working.

The hotel still has a great location going for it, and some wonderful views from the top floor rooms, but when you are paying top dollar for a suposed 5 star establishment and getting 3 star value and a management that just does not care, then something is seriously wrong.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jim W

I would like to thank you for staying at InterContinental Adelaide recently and for sharing your feedback from your experience with us.

To allow us an opportunity to respond directly to you, may I ask that you contact our Guest Relations Manager, An, on email enquiries.adelaide@ihg.com.

With thanks and kind regards

James Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and professional staff made you feel at ease straight away.
Definitely in the 80s style of hotel but very comfortable. Room did show signs of wear and tear but it was clean. The only down side was the smell of Asian Cooking from the Japanese restaurant which seemed to fill the lobby. If it wasn't the cooking then the housekeeper needs to change the air freshners they use. Overall a good stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveChCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear DaveChCh

Thank you for providing your feedback after your stay in September. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and would like to extend my appreciation for commenting on the cleanliness of the room.

It was interesting to note your comments concerning the apparent cooking smell and may I rest assure you this is not an air freshener.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#16 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing