We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks Horizons(Adelaide)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Adelaide(Adelaide)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks Embassy(Adelaide)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Plaza Hotel(Adelaide)
View Hotel
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide(Adelaide)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (2,025)
Filter reviews
2,025 results
Traveler rating
904
762
258
68
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
762
258
68
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeriverside restaurantriver viewmarble bathroomcricket groundtrain stationvalet parkingfestival theatreconvention centerbuffet breakfastattending a conferencean upgradenorth terracebit datedking bedpillow menubusiness trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,461 - 1,466 of 2,025 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

As the other reviewers have said, the décor in this hotel seems about 20 years behind the curve. The lobby is nice - standard upper-crust shiny décor, like tile floor, glass doors, and brass railings. The rooms weren't bad, but the more you looked, the more signs of age you could find - cracks in the tile in the bathroom, nicks in the paint on the walls, dirty finger prints on the maintenance access panel, etc. One morning, the power in half of our room went out. A weird occurrence, but the staff reacted quickly and were genuinely concerned and got it fixed quickly. ....The best part of this hotel is the location - a block away from Rundle Mall and dozens and dozens of restaurants of every shape, size, type. And the tram stops right in front of the hotel. Unless you're planning to drive somewhere specific in Adelaide, you probably can walk or catch the tram anywhere you need to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcqker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear mcqker

Many thanks for providing your feedback after your recent visit to InterContinental Adelaide.

Your comments on the décor are appreciated and I thank you for highlighting the efficient service of our team when an electrical problem occurred in your room. Indeed, this is not a normal occurrence.

Thank you also for highlighting the location of the hotel being close to transport, the Rundle Mall shopping precinct and of course the many wonderful restaurants that Adelaide boasts.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the InterContinental for work and I had a lovely stay.

The hotel is centrally located and very convenient to the convention centre next door.

My room was on the 11th floor and it had a nice view over the river. Overall the room was very comfortable. A nice large bed, good size desk, large bath and good shower.

If I had to niggle at a couple of things it would be the TV being quite old and not in the best location to the bed and the room service was average.

Overall, I would stay again as it was good value for money and large comfy rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadywillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear cadywillis

I was happy to receive your comments about your recent stay and am pleased that you found the location, river views and general comfort of your guestroom to your satisfaction.

I will take your additional feedback under consideration concerning the television as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Equally, thank you for mentioning the room service quality being 'average' which is noted.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel with its tired 80's décor has a good proximity to all the happening shopping of the Hindley & Rundle enclave.
It belongs to the group of hotels that I have grown to respect but I was disappointed at its level of neglect.
Fixtures and fittings are starting to show their age and long overdue for a facelift.
I encountered the cricking doors and the old style thermostat for the air-conditioning as well as the furnishing that had frail edges.
The club level on the 21st floor had limited breakfast and evening offerings and was so far away from the main kitchen downstairs that requests took a while to deliver.
Staff however are keen to please and in particular the concierge.
It would take some convincing for me to return there if it remains in its current state.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view....its worth watching.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CongiaEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear CongiaEnterprises

Thank you for your review of InterContinental Adelaide, I am pleased that you chose to stay with us.

While it is disappointing to learn that your stay did not meet expectations in terms of the décor and Club Lounge offerings, I do appreciate your favourable comments on our staff, in particular our Concierge team.

We do value all feedback from our guests and would like you to know that your thoughts and comments are taken on board.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The IC in Adelaide is the old Hyatt next door the casino and a 5-10 minute walk to almost anything; the cricket, parliament, the university, the hospital and the main business district. it is next to the convention centre.The staff are excellent but the place is a little worn and the rooms small. We stayed in the club which was just above average but then the price of the club room was not expensive and is probably good value. In the club they do produce eggs for breakfast but it is slow and you almost have to beg for them. The gym is fine and the pool though small ok.
In general this place is reasonable for Adelaide. Not sure about spending the extra for the view

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear AlterK

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us.

Please accept my thanks for providing your comments in terms of the egg service during your breakfast experience in the Club Lounge. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef for addressing.

Wonderful to read you that you were impressed with the close proximity to many of the local attractions which I agree, we are indeed well positioned.

Again, thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great three night stay and wonderful view out to the river. The lounge offerings were very extensive and more than I would expect so that was a big plus. However, the property, lounge and room all needs a renovation to take it away from looking like a 1990's fitout.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear BNE101

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate you acknowledging the superb river views from your guest room along with the offerings in the Club InterContinental lounge.

I always appreciate hearing from our guests - including suggestions for improvement - and thank you for your thoughts.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews