We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were booked here through my husbands work as we had a presentation night at the convention centre. We found the hotel and the staff to be amazing. All the staff were friendly , helpful and just made you feel important. Our room was on the 13th floor and right next to the lifts so we were expecting it to be a little noisy...it wasn`t. The room was cleverly set so you couldn`t hear people walking by your door. Lovely bathroom with a nice deep bath and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. It was our first time to Adelaide so it was great to be staying so central to everything. Convention centre, Casino and train station are 5 mins from your room and the main shopping mall was only a 10 min walk away. The only negative for me was the cost of breakfast ,$35pp, but we soon learnt that there are plenty of places to get breaky close by. I loved this hotel , we will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Found the staff friendly and efficient. Reception staff were great and that seemed to filter all the through to restaurant staff, bar staff and house staff. Room was good with good view over the Torrens river. Very clean and comfortable. Restaurant proved to very good in terms of choices. Enjoyed our two nights there and would look to going back there when we are next in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed many years ago and was underwhelmed. Room this time was spacious, in good condition and pleasant to stay in. Staff good. Meeting space was good and bar area lively. Only negative was a poor meal in the restaurant but not the end of the world...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spent three nights at the hotel whilst attending a conference at another hotel nearby. The Intercontinental is well-located, being a short walk to the museum and other tourist attractions, restaurants, the river, shopping.
The King room was spacious, well-furnished and clean (as you'd expect for a hotel of this standard). Breakfast, which was included in the room rate, offered very good choices.
Checkin staff were efficient and helpful. The lobby is quite impressive, but smelt stuffy which made it a bit unappealing, each time I returned to it. This was not a major issue, because it was only the lobby however first impressions count.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have enjoyed wonderful stays at intercontinental hotels in Singapore and Melbourne but Adelaide, what a disappointment. The room was comfortable and overlooking the river but the Club Lounge offered little and unappetizing food, self service drinks and a 5 to 10 minute wait for more sparkling wine? There was worse to come with a visit to the restaurant on the lobby level. We waited for attention to be seated while a waiter stood folding napkins, then our greeting was to ask if we had a reservation, not a welcome. The indifferent female waiter took our meal orders and lamb ordered medium duly arrived. It was well done and vegetables were cold. Not acceptable! A planned 2 night stay became one night only. The only friendly and attentive staff were those on reception. We will not return or recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ballaratx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Ballaratx2,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your most recent stay. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and your comments have been noted.

Thank you too, for recognising our colleagues on the Front Desk for their care and attention during your stay.

Kind Regards,

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We arrived early, but was not at all a problem. Luggage was taken and we were given access to Club Lounge until our room was ready. Room was fantastic, huge bathroom, great views, five star standard. Club Lounge was great, beautiful food - both evening canapés and breakfast plus scones for afternoon tea. Service was very good, staff friendly as were staff in lobby. We were at the end of a trip and this was a great way to spend a night before flying home. Will certainly stay here again when next in Adelaide.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Deanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

An excellent 5 star Hotel with all the efficiency and service you would expect. Polite and efficient staff. No delays in checking in. The hotel is well positioned in the city. It has one of the best gyms I have seen at a 5 star hotel If you stay here you get what you pay for.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank bigkahoona6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 55 in Adelaide
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $102 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing