We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn’t disappoint - we had a superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Didn’t disappoint – we had a superb stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We read the Trip Advisor reviews on this hotel. Accordingly, we asked for a room with a view of the river.
From the moment we walked into the room, with its fabulous view, we felt our stay would be special, and it was.
Our accommodation was very comfortable, the staff couldn’t do enough for us.
The room was very quiet.
Loved the oversized bathroom with its separate shower and huge bath. Luxury.
The location was ideal. We do like to walk a city and the Intercontinental gave us the opportunity to do just that – the Art Gallery, the Adelaide University, the Botanic Gardens, Rundle Street Mall, the Casino; the Festival Centre and the river; all were within a short walk of the hotel. We’ll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    642
    219
    58
    29
See reviews for
150
651
90
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Augusta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental Adelaide between the 17th and 21st of October. It was a great stay, staff were helpful and the Intercontinental Lounge was again great. Would stay here again. Visited the Gym for the first time. Excellent gym area, Spa, Sauna and Steam room were also excellent and vey clean. Rooms were cleaned daily. Also has a turn down service which was nice.

Room Tip: Any of the club suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayMan500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in a club intercontinental room, so we had access to the club lounge. We only had breakfast here which was delicious and a huge selection to pick from which is always a bonus, staff were very efficient.
The rooms were very clean and we had a beautiful view, beds were really comfy which is always nice, bathroom is huge with a bath and a walk-in shower, plenty of mirrors and bench space.
Short walk to Rundle mall and right next to the casino, couldn't be in a better location.
Couldn't ask for more professional, friendly staff. A special mention to Rhiannon at the front desk who made the time to have an actual conversation with us, and made us feel so welcome.
The only other meals we had was room service at 3am, which was also delicious, only disappointment was there wasn't a huge amount of options on the room service menu.
Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: definitely pay the extra for a club room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffTj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide,
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here in a superior room for just one night for a conference midweek . It is located next to the Convention Centre, so has many business guests.

The hotel has the top spot in location in town, with great views. I am a local in Adelaide, and know the city well!

Check-in was prompt (but I had prepaid, and checked my booking before arrival). Room was clean, well-appointed.
At night, it was quiet. The beds were firm.
The bathroom was perfect.

Buffet breakfast looked good. We went 'a-la-carte'.The view out onto the river Torrens is lovely.

All in all, a great stay (although we didn't use the facilites much). We found the valet car parking a bit pricey but there are many car parks nearby for under half the cost.

We heartily recommend this hotel. Compared to other guests at the conference who stayed at different hotels nearby, we came out the best!

Room Tip: Grab a river view room: for a great view out over the city to the Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flo136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Always try the business lounge room - the lounge is worth the extra cost of a room.

Great service and food quality all day.

Staff were excellent and met every request even to the point of being proactive - great news for a city where service hasnt always been so good. Staff were well trained and enthusiastic.

The proximity of the various features along North terrace and in Rundle Street make this an easy choice for an Adelaide stay.

Booking and reception was a highlight - just so easy and pleasant.

The room was quite spacious and well maintained cant think of any negative moments during my stay.

Room Tip: Try the business lounge as an extra - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orient18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, West Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We used the InterContinental as a meeting point for bus to Strathalbyn and an international conference. From the moment we got off transport from airport and said we would not be checking in just waiting for bus, our luggage was stored, phone calls made to make sure of details and arrivals notified about our whereabouts all as if we had booked a week of rooms. Excellent service for a luxury hotel in downtown Adelaide.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is is quality hotel room albeit modest in Australian standards. The hotel itself shows signs of the age it is but the standards are still high (as you would expect from this chain).
The marble finished bathroom was great with a generous shower and separate bath tub.
The beds and pillows are brilliant and ensure a fantastic nights sleep. In fact I would choose to stay here purely for the comfort value of the bedding.
The breakfast buffet was as per anywhere else but they did make us eggs Benedict (very well done) and didn't charge us extra for a good coffee which I think should always be the case (but not common).
We had a terrific view over the Torrence River which added to our experience.

Room Tip: Club floor was good with free wifi and lounge access. River room was worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
2,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing