We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location lovely staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Such a well located hotel. The lovely shops of Rundle Mall and the city are a short walk away. The great transport system of this lovely city means you really don't need a car, and all very close to the hotel.
The rooms here are spacious with a nice outlook, it is quiet, and the staff are wonderfully helpful. A little bit expensive but well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missy88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    607
    212
    56
    29
See reviews for
140
612
85
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went passed the place twice as it is set well back from the road just passed the Convention Centre, look for the hotels parked on the left as you pass the centre and turn up the drive, very congested service road.
Check in was ok, little info given there or in the room, I think a lot of hotels assume you are going to Google everything, anyway lovely hotel in the style of the Burj in Dubai, we had a river Torrens view which was as we booked, some techy needs to invent an adaptor to plug i pads into network cables, as you have to go down to the lobby otherwise. I'm sure someone will tell me that there already is one but it's the size of a lap top (sic).We booked the hotel for the night of the 22nd and 28th Sept as we were going the Perth for 5 days. We were in a car which we wouldn't be needing so I enquired about parking the car, but the hotel wanted Aus$40 per day, but we used the convention centre about 300 yards away for Aus$10 a day.We were going for a meal on the night of the 22nd but retreated back to the hotel as the city had an edgy feel and we didn't feel safe, we were told that the next road along is the club district and advised us to keep away. We were guided to the Japanese restaurant which was a mind boggling Aus$340.00 quite nice, but not up to the price. The following morning after a breakfast that was extra Aus$28, we went to the zoo which is about a half mile walk, it was very very nice, and we had a rare nice day, which we found strange for Oz, their springs seem worse than ours. The zoo was around Aus$70 for two with no extras, and well kept animals in lovely surroundings, spent about three hours there as we had to clear the room by 1400hrs. We had a light snack in the bar area, which was nice food but dreadful service, we were waiting to be collected to go to the railway station and the dirty dishes sat there for about an hour and a half. The rooms were clean, but here's one of the extras in my title, the bottle of water on the bedside table we assumed was complimentary was a staggering Aus$7,50, this was about .75 litre of still water, exhorbitant, as was Adelaide on the whole, go there if you must or you aren't picking up the tab, but dig deep, and expect an indifferent experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, there were a few cranes around as there was work going on at what appeared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george2sooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We actually won our two nights at the Intercontinental so there is always a worry you'll get slightly off service.

The one thing we both noticed was that every member of staff we encountered was unfailingly polite and genuine.

We were lucky enough to have a suite, which meant we had access to the Club Lounge. The breakfasts were lovely - the scrambled eggs (for hotel eggs), bacon & pork chipolatas all got a big tick. The coffee (from a machine) was a bit ordinary, esp if you had a long black.

But seriously - that is the only thing I have to complain about. Our whole stay was lovely - would definitely stay there again & would also seriously consider Intercontinentals elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here two nights in August. We couldn't have had a better location to meet all our travelling needs in Adelaide. Views from our room of the Torrens River and Adelaide hills were spectacular. We had an Authentic Escape Package which included free Wifi, buffet breakfast and late check out which was excellent value. We stayed in a spacious well appointed room. Bathroom was large with marble benches. Excellent tea and coffee making facilities. Wine glasses provided.The bed was very comfortable. All amenities in the room met our needs.The swimming pool was most inviting but not warm enough to swim this time of year. The Buffet breakfast was one of the best we have ever had with such a big variety of good quality food. There was even a juicer to make your own juice.The cold selections of meats with complimentary condiments were delicious. They even had smoked salmon with sour cream and capers. There were eggs cooked individually for you any way you liked. Freshly made Cappuccino was included and served to your table. The service was excellent, staff were very friendly and non intrusive.The dining area overlooks a lovely terrace and The Torrens River. The staff at reception were the friendliest we'd ever come across This was most appreciated as we had a flight cancelled from Darwin and had travelled via Melbourne 10 hours to arrive at the hotel.It was a welcome surprise to have such wonderful service when we checked in. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. They were most helpful with our sight seeing.The hotel is walking distance from The Adelaide Zoo and The Poppye cruise down The Torrens River was just out the back of the hotel. The hotel is right next door to the railway Station and Casino which is so convenient. It is only a five minute walk to the restaurants in Hindley Street and The Rundall Mall. The old buildings and parks and gardens in North Terrace are just stones throw away. The Museum and Art Gallery are just down the road and both have free admission. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough and would definitely stay there again if visiting Adelaide

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking The Torrens River and Hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcmilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I usually stay at Sebel Playford when in Adelaide - first time at intercontinental, which is across the road. The lobby was quite impressive, very clean, well-presented. Professional staff service as you'd expect on business stay. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, recommend the lamb cutlets. Room was clean, bed was comfortable even though two single beds made up the double. Only issue with room was the switch to bathroom seemed to have a electrical issue. The bathroom also had a speaker which plays audio from the television in the room which I've never seen or heard of before. Excellent view over north Adelaide. Buffet breakfast is also excellent would recommend - I believe it cost around $38. Intercontinental and Sebel are on same level, so if you are considering both of these I would simply pick the one with the best rate, only difference is theme - all the rest very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AusTraveller_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stay in the IC Adelaide whenever I visit the city on business. Always an upgrade and great service.
Hotel is older and slightly shabby. Attitude of staff and location make up for dated look.
Club lounge food was not as good as on previous visits. Missed the honeycomb and spiced fruits at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurstie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Located in the heart of the city. Coming from Perth with no hire car this hotel was in the best spot possible. You are made to feel like royalty upon entering this hotel, it's well presented in the lobby and very clean. Staff are friendly and professional. The room was larger than expected and very modern. Only two faults I could mention. One, the room fridge was extremely tiny, there is no way you could add your own milk for coffee or a bag of grapes which we tried with difficult. Two, unfortunately only one bath robe in the bathroom, strange considering the room was a king suite. We ony stayed 2 nights so wasn't worth mentioning at the time. Would definately stay again and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are higher than level 5 as they do have function rooms on the lower levels and whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#16 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing