We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Friendleness of all the staff and their willingness to go to the extra level was both refreshing and greatly appreciated. This would be one of the best in Adelaide and certaily the best in North Terrace

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, they will do their best to ensure you have the best available room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    633
    217
    58
    29
See reviews for
148
642
89
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had a great time adjusting to Australian time at this friendly hotel. But definitely stay on the club floor. The staff in the club lounge, especially Rachel and Rebecca, made our stay so pleasant, we did not want to leave! You can eat breakfast, teatime and snacks so that you can fall asleep at 7 PM due to jet lag.
They will keep your luggage for days while you are at Kangaroo Island.
The front desk staff is also wonderful - true Australian hospitality. Every request was handled patiently and expertly, with a smile.
We miss you!

Room Tip: Don't sit in the first sofa next to the computer at breakfast because this old gentleman always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for a weekend at the InterContinental Adelaide to celebrate our 1st Year Anniversary. Everything was great about this hotel, from the friendly and professional staff at the check-in desk to the beautiful, clean and spacious King Superior Room and of course the amazing Shiki Restuarant where our Banquent meal was cooked in front of us by a nnnnvery talented Japanese chef, we had an unforgettable night. The location cannot get any better, right on North Terrace, next door to the Casino and maybe resturants & bars. Only a 5 minute walk to Rundle Mall and Hindley Street.
Highly recommended for anyone visiting Adelaide or for locals as well. This hotel has everything the traveller needs to have a great time.nnn

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. We had breakfast twice & dinner once in that period, plus drinking at the bar and we thought it was great value for money in a pleasant atmosphere. Good quality food.
The real plus of this hotel is the room, which was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge and the shower was possibly the best hotel shower we've experienced. The room was clean and the overall service friendly and helpful.
A few negatives were: the Internet use is a bit expensive and the 'corridor' decor is a bit 'heavy' with concrete pylons, but who spends time in a corridor, anyway? The ambience downstairs is just right.
The only other aspect that perhaps the hotel have less control over than they would like is that on 2 of the 3 nights we had a drink at the hotel bar, there was a very drunk person making a nuisance of himself. We were unsure if these respective individuals were guests or just barflies, but he & she were painful.
We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
516 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is located right next door to the Casino. Walking distance from major shops, and opposite the trams to Glenelg. The rooms are a little dated, but spacious. Advisable
to pay a little extra and book a club room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Love the room with big bathroom. Good breakfast and also the lounge, got Japanese restaurant with good food. Close by to the casino entertainment just next door. Friendly staffs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeypie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

LOCATION is excellent. Located right in the heart of the city on North Terrace and next to the Festival Theatre, Train Station and Casino and Convention Centre but it is not a noisy location. Rundle Mall and the main shopping precinct is to the one block away. Tram stops out the front. Hindley Street is also one street over where the nightlife happens but its also an area where you need to take care. The Adelaide Zoo is a few blocks and you can catch the Popeye (historic river boat Adelaide icon) on the River Torrens which takes you to the zoo. The views (from our room on the 18th floor) are fabulous over the oval, the river and the city. You can walk out the back of the hotel and wander down the river banks and through the Festival Centre plaza.

TELEVISION: Our room had an old fashioned small television. Not acceptable in a 5 star hotel in my view. We have a 50" LED TV at home and I don't go to a 5 star to endure an old fashioned TV with a poor quality picture. Very poor.

ROOM: Acceptable, carpeted, block out drapes and sheer curtains, individual air control, sofa, desk... We loved a river view room as the view is stunning looking out over the Festival Theatre, the River Torrens, The Adelaide Oval, North Terrace, Parliament House and over to North Adelaide, Adelaide Hills etc. (have stayed in a city view room before and its not as good in my view). The beds are just OK with a king bed being two singles zipped together. Warm doonas (no blankets) and goose down pillows and a polyester European pillow (I personally found the pillows very uncomfortable as goose down tends to flatten like a pancake and has no support). I really needed a simple cotton blanket and a supportive latex pillow but there was none to be found. I did NOT sleep well! Iron and ironing board are provided as well as hanging space and full length mirror.

ROOM PROVISIONS: Just tea and coffee and we had to ask for more English Breakfast tea as there was only one tea bag provided. The toileteries are nice quality and made in China. The towels are thick and plush and ample are supplied. Milk is in those tiny little preserved cups (1 serve long life milk). There was only enough milk for 5 cups of tea/coffee. There is a mini bar with provisions but no free snacks such as biscuits are provided anymore. An assortment of magazines are provided in the room. One only white robe was provided for use.

WIFI / INTERNET: 55 cents per minute up to $30 and that gives you use of WIFI in room and public areas for 24 hours. There is a data point in room too. I used my mobile phone for internet and reception is good.

ROOM SERVICE: We ordered pizza and it was satisfactory and brought to our room withing 20 minutes. A polite young man delivered the food. ($AU20 with the delivery charge).

BATHROOMS: The pink marble bathrooms are fabulous in my view and if this is dated then I don't mind one bit as I think they are classic. , Our bathroom wasn't worn, though we have had one there in the past that was looking a bit old. The furnishings are starting to look a little tired, but not enough to bother us during our stay, and everything in the room worked as it should. Our bathroom had a shower and separate bath. The shower and bath were a good size. I would prefer a removable shower head which many 5 star properties provide.

RESTAURANT: The restaurant food is your standard 4-5 star fare, fresh and nicely presented (although bacon is 'cremated' and not crisp). I had some poached eggs and they came perfect with a muffin - yummy. Other than the bacon issue the service & food overall was very good and the breakfast buffet is extensive. We didn't interact with the staff much other than at check in to the restaurant and when our filter coffee was served.

POOL: The pool isn't big and for me is not deep enough.

PUBLIC AREAS: Dated but they are OK and very clean.

DRIVEWAY SERVICE & PARKING: Prompt, efficient and courteous and complimentary valet parking.

COST: Standard room about $AU230 per night.

Room Tip: River view room is the most appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing